Macally PodWave/AP-A111 Speakers Versions 1 and 2 | iLounge

Reviews

21

I also recently purchased and received this item and am extremely disappointed. They are more like a toy. You can't hear them at all unless your volume is turned up to 75% or so and if you go much higher than that there is terrible distortion. Based on the review here I purchased these but I must agree that the reviewer must have a different product than I received. These are a joke!

Posted by MikeyDtoo on December 22, 2004 at 9:50 AM (PDT)

22

I received my Podwave yesterday and spent some time listening to it last night. While I can't discount the possibility that some defective units were shipped, Jeremy's review seems fundamentally accurate. The major issue is expectations. It's unrealistic to expect inexpensive ultra-small speakers to replicate the sound of a larger speaker system. For its size and price, the unit provides reasonable sound quality (much better than the iTalk, which was not really intended to handle more than replay of voice recordings). It works as an ultraportable solution, which is exactly what I was looking for.

Posted by iStar in NYC on December 23, 2004 at 7:59 AM (PDT)

23

I'm selling my podwave I just purchased and received this week, if interested, just email me at .(JavaScript must be enabled to view this email address)

Posted by powerseller on December 23, 2004 at 12:06 PM (PDT)

24

The manufacturer's representative responded as follows, but did not address the issue of whether units were defective or not:

"I have read some of the comments on the review and the speaker that we sent to you is 100% release version. It was not a special unit that we sent to you. The review unit you received is what's on the market today. We are currently working on another unit to improve the sound quality and give more sound output."

As noted in the review, we've tested many speaker systems for the iPod and felt that the PodWave we received both performed very well for its size and has delivered a more than acceptable personal listening experience in all the circumstances in which we've used it.

We cannot rule out the possibility that people have received defective units, as we received and reviewed a defective Car Charger from MacAlly some time ago, and were very disappointed by its failure to perform as promised. So it is entirely possible based on comments here that people have received PodWave units that don't work as well as ours, and we respect the comments of those readers who have said that they're disappointed. Even if they don't agree with our own conclusions, these sorts of comments do provide additional perspective and will be taken into consideration for future reviews of MacAlly products.

By the same token, we also cannot rule out the possibility that (as iStar notes) some people's expectations are too high. These are ultraportable speakers, and if you haven't used the other options out there we mentioned above, you may not realize just how good a (properly working) pair of PodWaves is by comparison.

In light of the reader comments here, our advice is to buy PodWaves only from a reputable retailer who will accept back your unit if you are dissatisfied or believe them to be defective. Thanks to all for your comments and we wish we could have gotten a more definitive response on defects from the manufacturer.

Posted by Jeremy Horwitz in East Amherst, NY, USA on December 30, 2004 at 1:31 PM (PDT)

25

Who thinks a PodWave on an iPod Shuffle would be pretty cool portable music smile

Posted by Nagromme on January 19, 2005 at 8:00 PM (PDT)

26

What's up with the "Siamese Twins" photos? wink
I'll be ordering a version 2 set soon, but will order them directly from Macally.

Posted by Galley in Greenville, SC on January 25, 2005 at 10:29 PM (PDT)

27

damn i read this updated review and wanted to buy the Version 2 ASAP! But im quite sure other dealers didnt have the newer verison yet so i go straight to macally.com to buy it, but then the international shipping is $36 to the UK! thats about $75 in total. its ridiculous so i guess i have to wait until the dealers get the second version.

Posted by john_ate in Bristol, UK on January 29, 2005 at 12:11 PM (PDT)

28

Just bought (hopefully) a version 2 from MacAlly's website. I really hope it works as iPodlounge found and not as the other dozen commenters in this thread have found.

Posted by Prudence in Somerville, MA on January 30, 2005 at 10:07 AM (PDT)

29

yeah i just bought mine too just now. finally i decided to buy it, send it to my friend in the us and the he send it to me here in uk. much cheaper although takes longer =)

Posted by john_ate in Bristol, UK on January 30, 2005 at 7:42 PM (PDT)

30

I bought mine to use with my iPod photo and my iPod shuffle. The sound quality is as the review says. In fact, with the iPs, it is a pretty amazing setup. I am pleased. The only problem is that it periodically emits a burst of static. It has done this with both iPods and also when unplugged, but turned on. To Macally's credit, they promptly agreed to replace it, and absorb the cost of the return postage. I think it is a good company with a good product.

Posted by dewarner on February 1, 2005 at 6:40 AM (PDT)

31

Good deal on these at mocconnection.com. FAR. +$9 S&H

Posted by Asher in Oakland, CA on February 1, 2005 at 6:46 AM (PDT)

32

Free after rebate for version 1 or 2?

Posted by John_G in Ottawa, ON on February 1, 2005 at 7:45 AM (PDT)

33

i dont think other reseller got the new version yet...i just emailed macally's customer service and they confirmed all new orders from their website are currently being filled with version 2 =)

Posted by john_ate in Bristol, UK on February 1, 2005 at 8:01 AM (PDT)

34

Yeah, i took advantage of the macconnection FAR deal today. What the hell. I assume they're blowing out v1 of these, but for $8, why not.

Posted by brudy on February 1, 2005 at 2:14 PM (PDT)

35

Got mine today! I didn't realize it was overnight shipping...I think they maybe v2, based on the pics, tough to say though, having never seen v1 in person. Here's my quick review: they definitely swing pretty easily on top, but not a huge issue. Volume is acceptable if it's a quiet environment, like at night, hotel, stranded in the woods with approaching bears, something like that. But they aren't very loud at all. Distortion was minimal, except when the vol was really cranked. Overall, for the price of postage i'm satisfied, and I'd say they're probably worth maybe 15.00-20.00, but not much more. They seem well made, just not loud enough. If these are v1, then I hope v2 does fix these things, cuz the concept is pretty cool for sure.

Posted by brudy on February 2, 2005 at 1:31 PM (PDT)

36

PodWave is no longer found on macconnection.com.
Does anyone know of any way of distinguishing version 1 from version 2 of the PodWave? Maybe different packaging; different serial number range; different production date; etc.?
There are so many stores selling this product that I really don't want to pay Macally.com's full price to ensure that I get v2.

Posted by kalahari in USA on February 3, 2005 at 4:43 AM (PDT)

37

PodWave is no longer on macconnection.com -- it was removed because supplies are limited, I was told -- but if you call, you can probably still get one. I ordered mine Wednesday night, and it arrived this morning, even though I went with the standard ground shipping. I was pretty impressed with that. Of course, it shipped from about 70 miles away.

It's a version 1. The above review says version 2 has a small groove to accommodate the hold button on full-size iPods. My PodWave has no such groove, so it bumps into the hold button a bit. No biggie.

I was pleasantly surprised at the sound. Not great, but pretty decent for the size of the speakers.

I'm not sure I would have paid full price for the PodWave, but at free plus the cost of shipping, through a mail-in rebate, it was one heck of a deal.

Slappyman

Posted by Slappyman in Ohio, USA on February 3, 2005 at 6:34 PM (PDT)

38

Slappyman, Thanks for the info.

I did contact Macally and they said there is no way that version 2 is being differentiated (packaging, serial #, etc.). I had hoped to be able to ask a store (that was discounting the iPod) what version they had.
I was referred to GalaxyHP where I can buy version 2 for the full price of $40...

Posted by kalahari in USA on February 4, 2005 at 4:09 AM (PDT)

39

I just received my Version 2 speakers today. They are REALLY large, probably twice the overall size of an iTrip. They are also really heavy, and I think that would be why they'd be inclined to swing around. It's a shame that they don't have a tab that fits into the remote port on top to keep it from moving around.
The sound is ok, not great, but honestly about how my FM transmitter sounds in my car. I bought these for trips where I don't feel like fooling around with an FM transmitter in a rental car. For that purpose, I think these will fill the bill nicely.

Posted by Prudence in Somerville, MA on February 4, 2005 at 7:43 AM (PDT)

40

Well, unfortunately an update on my earlier post. I received these today, and later this afternoon I decided to try them out for a little while. Within the first five minutes of use they've developed an awful screeching noice--sounds like someone is dialing a modem or maybe speaking to bats through both speakers). They do this whether connected to the headphone jack or not.
So I will be sending these puppies back to MacAlly, and I really hope they'll give me a full refund, as they didn't work right off the bat, and looks like no one's in this thread except Jeremy's HAVE worked off the bat. I'm not particularly interested in trial and error, as they didn't even work right for the first five minutes of continuous use.

Posted by Prudence in Somerville, MA on February 4, 2005 at 4:44 PM (PDT)

Page 2 of 3 pages  <  1 2 3 >

Recent News

Recent Reviews

Recent Articles

Shop for Accessories: Cases, speakers, chargers, etc.