Audio Outfitters earPod | iLounge

Reviews

1

"Larger than some might prefer"

This is indeed the rub with this product. Although the concept is sound it is difficult to implement in a small form factor. The earPod is 2.5 inches in diameter and approximately 5/8 inch thick. As such, it it 2/3 the size of the 20GB iPod. I was compelled to return mine upon receipt.

I might also add that the folks at Audio-Outfitters were great about returning merchandise and interested in how they might improve the product.

Posted by HCRefugee in 36N121W on December 9, 2004 at 7:01 AM (PDT)

2

I would like to see a review on the smartwrap(link below). I don't know wheter to get an earpod or the smartwarp.

Smartwrap website
http://www.sumajin.com/online.htm

Posted by adidas10254 on December 9, 2004 at 2:46 PM (PDT)

3

Beware if you own Etymotic ER series earphones. The earphone wires have a plastic nodule half-way its length that make wrapping around the earpod devise. Otherwise this is a well made solution to dangling/knotted wires.

Posted by Thelonious in Illinois on December 10, 2004 at 6:18 PM (PDT)

4

If this where smaller I would buy one. I would even make it so small the earbuds would have to be placed inside facing opposite directions and possibly make it oval.

Posted by Anachronism on December 12, 2004 at 8:36 AM (PDT)

5

I got one of these a few months back. It's a good, well made product. Sure, it's a little bulky, but I'd rather that than ruining my headphones. It's just a shame that Apple doesn't include some sort of case with their apple earbuds.

Posted by Lawrence Mikkelsen in New Zealand on December 12, 2004 at 1:03 PM (PDT)

6

The Apple In Ear headphones come with a cool little case very close to this.

Posted by Zac Shuck in United States on December 12, 2004 at 4:44 PM (PDT)

7

re: Smartwrap. I ordered a couple of these from the website a few months ago (they're in Singapore IIRC), and they haven't turned up yet. No response to my emails to customer service either. Out of business? Too bad, because I thought the product looked pretty cool.

Posted by RDH on December 14, 2004 at 12:01 AM (PDT)

8

re:SmartWrap - I love my SmartWraps. I bought five. I use them for everything. Cellphone, earbuds, xbox headset, everything. I would like to see what IPL has to say about them. For me, they are worth the cost, and wait.

I had no problems with the company.

Posted by Noise Inside my Head in Los Angeles, CA on December 14, 2004 at 3:17 PM (PDT)

9

re: SmartWrap - I finally got in touch with Sumajin, and they were very accomadating. Got the SmartWraps and think they are _very_ cool.

Posted by RDH on January 17, 2005 at 3:23 AM (PDT)

Recent News

Recent Reviews

Recent Articles

Shop for Accessories: Cases, speakers, chargers, etc.