Agent 18 Shield Case for iPod mini | iLounge

Reviews

21

I also believe this case should have gotten better grade. I have used this case for a week now and I really like the slick form of the case, its a good complement to the iPod design. The scratch-resistent finish feels good too.

Posted by kodec on February 19, 2005 at 4:26 PM (PDT)

22

This case gets an A+ in my book and believe me, I've been through some cases! My stitching on my beautiful, expensive Vaja classic makes a scratch on the plastic every time I put the iPod in and out...what a waste! The Agent18 case is minimalist and lets the beauty of the iPod shine through. Most importantly, I can use all my accessories except for the dock...get a pocket dock instead and you're set! A case is primarily for protection, of course, but if you have to remove it from the case to use accessories, what good is it??? I went back to agent18.com and ordered a spare, just in case they stop making ones to fit my now discontinued (thanks Apple!) G4 40GB! As for not protecting the few little exposed spots, give me a break...I'm not planning to use my iPod for a hockey puck!

Posted by Aristillus in Maryland on March 4, 2005 at 6:46 PM (PDT)

23

I just received my agent18 case and I love it... except for the fact that there is no click wheel protection, the product deserves a better rating that what it got... it seems sturdy and scratch resistant. I was torn between this product and the evo cover. My only concern is allowing the ipod to "breathe." I would hate for my ipod to overheat. However, I was wondering, for those of us that want to totally protect our investment, would it make sense to purchase those click wheel covers?

Posted by Luv_Mah_ipod in NYC on March 18, 2005 at 2:05 PM (PDT)

24

I'm ordering one right away for my 4g 20gig. I don't see any mention of Apple Belt Clip compatibility (like the Mini version)... So I guess there is no case that is compatible with Apple's clip, right ?

Posted by @lx in Montréal, Canada on March 21, 2005 at 5:19 PM (PDT)

25

I've had this case for a while now and it's great. It provides protection against the occasional bump or drop, and it doesn't take away from the signature iPod look.

I give this product an A.

Posted by mattydread in NY on March 27, 2005 at 6:09 PM (PDT)

26

Ok, I'm reposting my review for this case.... ABSOLUTELY WONDERFUL!!! This product clearly deserves a better grade!!!

As soon as I got my ipod, I put the case right on it... Trust me when I tell you, my baby looks like I took it right out of the box!!!

All the scratches and abuse that I put that case thru (i.e. putting it in my purse for travel or pouch for exercising) does NOT affect my ipod one bit. And I've dropped my ipod accidentally (shame, shame, shame) and am very proud to say that my baby is still doing it's thang!!!

Now, my boyfriend suggested that the case seems cheap. Said that it would shatter if it fell on hardwood floors. Now, if I were to drop the ipod and case from say the Empire State Building, then I'd say we'd have a problem. But, if it's falling from my hands to the ground..... but eh, what does he know!!!

KUDOS to agent18 on creating a wonderful case!!!

A+++++ in my book

Posted by Luv_Mah_ipod in NYC on April 7, 2005 at 12:50 PM (PDT)

27

This case is great. It covers the unit, doesn't scratch easily, and allows for use of the controls. My only objection is the way that the company ships its product. I had to get the 30 GB photo case (not sold in Apple stores) shipped to me. They sent it in a flimsy envelope and the box was so destroyed by the time I got it I was worried that that case was ruined. Luckily, the case itself was fine and it works great! This really does deserve a better grade than a C+. This case is perfect for those of us that want a simple case that does not add a lot of size to the unit and protects the screen and unit from scratches.

Thanks Agent18!

Posted by Robsipod on May 26, 2005 at 11:14 AM (PDT)

28

I bought the Mini Shield based on reviews on the Apple Site.I must say its a very good buy.Leaving the click wheel open allows smooth control over it.And leaving the top and bottom open makes charging an easy affair.All in all , its worth it !

Posted by bhargav.vk on June 24, 2005 at 1:22 PM (PDT)

29

I went to the agent18 site to check shipping costs and whatnot and you have to register before you can check. Which is all fine and dandy i guess, but i didnt want to register because i was simply just shopping around. For those of you who ordered it offline, what did you pay for your shipping? I'm just trying to get a rough idea.


P.S. Someone said they got theirs at an apple store? Was it the same price as the agent18 site?

Posted by iamreprogramed on June 25, 2005 at 10:05 AM (PDT)

30

They should make an agent 18 minishock case for the larger size ipods. i know they already have the regular agent 18 case for it, but the agent 18 minishock case for the ipod mini and the regular agent 18 case are totaly different. because the minishock cases have rubber bummpers that help to protect the ipod better. so im just suggesting they make a case for the regular ipod sizes similar to the ipod mini agent 18 minishock case. then that would be way better i think then this case being reviewed.

Posted by Fly_J_Guy on July 1, 2005 at 2:16 AM (PDT)

31

Sounds like we're getting a little obsessive about our iPod protection here. It's an electronic device not a humvee. The mini shield is just what I need. Not to mention I can use the spring clip that came with my Ipod. If one is worried about getting their clickwheel a little smudgy, get some 3D crystal film, both products are found at the applestore. I'd give it at least an A- or a B+.

Posted by SnippyHippie in North Carolina, USA on July 3, 2005 at 12:22 AM (PDT)

32

Get some PDA Screen Protectors and wrap up your ipod completely (including click wheel), then use this case.

GET A CASE BEFORE YOU OPEN YOUR NEW IPOD BOX!!!! You will be sorry if you do.

And PS

DON'T BE STUPID. DON'T SPEND $300 on an iPod and SKIMP ON A CASE!!!

Posted by Remington in Sacramento, CA on July 28, 2005 at 10:24 PM (PDT)

33

The A18 case deserves a much better rating than a C+. The payoff must not have come in for the positive review smile.

I give this a B+ or A-, but wish they would have a little more top/bottom protection as pointed out, and something for the wheel would be good too.

I do like it even if it isn't perfect and would buy it again.

Posted by panorama in Boston on August 1, 2005 at 7:59 AM (PDT)

34

Can you get a belt clip fot this?

Posted by lole_34 on August 6, 2005 at 4:47 PM (PDT)

35

I wish all you people who gave this product a terrific review should post several weeks later instead of immediately after receiving it. That way the truth shall come out that this product is such a piece of crap! Indeed, the Agent 18 shield case looks great at the start, just like when I first got it. However, after several weeks of (even very CAREFUL) use, the real nature of the material of this case comes out, which cheap & brittle plastic. Cracks suddenly appear from out of the blue, and grow longer and longer each passing day! People who are planning to buy this product, please BEWARE!!! This case should not receive a good rating as people perceive it to be. A rating of F (FAIL) is appropriate for this piece of crap!

Posted by Genghis on August 20, 2005 at 8:49 PM (PDT)

36

Great case... but can someone tell me how to take the darn thing off ??? My fingers turned blue trying to take it off... help please

Posted by Deann on September 2, 2005 at 7:58 AM (PDT)

Page 2 of 2 pages  <  1 2

Recent News

Recent Reviews

Recent Articles

Shop for Accessories: Cases, speakers, chargers, etc.