Apple iPod shuffle Power Users’ Review | iLounge

Reviews

101

Sorry, I didn't notice there was a second page of posts, which already mentioned the EQ...

Posted by TheTSArt on February 8, 2005 at 10:42 AM (PDT)

102

cletus:

you should not have any problems. i use both iPod 40 GB and Shuffle at the same time, they both appear and work fine. this is the mac side of the equation. should be the same if you r using windows, but the infamous windows may give you problems on occassion with connectivity (read: throw your windows box out the window and get a mac).

Posted by sakman74 on February 10, 2005 at 1:00 PM (PDT)

103

i'm a pc user and don't particularly like the iTunes sofware interface, can the ipod shuffle play mp3's that i move onto it from windows explorer? Or do i have to go through the iTunes interface to load music into my ipod shuffle?

thanks a bunch!

Posted by Naruto on February 10, 2005 at 8:30 PM (PDT)

104

/quote
Q: will i run into any problems running a full size ipod and an ipod shuffle on the same computer? will itunes give me a hard time doing this? thanks guys. /unquote

it will not, it pick up the ipod as anther seperate device, u could have a shuffle, a mini and a full sized ipod all plugged into your computer and u will not run into problems.

only problem i got with mine, running on windows is that when i wipe all songs from the shuffle it freezes itunes for a couple of minutes, 1gb model

Posted by whatsup_Will on February 10, 2005 at 11:50 PM (PDT)

105

Interesting Note: The USB has five additional contacts, indicating possible additional functionality or integration with future accessories! A normal USB plug has only 4 contacts, the shuffle has 9! I would love to be able to plug my shuffle into my car stereo and use the built in controls to forward to the next random song!

Posted by Ryanide on February 10, 2005 at 11:53 PM (PDT)

106

i think people are missing the point of this product. it's an apple product, which automatically makes it more desireable than any other player on the market, with or without an lcd, in my humble opinion. i own a 20 GB clickwheel, which is magnificent, and i don't think i could ever use an iPod shuffle. REMEMBER; this is part of apples ploy to offer less expensive, lower end products into the market to bridge the gap between PC and Mac. quite genius.

Posted by sergeantpress on February 11, 2005 at 3:35 AM (PDT)

107

I have over 30 gigs of music on my laptop, but I still think the iPod shuffle is perfect for me. I hate picking what to listen to while i'm listening to it - I usually listen to music while I'm doing something else. It's so tiny, and it forces me to do what I prefer - pick my music in advance and then just enjoy it. I'm never away from my laptop for long, OR constantly, within earphone range of it for long, so its great to have aomething tiny I can load up with what I want to listen to.

Posted by Sharla Smith in Minneapolis, MN on February 11, 2005 at 6:35 PM (PDT)

108

I have over 30 gigs of music on my laptop, but I still think the iPod shuffle is perfect for me. I hate picking what to listen to while i'm listening to it - I usually listen to music while I'm doing something else. It's so tiny, and it forces me to do what I prefer - pick my music in advance and then just enjoy it. I'm never away from my laptop for long, OR constantly, within earphone range of it for long, so its great to have aomething tiny I can load up with what I want to listen to.

Posted by Sharla Smith in Minneapolis, MN on February 11, 2005 at 6:36 PM (PDT)

109

Sorry, double post, can't see a way to delete it

Posted by Sharla Smith in Minneapolis, MN on February 11, 2005 at 6:44 PM (PDT)

110

My Shuffle is perfect for kiteboarding. Placed in a waterproof case it does exactly what I want...play random music from my playlists. I can't play with buttons or bother looking at a screen while I fly my kite. So I just stick it in my wetsuit and go. Thank's apple for exactly what I need.
JHM

Posted by JHM on February 13, 2005 at 3:19 AM (PDT)

111

I live in a location overlooking one of the most beautiful cities in the world, Seattle... AKA "The Emerald City" or "The Jet City" I Love God, My friends, family and my two cats Tomita and Hobbs. Some of my passions, are music baseball and technology

Posted by gregro7 in Redmond on February 13, 2005 at 10:42 AM (PDT)

112

I already own the U2 i-Pod and I love it. I use it for walking around when I am lounging or lounging around in my favorite Starbucks. I also use it as my source of music through my regular stereo. My CD player is now in mothballs and My CD's are nothing more than back up disks.

I like to work out and although I had the arm band for the larger i-Pod, I still felt that it was a little bulky. I purchased the 512 MB i- Pod shuffle just for working out or running. It is light and the perfet workout accessory. I created a seperate i-shuffle play list that I have on i-tunes. When I plug it into my USB port it syncs up that specific playlist with my i-Pod shuffle. I have all the songs that I like to work out to.

Infact, I can have both my i-Pod and i-Pod shuffle pluged in at the same time.

It is sleek lite, user friendly and the sound quality is equal to my regular i-Pod. It is great to have a small unit that I can just grab and throw around my neck when I go work out.

It is a nice companion to my i-Pod family.

Posted by gregro7 in Redmond on February 13, 2005 at 10:43 AM (PDT)

113

I already own the U2 i-Pod and I love it. I use it for walking around when I am lounging or lounging around in my favorite Starbucks. I also use it as my source of music through my regular stereo. My CD player is now in mothballs and My CD's are nothing more than back up disks.

I like to work out and although I had the arm band for the larger i-Pod, I still felt that it was a little bulky. I purchased the 512 MB i- Pod shuffle just for working out or running. It is light and the perfet workout accessory. I created a seperate i-shuffle play list that I have on i-tunes. When I plug it into my USB port it syncs up that specific playlist with my i-Pod shuffle. I have all the songs that I like to work out to.

Infact, I can have both my i-Pod and i-Pod shuffle pluged in at the same time.

It is sleek lite, user friendly and the sound quality is equal to my regular i-Pod. It is great to have a small unit that I can just grab and throw around my neck when I go work out.

It is a nice companion to my i-Pod family.

Posted by gregro7 in Redmond on February 13, 2005 at 11:34 AM (PDT)

114

The ipod shuffle is absolutly fantastic, Sure it's got limited capacity and no screen. But it's great for taking to the beach, Gym, Mountain Biking or whatever. If you break it no big deal, just go and get another one. I know i never used to take my 40GB with me when i was doing any of those other activities. As for the GB/Price argument, you always seem to pay a premium for size, the same with cell phones, the smaller they are the more expensive they get and the more features they lose.

Maybe they could add an LCD earphone controller like the Sony Mini Discs, so people can see what they're listning to.

Sory for the Rant, Just my 2 cents.

Posted by Dave in NZ in New Zealand on February 13, 2005 at 6:05 PM (PDT)

115

Q: can i use shuffle as a booting device ? thanks

Posted by elanor in seoul,korea on February 14, 2005 at 7:18 PM (PDT)

116

"Power users with cash will unquestionably find the iPod mini a better value, and almost equally suitable for all of their needs - it's almost equally workout-friendly and more resilient in case of an accident."

This thing has runners written all over it. Running with a 4G 40gig stinks. The size and weight are horrible on a really long run. Those that don't get the difference between 6oz and <1oz will never understand what godsend the Shuffle is for athletes. No skipping. No bulkiness. No fragility. Way to go Apple. I would have been willing to pay extra for a screen but it beats the alternatives.

Posted by littlewaywelt in MD on February 16, 2005 at 12:33 PM (PDT)

117

i just got a ipod shuffle and i want to know if it was a wise desision over a normal ipod?

Posted by epod18 in Minnesota on February 17, 2005 at 2:35 PM (PDT)

118

my ipod shuffle makes a weired noise when i push the play/pause button. it kind of sounds like something is stuck under that button. should i bring it in to my local apple store and have them take a look at it or should i not be conserned.

thanx, epod18

Posted by epod18 in Minnesota on February 17, 2005 at 3:46 PM (PDT)

119

COLLEGE STUDENTS: You can get a discount on your iPod, just like me! I went through the official website and they have an Apple Education page where you may choose your college and get a discount. I think I saved $10, but hey.. I am a student, I need that dough! I love this thing, it's so lightweight for a travelling person like me. I take busses and trains to and from school, so I just wear it like a necklace and go where I want without worry. For the gym, it's perfect! I could not afford a mini because I lack a job, but I saved up and was able to get this little guy. I am also able to transport my photoshop and illustrator files for school on it and just plug it in when I need access to my work. HOLY GRAIL, this thing is!

Posted by BeautyFiend in Bay Area, CA on February 18, 2005 at 7:16 PM (PDT)

120

i have no problem using my ipod 4g and my ipod shuffle on the same computer, i love my ipod shuffle! best thing ever, ive been using it at the gym for a while now, im hoping that some stores will get the shuffle accessories in stock so i can get the sport case.

also for those who may be intrested i had no problems getting my shuffle to work in linux fedora core 3 (my laptop). for simple directions just create a soft link - ln -s /media/ipodname /mnt/ipod
then install gtkpod (thiers precompiled rpms you can find easily) , i had problems getting xmms to work so im using xine (edit the preferences tab change the xmms to xine and remove the enqueue line)

it appears as though you can sync with this to if you have your mp3's on a linux box, but i dont so am not going to test that out. it also works fine on my windows laptop. the sound quality is great, and i love using the auto fill feature in itunes to load it up with random songs.

all in all this is a great purchase, i cant recommend it enough

if your in college or work at a buisness where you are frequently moving between computers buying this is a nobrainer, you get to transfer your files between computers as you normally would with a flash drive, and you have the added benefit of listening to your favorite music when your bored. cost wise its just 40 dollars more to buy the 1 gig version opposed to a plain usb drive of the same space, you cant go wrong!

Posted by mistafreeze in usa on February 18, 2005 at 7:26 PM (PDT)

Page 6 of 8 pages « First  <  4 5 6 7 8 >

Recent News

Recent Reviews

Recent Articles

Shop for Accessories: Cases, speakers, chargers, etc.