Apple iPod shuffle Power Users’ Review | iLounge

Reviews

41

your not alone Gordy, i *love* iPodlounge and i *love* the reviews here until this one, which I found lacking. with no discussion of key features, ie. USB key use and no discussion of some issues like last play count, etc. it feel rushed.

also for the first time i disagree with the overall negative tone of the review, which i can except if not for the fact that it seems the editors are trying to review the shuffle based on assumptions that it will be 1) be a user's (new or power) only iPod and 2) that the shuffle will be used in conventional settings that other music players like the iPod are meant for.

i find both those ideas flawed and while important to point out that the shuffle is not ideal for listening to your whole music collection, not ideal for managing multiple playlists, not ideal for picking a certain song etc. there are many things it is ideal for... situations that require a more rugged (and this IS the most rugged iPod despite what the review implies) iPod that has no weight and size issues while still delivering music including protected AAC files.

Posted by canyonblue737 on January 18, 2005 at 9:15 AM (PDT)

42

Question on the review:

Does the iTunes conversion to lower bit rates for the Shuffle occur on-the-fly? Will it convert from one format to the other (Lossless to AAC)?

I've got all my music encoded in Apple Lossless and don't want to change that (stereophile that I am).

This would be a deal breaker for me, as the Shuffle doesn't play lossless. But if I could down-convert on the fly, the Shuffle would be a great exercise device for my wife.

Thanks.

Posted by SpaceManSpiff in US on January 18, 2005 at 9:42 AM (PDT)

43

For the "I don't see the point" crowd:

I own an 20gig iPod and treat it like my second child. Unfortunately, hooking it up to my car to run a few errands is akin to rigging the Flux Capacitor (hook into tape deck converter, power socket, set to random play, etc. Is it a minor annoyance... yes. But minor annoyances sometimes annoy me the most). Plus, I hate leaving the thing out in the car, so I have to disconnect everything to toss it in the glove box. And woe is the person in the passenger seat if I'm in a rush and forget to bring it with me (since WLIR went Telemundo and WNEW went who-knows-where).

Gee, wouldn't it be great to have a cheap, iTunes compatable music player that I could just leave in my car? One that holds enough tunes to get me through my week? One I could keep connected at all times and toss in the butt tray if need be? (I quit after college)

Take this product for what it is: a nice-to-have for current iPod owners for quick drives around town, a 45 minute jog (yes, I still use the term jog) or even a "damn-I-forgot-to-recharge-my-iPod" briefcase backup that is compatable with the desktop music software we're all using.

Posted by FOMBTOAAII in New York, NY on January 18, 2005 at 10:03 AM (PDT)

44

For the "I don't see the point" crowd:

I own an 20gig iPod and treat it like my second child. Unfortunately, hooking it up to my car to run a few errands is akin to rigging the Flux Capacitor (hook into tape deck converter, power socket, set to random play, etc. Is it a minor annoyance... yes. But minor annoyances sometimes annoy me the most). Plus, I hate leaving the thing out in the car, so I have to disconnect everything to toss it in the glove box. And woe is the person in the passenger seat if I'm in a rush and forget to bring it with me (since WLIR went Telemundo and WNEW went who-knows-where).

Gee, wouldn't it be great to have a cheap, iTunes compatable music player that I could just leave in my car? One that holds enough tunes to get me through my week? One I could keep connected at all times and toss in the butt tray if need be? (I quit after college)

Take this product for what it is: a nice-to-have for current iPod owners for quick drives around town, a 45 minute jog (yes, I still use the term jog) or even a "damn-I-forgot-to-recharge-my-iPod" briefcase backup that is compatable with the desktop music software we're all using.

Posted by FOMBTOAAII in New York, NY on January 18, 2005 at 10:11 AM (PDT)

45

Not having a LCD is unreal. even comparable players offer a LCD. Not having a standard LCD will turn away buyers. Buying the Shuffle w/o a LCD is like buying a VCR or DVD player w/o a display. Sure it will play but people like seeing content info especially when it comes to songs.

I understand that Apple is offering a optional LCD but why not just include that in the standard box and charge the buyer an extra $14.

I don't get Apple at times. It's like they come up w/ great ideas but to only ruin them (like the iMac and Apple's refusal to make a CD-RW drive standard a few years ago).

The Shuffle is a cheap alternate. Then again, I see it as the iCheap model of the iPod line. I'll be keeping my mini for years to come smile

Posted by jaisonline on January 18, 2005 at 10:24 AM (PDT)

46

"Question on the review:

Does the iTunes conversion to lower bit rates for the Shuffle occur on-the-fly? Will it convert from one format to the other (Lossless to AAC)?"

You bet it does. It will convert any format (including AIFF and Lossless) on the fly to 128 kbps AAC without altering the orginial file or adding the 128 kbps version to the iTunes library. It will of course add to the sync time doing that but it will work just fine the way you want it to.

Posted by canyonblue737 on January 18, 2005 at 11:11 AM (PDT)

47

"I understand that Apple is offering a optional LCD but why not just include that in the standard box and charge the buyer an extra $14."

They are offering no such thing. the iPod shuffle is and always will be screenless. Apple has no accersories that change this.

Posted by canyonblue737 on January 18, 2005 at 11:13 AM (PDT)

48

the shuffle is totally a second ipod to a power user....it is going to fill a niche where i dont want to take my 20gb ipod...on runs, to the gym, left sitting in my car, carried in my pocket with other items...its a care-free ipod that is small, sleek, and practical. if this were your only ipod, i'd definitely spring for the mini...but if you have a fullsize, and you care about it and feel better leaving it out of certain situations, this is perfect...not to mention that it can be used as a flash drive as well, what better to carry around in your pocket with a pair of the cheap-o earbuds.

Posted by cletus on January 18, 2005 at 11:50 AM (PDT)

49

Q: will i run into any problems running a full size ipod and an ipod shuffle on the same computer? will itunes give me a hard time doing this? thanks guys.

Posted by cletus on January 18, 2005 at 11:51 AM (PDT)

50

price per gig IS relevant

If ppG was really relevant, then we would all be buying iPods in grocers...

Posted by Demosthenes on January 18, 2005 at 12:06 PM (PDT)

51

"Q: will i run into any problems running a full size ipod and an ipod shuffle on the same computer? will itunes give me a hard time doing this? thanks guys."

none at all. they will appear as seperate iPods and you can name them differently like "David's iPod" and "David's iPod shuffle." The collections of music and the way you put music on each can be unique and individual even if the source of the music (your iTunes music Library) is universal.

Posted by canyonblue737 on January 18, 2005 at 2:11 PM (PDT)

52

"Q: will i run into any problems running a full size ipod and an ipod shuffle on the same computer? will itunes give me a hard time doing this? thanks guys."

no problems at all. they will appear as different iPods and allow you to customize the music on each however you would like.

Posted by canyonblue737 on January 18, 2005 at 2:18 PM (PDT)

53

I'll probably be getting two. One will be as a second iPod for times when I'm scared for my 4Gen 40 gig's safety. (Mountain Biking/Snowboarding)

Every time I take a spill on my board or bike I'm scared more for my iPod than my own bodily injury and I check on it before I take time to inspect my own cuts and bruises. I believe it's only a matter of time before I damage the thing.

Shuffle No.2 will be for my girlfrinend to get her music off my fullsize ipod.

$99 is a small price to pay not to have Kenny Chesney tracks pop up when my fullsize iPod is on shuffle.

Posted by surferchris1 in Southern California on January 18, 2005 at 3:48 PM (PDT)

54

do you think it would be possible to make a small screen that plugged in to th usb port? i dont think think that a screen is really necessary, but at least it would shut up all these people who keep moaning and groaning about not having a screen,

Posted by podskater on January 18, 2005 at 3:50 PM (PDT)

55

canyonblue -

Yes, iTunes converts the lossless or any higher bit rate files on the fly leaving your original files untouched. The 128kbs AAC files only exist on the Shuffle. It takes a little longer to transfer as you might expect but it is reasonable.

Posted by BigFil on January 18, 2005 at 5:32 PM (PDT)

56

I agree that the review implied that the mini was tougher than the shuffle. What are you smokin Jeremy! Pass that shiz my way dawg. I'll put my shuffle up to your mini in the six foot drop test on concrete and see who flinches.

Posted by BigFil on January 18, 2005 at 5:36 PM (PDT)

57

The review mentions you can tweak sound settings using the EQ within itunes, its not clear if this applies when listening using the shuffle, is this the case? to me this is a make or break issue given that even with the EQ ipod sound has always been light on the bass

Posted by Ajay on January 18, 2005 at 5:52 PM (PDT)

58

i had asked, as did someone else above, if you can use multiple ipods on the same computer, in the same itunes...well i answered my own question after browsing the faq:


Yes, and you have several options:

1) Both users share the same (Windows or Mac) login account, and thus the same iTunes Library.

For this option, the auto sync feature must be turned off for both participating iPods, but may be the wiser method if both users have similar tastes. To do this in iTunes (Mac or Windows), mount one iPod and click on the iPod Preferences button in the lower right corner of the window, then select either 'Automatically update selected plyalists only' or 'Manually manage songs and playlists.' This will deselect 'Automatically update all songs and playlists' so you can now sync to multiple iPods. Now, you must either manually load each iPod, or automatically sync to only a select number of playlists.

2) Users each have a distinct (Windows or Mac) login account, and thus do not share an iTunes library.

When multiple users on a computer, each with their own iPod, each have their own login account, their iTunes libraries are completely distinct. In this situation, the iPods can automatically sync their entire respective libraries (as is the default setting). However, if both users have similar tastes in music, they may find unnecessary desktop hard drive space being wasted, as each distinct iTunes library will have separate copies of identical songs.

Posted by cletus on January 18, 2005 at 6:32 PM (PDT)

59

canyonblue, thanks for the answer, didnt see it there.

ajay - when you change the eq setting on the file itself in itunes, that is how it is played on the ipod...i agree, the "off" setting for the ipod eq sounds lame.

Posted by cletus on January 18, 2005 at 6:35 PM (PDT)

60

CORRECTION...i just tested it...when you set an EQ setting in itunes, it DOES NOT change it on the ipod...whats up with that???? whats the point?

Posted by cletus on January 18, 2005 at 6:49 PM (PDT)

Page 3 of 8 pages  <  1 2 3 4 5 >  Last »

Recent News

Recent Reviews

Recent Articles

Shop for Accessories: Cases, speakers, chargers, etc.