Apple iPod shuffle Power Users’ Review | iLounge

Reviews

61

alright....i think i kind of figured it out. set the eq per song in itunes how you want it...on the ipod, set the eq to "flat", then each song with play with the eq setting you assigned it in itunes. now, whether the apple people thought it out enough to put a default "flat" setting in place on the shuffle is another question.

Posted by cletus on January 18, 2005 at 7:25 PM (PDT)

62

Don't really want to burst your bubbles, boys, but at US$99, I can buy a 1G MP3 with FM+voice recorder in Taipei, Taiwan. If I pay a little extra, I have a model with SD/MMC card reader as well. This is really useful. It is like increasing a HD in your PC. There are just so many models coming out every single week here. It is unreal. There are just more varieties to choose from then iPOD Shuffle, and cheaper as well.

It is great to have Apple to introduce such a low end gadget into the market. I guess it is for people whom won't be too fussy on features, but not having a LCD just knock it back to the ages. It is great for users whom won't be too fussy about file management, and couldn't careless on editing the files.

Marketing view is an excellent move by Apple. Think about it. iPOD is already a big hit and the y are trying to increase the user base. iTUNE was making a lot of money, but once the user base increase more...the revenue will increase exponentially. No wonder the Apple stocks is increasing all the time!!

Posted by shoutjack in Taipei on January 18, 2005 at 7:44 PM (PDT)

63

http://www.amazon.com/exec/obidos/tg/detail/-/B00066EK2W/102-1696270-5016113

I cant see why you would get this thing when you can, for basically the same price or less at some online stores get a player with a screen, radio and recording? the Sandisk 1 GB.

Posted by bezoomy in Australia on January 18, 2005 at 8:18 PM (PDT)

64

cletus:

there is an option #3

on Windows XP if there are two users it is true that the iTunes librarys are seperate and distinict... UNLESS you set a custom library folder! My wife and I have seperate accounts and we have set up an iTunes music folder in "Shared Folders / Shared Music" and pointed out iTunes at that as a the folder to check music and put new music. Voila, we once again share a folder, no wasted space.

Posted by canyonblue737 on January 18, 2005 at 9:07 PM (PDT)

65

shoutjack:

Let me burst your bubble. Your $99 player from Taipei does integrate with iTunes which has the best user interface, way of dumping music to a small flash device (autofill) and best music store (your device sure can't play Protected AAC.) The device also doesn't look as elegant or have a simple interface free of clutter.

Sure the FM is a plus in my book. The screen is not, on a small device like that IMHO. But the point is that with Apple and the iPod shuffle there are advantages no doubt, even if you have to look at some downsides. Nothing is perfect but the iPod shuffle addresses the way to use a flash player in a very different way and in the process comes the closest to perfection on how to use such a small (in size and storage) device.

Posted by canyonblue737 on January 18, 2005 at 9:13 PM (PDT)

66

bezoomy:

your Sandisk 1 GB:

2.96 x 1.28 x 0.82
1.4 ounces

the iPod shuffle 1 GB:

3.3 x 0.98 x 0.33
.78 ounces

---------------------

the Sandisk is over twice as thick, nearly twice as heavy, and ugly as hell. and it does integrate with iTunes or play Protected AAC.

Posted by canyonblue737 on January 18, 2005 at 9:18 PM (PDT)

67

i meant to say it DOESN'T INTEGRATE with iTunes or play Protected AAC files. also it is over 1/3 wider than the shuffle and again to harp on the thickness... it is far thicker than some of the 4G iPods!

Posted by canyonblue737 on January 18, 2005 at 9:20 PM (PDT)

68

Regarding that Sandisk 1 gigger. Here is a description from the company:

"Stores over 4 hours/60 songs of MP3; 8 hours/120 songs of WMA music (Playback at 128 kbps MP3, 64 kbps WMA)"

Huh, what's up with that? 1 gig @ 128 bitrate = 60 songs? With the iPod the figure is 4 times that. Is that just a typo, or is it a very inefficient storage device?

But I agree with the other posters. The key to the iPod shuffle is iTunes. If iTunes wasn't part of the package to manage the music, then it wouldn't be half as attractive.

Posted by podmanchu on January 18, 2005 at 9:25 PM (PDT)

69

Historically Apple has offered highend products whose style and a rich feature set place it above the competition.
Now with the iShuffle, Apple has placed itself at the bottom of both feature and style. This is the first iPod that really has a chance of being a flop.
Ipods were never meant to be the cheapest player, they were meant to be the best. In 2003 I could have bought a lesser HD-MP3 player for less money, but the iPod was the best.

Posted by __redruM in Gaithersburg, MD on January 19, 2005 at 7:51 AM (PDT)

70

For $99 you get
- a full's days worth of music
- on a device that you can tuck away in any pocket
- that fully integrates with iTunes

Pretty good deal. They'll sell millions. If you want to have "all" your music with you all the time, get a different model, but the shuffle fills a large niche.

Posted by podmanchu on January 19, 2005 at 10:03 AM (PDT)

71

it only takes a few quick glances at major runners forums and the like to see the stories of iPods and iPod minis skipping after 20+ minutes, being heavy (even the mini)...

Skipping? Heavy? I run (sometimes biking too) four days a week and my 3G iPod has never skipped; and about being heavy, c'mon is just 5.8 ounces, in my case, .164Kg.

About getting the Shuffle, as I always say... If you like it, get it.

Posted by iYuc in Yucatan on January 19, 2005 at 1:26 PM (PDT)

72

while it is something you get used, to running with a mini or normal 4G you still can feel it is "there." skipping IS an issue many, including myself have experienced during a long run.

with the iPod shuffle the weight is such that you simply CAN'T FEEL the iPod at all and it will NOT skip. those are nice advantages.

Posted by canyonblue737 on January 19, 2005 at 3:59 PM (PDT)

73

The iPod Shuffle is THE answer to my problem. I don't want to take my 4G iPod (with iPod Armor) on my 20 minute bike trip to work. So I'm still using the Sony NW-MS9 memory stick player for this purpose. It's from the 20th century, probably smaller than the iPod Shuffle, and has a gum-sized removable battery that plays for 10 hours. I have two batteries, so I can always use the thing.
And that's something I really do not like about the shuffle: charging through the computer for 4 hours is no option, so I will have to buy a charger.
But! Although I'm really very satisfied with the Sony player (it really has better soud quality than my iPod) I'm looking forward to not having to convert everything to ATRAC. It takes hours and I hate it. And I really do not need the display (which is a very readable by the way; Apple should have imitated this...)
Having children growing up, I know that kids NEED a display. They are showing each other the screen all the time to see what song is playing. And they just laughed at the Shuffle; hah.. no screen.
(They wouldn't mind a "real" iPod, though.)

Posted by elppadopi in Amsterdam on January 20, 2005 at 2:22 AM (PDT)

74

"Q: will i run into any problems running a full size ipod and an ipod shuffle on the same computer? will itunes give me a hard time doing this? thanks guys."

A: No.

Posted by Gordy. in Atlanta, GA on January 20, 2005 at 6:44 AM (PDT)

75

"If both caps are detached, the iPod shuffle is revealed to have a USB 2.0 jack flanked by gray FCC and CE logos on the unit's plastic underside, plus its capacity ("512"MB or "1GB") engraved on the USB jack's front."

heh, a minor thing, but a jack is a socket or a hole to plug something into. the usb connector is not a jack... ;p

Posted by zonk3r in http://monkeysvsrobots.com/ on January 20, 2005 at 5:28 PM (PDT)

76

The iPod shuffle is perfect for my usage so I'm buying one for myself as a supplement to my 20 GB 4G and one for my boyfriend, who's not exactly tech-savvy (but don't tell him that). I got my 20 GB 4G iPod free through my company's incentive program and it's almost filled. The only problem with the 20 is that I don't listen to any of that music. In fact, I'm currently obsessed with one album. I always have my iPod in my pocket or my bag so I don't even see the screen. Sure, it's nice to be able to find a song when I feel the urge to listen to it, but realistically, I don't have enough hands to find 1 song of 1700 in the 8 minutes when I'm on the subway to get to work while holding a thermos in one hand filled with hot coffee, the other hand holding onto a pole for dear life, while being squished into a car with 80 other people. During stops, I just skip through songs on my playlist so I don't endanger myself, my iPod, or anyone else with my hot coffee.

If I had to pay for an iPod, I wouldn't have bought a regular iPod because I live 20 minutes door to door from work and I still need CD's for my car (FM transmitters do not work in New York City and cassette decks are no longer included in newer cars). If I lose the iPod shuffle, break it, or it's stolen, it's only $150. This would be perfect for skiing, rollerblading, running and I wish I had one to take with me tomorrow on the slopes!

If only the iPod shuffle was out a couple months ago!

Posted by -A- on January 21, 2005 at 12:03 PM (PDT)

77

I have an origonal iPod, which I ordered the day it was announced. I almost always use it as an iPod shuffle. I almost never pick a particular song, but simply set it to shuffle and hit the forward button when I don't want to hear the song that comes up. Then I sync with my computer and rotate in a new batch of songs.

I do look at the screen occasionally to see what song I'm listening to, so that will be missed in the iPod shuffle.

I also carry a 128 mb USB flash drive for transfering files between computers. My wife keeps taking mine so I've been meaning to get a new one.

Then came the iPod shuffle. My wife will get my old flash drive and I will use the shuffle. My 1G iPod is too big and bulky, and cumbersome with the cable, to use for everyday file transfers. And for the way I listen to music the iPod shuffle will do almost everything my 1G iPod does. I use it for commuting on bus and subway. I use it for running. I use it for biking. Sometimes I use it sitting in a cafe reading my newspaper. For those purposes I will have a much smaller, lighter, less fragile iPod with longer battery life, plenty of songs for my 20 min to 2 hour listening periods and easier syncing.

I've ordered my 1 gig model and am paitiently waiting. This review certainly didn't take my kind of use into account.

Posted by jpfree65 on January 21, 2005 at 1:33 PM (PDT)

78

1) Ideal 2nd iPod
2) Same audio experience when playing via shuffle
3) Increased durability for drops/water/etc
4) Cheap data drive

I second the motion that this is an ideal "second iPod." I've got a 1 gig Shuffle already on order. I love my iPod because it holds all my music (well not all of it, I need a 60gig iPod photo ahah, but all I've ripped so far). However, for the most part I always listen to my iPod in shuffle mode and I skip past songs I do not feel like hearing. So with auto fill and shuffle I'm essentially using the iPod shuffle the same way I use my full ipod. Taking it a step further it is the exact same experience (song wise) as I doubt I would skip my way through 240 songs for a shorter listening time (car ride, etc).

The second valuable use is as a flash drive (as mentioned in the comments but oddly left out of the review). The 512meg version is only 30$ more than comparable sized plain flash drives. For 30$ extra you get basic iTunes/iPod enjoyment in a more durable case.

Posted by Xenious on January 22, 2005 at 2:42 PM (PDT)

79

Lets be honest. If this were not an Apple product, it would be a lousy product. It is only good for people who will use it while they re working out. It has no screen and once you start to get beyond 50 songs will be really hard to navigate. I love my 40 gig 4g ipod and it works fine when i go out jogging. Lets face it, if this product were not a mac product it would be nothing more than a lame audio player with no screen.

Posted by kolop1 on January 22, 2005 at 2:46 PM (PDT)

80

I haven't seen this question asked yet (if it has, then apologies for the rehash). I own a 20G ipod and have just bought the Shuffle (smaller, lighter, less prone to being mugged, etc.....) and I don't seem to be able to drag and drop from ipod to Shuffle. Is this possible?

Posted by peterbbt in UK on January 24, 2005 at 3:17 AM (PDT)

Page 4 of 8 pages « First  <  2 3 4 5 6 >  Last »

Recent News

Recent Reviews

Recent Articles

Shop for Accessories: Cases, speakers, chargers, etc.