Apple iPod shuffle New Users’ Review | iLounge

Reviews

1

I own an iPod 3g 15 gig, but always wanted a portable flash drive. I then decided that it should play music too for when i want some quick music but dont want my iPod. Now i can have my "iPod" but it is the flash drive, mp3 playin little gadget i wanted!!

Posted by tymeflame in room on January 17, 2005 at 1:30 PM (PDT)

2

I know this is a review for new users, and that one for power users is coming, but you neglect a third class—power users who want the shuffle as an accessory to supplement their exisiting iPod.

The shuffle can always be with me, and since it's cheaper, sturdier, and smaller, there's less concern about loss, theft, or breakage, either because these things are less likely or because they're not as catastrophic if they do occur.

I don't always take my iPod in the car with me because I don't want it stolen. The shuffle can hide much more unobtrusively, or just go with me in my pocket, riding comfortably next to my cell phone. No bulky case, no babying it; the thing is practically disposable.

It'll be great for the times when I just want to have music, and the full-size iPod is sitll there for longer trips, a full day of work, and so forth.

Posted by mattwardfh in Texas on January 17, 2005 at 1:38 PM (PDT)

3

I find it surprising you fail to mention a key advantage of the iPod shuffle... use during sports or exercise. While many use the iPod and the iPod mini for running and other sports the reality is that the weight, size, and lack of adequate skip protection makes the adventure less than picture perfect. When you consider that most sports make viewing a screen a dubious idea you are left with the undeniable truth that the worlds best music player isn't so hot.


Until iPod shuffle. The unit is so tiny and so light that it in no way interferes with movement. Because of the nature of flash memory the shuffle is also utterly skip proof. The shuffle also does a way with a needless screen during exercise. Finally Apple prices the shuffle to make it easy for any existing iPod user, or even sports fans who have no interest in using a music player except during play to get an iPod.

For me, a 3G 20 gig iPod owner... the 512 mb iPod shuffle is an ideal second companion for a *major* reason not mentioned here.

Perhaps Jeremy needs to hit the gym some more! grin

Good job though guys, the pictures are also wonderful.

Posted by canyonblue737 on January 17, 2005 at 1:40 PM (PDT)

4

By definition, as existing owners of iPod hardware, you guys are "power users," not new users.

The workout point is addressed near the end of the Power Users' review. Many people find the shuffle's lack of a screen problematic for workout purposes, and prefer the iPod mini's design and resilience to the shuffle's disposability and simplicity.

Different people will have different opinions on these products. Unquestionably, the low price and perceived disposability of the shuffles will be a major lure for many buyers.

Posted by Jeremy Horwitz in East Amherst, NY, USA on January 17, 2005 at 1:56 PM (PDT)

5

I have a 20GB 3G, but am still buying a shuffle, mainly for use as a flash drive for school and as a more portable on-the-go music player.

Posted by iPodNod in London, UK on January 17, 2005 at 2:09 PM (PDT)

6

Here is a market the Shuffle may be very popular with, those with disabilities. I have a mini-iPod and my daughter has a 20 gig iPod and my son, who is 20, with developmental disabilities has been asking for an iPod of his own. I know he would not be able to manuever through the menus, as they would be too complicated for him. This shuffle is PERFECT for him, very few controls and he can listen to his own music on a very age-appropriate device. THANKS Apple!

Posted by jjob80 in NJ on January 17, 2005 at 2:14 PM (PDT)

7

I finally got mine today. you should really look at it not just bunch of pictures. it's simply beautiful. it's just cutting edge technology with cheap price you can enjoy. sound quality is similar with ipod or little bt better in terms of classic music. I noticed that stock earbud is slightly improved because it is now 32 ohms in impedance. you can read it tech spec. that little gadget is impressive.

Posted by crazypod in St. Louis, MO on January 17, 2005 at 4:26 PM (PDT)

8

i think that it is super i orderd mine the other day ya sure it dosen't have a screen big deal if the songs on your iPod i certainly hope you know the title and artist.
512 mb is great that axp 8 hours of music if you are even able to listen to that much music in a day thats great but most ppl don't even. As for the storage size its fine just make a bunch of 512mb playlists on your computer and switch the songs on and off of it as you please thats the magic of an iPod
well enjoy... anyone who is getting one

Posted by meep on January 17, 2005 at 5:46 PM (PDT)

9

Bought my Shuffle at the Apple Store the other day. It was going to happen anyways, so I just bought it with out thinking. What a difference at the gym, my 3g iPod now feels like a brick! I love the shuffle for it simple features. My only complaint is the slide switch on the back. It's the same smooth plastic as the rest of the case. It's impossible to slide. It should have had some "grip" to it. My thumb just slides over it.

Posted by ntljr in Woodland Hills, CA on January 17, 2005 at 6:49 PM (PDT)

10

Why?

I just dont understand why you wouldnt pay $20 and get a screen? I understand it wouldnt be an iPOD, but I really dont see why this is appealing.

I love my 40GB 4G and I was hoping this new iPOD would be groundbreaking, but instead it is just another flashplayer (maybe a lil' sexier.....)

Posted by merck on January 17, 2005 at 7:53 PM (PDT)

11

merck: iTunes music store capability, excellent intergration of iTunes autofill system, price for capacity, overall look and design, combined with flash format factor and advantages equals a winner. no other flash units have any of that... the screens are an "advantage" but if you really use them you suffer from the poor UI and smal screen. the only thing the shuffle REALLY needs but Apple will NEVER add is FM radio.

Posted by canyonblue737 on January 17, 2005 at 8:15 PM (PDT)

12

You don't just have to accept what comes out... you "veto" the songs you don't feel like by clicking Skip. Works in random or in-order mode.

That's how I use my 60 GB iPod 95% of the time anyway--pick a playlist (usually the SAME playlist of favorites) and not even look at the screen. Just Skip if I don't like what comes up.

Re the appeal of no screen: it makes the Shuffle smaller, lighter, longer-playing and... less expensive smile

Those may not make the Shuffle right for everyone--I'll stick to my Photo--but they are certainly good things.

Posted by Nagromme on January 17, 2005 at 9:52 PM (PDT)

13

i always play my ipod on shuffle pacticly honestly i would nt need a screen on something that holds 240 songs at the most if i did nt like the song i'd skip it like if u droped this thing no biggy but if u drop ur ipod good bye its great i reckon for the price compared to other mp3 players i want one just for when im around do dumb stuff where my ipod would be damaged its good for carrying around a fitht of my music but not for carrying a collection

but really if u put ipod on anything they'll sell i just feel sorry for creative and iriver cuo's ay but not anyone else cause now basicly everyone can say yeah i have an iPod : )

Posted by josh_armstrong in sydney,australia on January 17, 2005 at 11:13 PM (PDT)

14

I got a 15GB 3G, love it. This thing here looks very stylish and i think it sounds very good, BUT Where is the screen? Who should buy this?

Posted by domi on January 17, 2005 at 11:27 PM (PDT)

15

ahhh. what about for working out and running?? I have no need for 1000 songs let alone 5000. The shuffle is perfect for me, an athlete.

Posted by FluidG4 on January 17, 2005 at 11:47 PM (PDT)

16

I have a 15GB 3G that I just love to take to the fitness center. Problem is, I can't use the bloody screen without me glasses, so I just randomly move about the song lists (sort of like my own version of a shuffle). The ishuffle is gonna work for me!

Posted by 18 going on 50 on January 18, 2005 at 6:53 AM (PDT)

17

I'm going to get an iPod Shuffle as an accessory to my 30GB iPod. I'll use it outdoors and out on the boat. I'll probably get the sport case for it as well.

I don't see lack of a screen as a problem. Setting the songs on the computer and flipping through tracks I want to skip is a small price for a lightweight durable player that won't skip.

The fact that I can also use it as a cross platform flash data device is a bonus as I am a Mac user who uses Windows at work. Sometimes I need to move files from my Mac to my work PC and the Shuffle will replace the Zip disk I've been using.

Posted by DamselD on January 18, 2005 at 7:53 AM (PDT)

18

good God DamselD, the 30GB ipod will do that for you... Zip disks have been out for a while now friend! wink

I think I'll have to try one of these out before I buy.... Until then, my 3G 40GB is fine and dandy.

Posted by apple juice in USA on January 18, 2005 at 9:47 AM (PDT)

19

Not having a LCD is unreal. Even comparable players offer a LCD. Not having a standard LCD will turn away buyers. Buying the Shuffle w/o a LCD is like buying a VCR or DVD player w/o a display. Sure it will play but people like seeing content info especially when it comes to songs.

I understand that Apple is offering a optional LCD but why not just include that in the standard box and charge the buyer an extra $14.

I don't get Apple at times. It's like they come up w/ great ideas but to only ruin them (like the iMac and Apple's refusal to make a CD-RW drive standard a few years ago).

The Shuffle is a cheap alternate. Then again, I see it as the iCheap model of the iPod line. I'll be keeping my mini for years to come smile

Posted by jaisonline on January 18, 2005 at 10:27 AM (PDT)

20

I'm in 100% agreement with canyonblue737!!!

I spend 10-12 hours a week on my mountain bike with a 3G/15. I would love to skip the boot and menu selection time and save the weight, too.

Posted by agent-k in Pasadena, CA on January 18, 2005 at 10:39 AM (PDT)

Page 1 of 5 pages  1 2 3 >  Last »

Recent News

Recent Reviews

Recent Articles

Shop for Accessories: Cases, speakers, chargers, etc.