Apple iPod shuffle New Users’ Review | iLounge

Reviews

21

This would have been a great product if they had just put a simple screen. even a one line or two LCD. I wish i had an LCD on my ipod remote even. Theres no way i would ever be interested or recomend a player that has no screen. it is a good price but thats why cus they cut too many corners. thumbs down for me.

Posted by mrfeee1 on January 18, 2005 at 11:13 AM (PDT)

22

I tried out the shuffle at Mac world and the sound quality was awesome. I even plugged my earphines into it so i had a ipod to shuffle comparison and it sounded better than my 2nd gen.ipod.

Posted by silvertrailer on January 18, 2005 at 12:02 PM (PDT)

23

i have a 4g 40gb ipod and half the time i cannot see the screen anyway. i have it in the marware case and i thread the remote down my sleeve because its freakin cold and i dont want to have to open my jacket each time i want to change a song so for these reasons i dont think the lack of screen will be a problem.

Posted by BigDukeyDog in Montgomery County, Maryland on January 18, 2005 at 5:45 PM (PDT)

24

i own a 4g 20gb ipod and i feel this is a pice of #### mp3 player. he onlything good for it would be for puyying a few songs on it and as a good flashdrive. i mean trully, would u really press the "next button" 120 to get to your song you want.

Posted by ipodmania on January 18, 2005 at 6:38 PM (PDT)

25

sorrybot the spelling, wasnt paying attention. ""putting"" ""the""

Posted by ipodmania on January 18, 2005 at 6:39 PM (PDT)

26

I like the mini, as it comes with a belt clip. What do you suggest I get for iPod Shuffle? The arm band (is it by Apple) does not seem easy to use. The thread constantly affects my running. Any belt clip plans by Apple?

AKB

Posted by AKB in Detroit on January 18, 2005 at 8:47 PM (PDT)

27

Clearly iPods with screens have BIG advantages.

The points is, the Shuffle has its OWN advantages. Over other iPods, and other flash players. No product is perfect for everyone, but the Shuffle is a great choice for some people.

It's smaller, lighter, simpler, and costs less than those competing players with screens. It also plays audiobooks. They generally don't. And it has autofill. They don't.

You get some real value in trade for losing the screen. Especially if you like small!

Posted by Nagromme on January 18, 2005 at 9:49 PM (PDT)

28

While I like it, it doesn't offer enough incentive for me to "upgrade" from my gym/workout friend, a Creative Nuvo Tx.

Posted by syciprider on January 19, 2005 at 7:18 PM (PDT)

29

Im a newbie to the IPOD world! The Shuffle is great! Awesome price! Sounds great too. Its so light! The 512 is perfect for my workouts! No more carrying my hefty cd player that only plays one cd! Now i can load it up with my favorite 130+ songs and press play. No need for a screen! Its for listening...not looking..DUH!!!!

Posted by halosix in West New York,NJ on January 19, 2005 at 9:31 PM (PDT)

30

I have been wanting an iPod since they were released, but they were just out of my price range. Now I can afford one and the best part is that it works seamlessly with iTunes which I already use. As for the lack of screen, it doesn't bother me one bit. An LCD screen just drains batteries quicker so if leaving out a screen means getting me an extra hour or two of play time I'm all for it. I think this is a great entry level product for new users like me.

Posted by coldknight on January 20, 2005 at 10:48 AM (PDT)

31

Just recieved my Shuffle yesterday. This thing is great!

My only complaint is the difficulty of moving the slider to turn the thing on. It needs something to grip instead of the smooth plastic. Am I the only one having this problem? Are there any solutions out there?

Posted by MichaelZ on January 21, 2005 at 3:22 AM (PDT)

32

I think some innovative mfr can replace that USB cap with something more functional, maybe a tiny LCD/LED screen, maybe a headphone jack with a remote connector, etc... Just random ideas... not that Shuffle needs it...

Posted by Saint Zany on January 21, 2005 at 4:49 PM (PDT)

33

I agree with those who says its even cooler for iPod owner to have this shuffle as an supplement for the existing iPod.

I'll definietly get one as soon as I can

Posted by tozenter in Thailand on January 22, 2005 at 8:42 AM (PDT)

34

With all the features that this iPod shuffle were short of, despite of it's cheap retail price... I think that a 4g iPod is still worth buying.
"shuffle" is not as exciting as when the ipod mini was introduced.

iPod is about music storage power, iconic looks and screen display.

Posted by mavman on January 23, 2005 at 6:41 PM (PDT)

35

For those of you who keep asking for a screen...buy the mini! and stop asking for more features! thats why its costs $99. hey mavman...it does have power! the battery lasts longer than your $300 ipod! keep checking out the screen while i just listen to my music, lol

Posted by halosix in West New York,NJ on January 23, 2005 at 9:37 PM (PDT)

36

yup...what you pay is what you get!...that's why i bought the4g iPod..i dont want to click a hundred times before i could actually play the song that i want.......lol

Posted by mavman on January 24, 2005 at 10:47 AM (PDT)

37

I used to think that a screen was a necessity. I also felt like I NEEDED to be able to carry ALL of my music and audio programs... Until Apple reminded me that I wasn't simplifying my life with all of my playing on the computer and getting music and scrolling around wasting battery life, etc. I was complicating my life and time. After all, I just want to listen to the music I love and know so well. So, I am excited to one day get a Shuffle, and make my listening to music a little more sipmle and reduce the weight in my front left pocket! Thinking about this has helped me realize how little I actually use my screen. Plus, being a long distance runner, I would MUCH RATHER carry the shuffle instead of my 4G 20gb iPod. It is just a little too big and its not really a necessity to navigate while I am focusing on the ground beneath my feet and my time/heart rate.

Posted by starperformer in Fort Worth, TX on January 24, 2005 at 12:47 PM (PDT)

38

So, I am excited to one day get a Shuffle, and make my listening to music a little more sipmle and reduce the weight in my front left pocket

You *do* know they have been making tiny keychain mp3 flash players since 2000?

I have one word: iProduct wink

Posted by Demosthenes on January 24, 2005 at 12:53 PM (PDT)

39

Hi, I'm sorry i advance if this is the wrong forum to post this on. If you use the shuffle on a PC, will I still get all the benefits (auto-fill, ipod updates, auto convertion to AAC, etc etc)? Has there been any reported problems from a user of a PC? On that note, can I use the shuffle simultaneously on a mac and a pc? Primary would still be a PC, just wondering if it is possible though....(that would be awesome though, hope jeremy can look into this) Thanks for any inputs on this!

Posted by wicket in manila on January 25, 2005 at 12:42 AM (PDT)

40

Biggest complaint: updating songs from iTunes is SLOW SLOW SLOW!!!!!!!!!!!!

Posted by Danyboy on January 25, 2005 at 7:15 AM (PDT)

Page 2 of 5 pages  <  1 2 3 4 >  Last »

Recent News

Recent Reviews

Recent Articles

Shop for Accessories: Cases, speakers, chargers, etc.