Apple iPod shuffle New Users’ Review | iLounge

Reviews

61

The SHUFFLE is Great! I have a 3g 40GB and it is great for carrying a lot of music, but the Shuffle is excellent for going to the gym because it is so small. I love the autofill function because it grabs a lot of songs that I normally wouldn't put on my playlist. It really offers me a nice change in my music choice.

Posted by Ryanide on February 10, 2005 at 6:38 PM (PDT)

62

I had mine 2 days ago and it was superb.. I lived in an apartment and while i was throwing my rubbish down the rubbish chute, my shuffle fell with it as i was holding my i pod with the same hand. Guess what, it survived the impact 4 storey high and also i would say it is a little water resistant ( rubbish bin full of nasty water ). It still works now, and never been better. Also, the shuffle remembers the last song it plays. when u turn it on again, it continues from the last song u played.

Posted by jckidz on February 11, 2005 at 12:57 AM (PDT)

63

I am an iMac power user, but couldn't justify the high price point of the ipod. This shuffle is exactly what I was looking for plenty of music, easy controls and kidproof! My 10 year old daughter keeps snagging it from my purse. I guess she will get one for her birthday!
Don't try to connect them to 2 different Macs however, you can not move music from home computer to work computer. The shuffle erases when connecting to a different computer iTunes program.
My teaching buddy has problems connecting his to a G3 iMac and a couple of iBooks. We are still trying to figure that out, but otherwise I connect to my car stereo with Monster cassette and love it.
Get one for each family member! Good for your kids to move files from home to school and have music at hand. Simple to work, even if you have never used iTunes!! Price point is right on.

Posted by rmom in PA on February 11, 2005 at 7:10 AM (PDT)

64

I have one word for you "walkman"

Posted by Bluclax on February 12, 2005 at 5:28 AM (PDT)

65

I have an ipod mini with 600 songs and I just got an 1 gb Ips and its awesome. The lack of screen doesn't effect me at all. I mostly used the shuffle feature with my mini so on the shuffle was no different. This is the ultimate portable music player so far. You need to get one of these!

Posted by robertll on February 13, 2005 at 5:04 AM (PDT)

66

what would be cool is if you could sync the shuffle off of a bigger ipod. i.e. plug the shuffle into my 20g ipod and sync off of that instead of always having to be by a computer

Posted by wezman2k on February 13, 2005 at 7:33 AM (PDT)

67

Perfect for conceiling it at work! i shall dub it the "iPod Stealth" it will also be less prone to being crushed since its smaller and it wont be noticedin the pocket. but i still like my 3rd gen, even though its out of commission right now (its sitting next to me waiting for the box from apple...which was suposed to be here about a week ago...

Posted by GatesCanSuckIt in Location: Location: on February 15, 2005 at 3:58 PM (PDT)

68

I've had the 1GB Shuffle for about a week now and I haven't found the lack of a screen to be a problem. I just use iTunes to sort out the same genre of music according to what I feel like listening to and then copy them into Shuffle. The smooth power switch is hard to use, so I have to breathe on my thumb to get some moisture for grip (also prompting some puzzled looks from other people). I did wish that the cases would ship with the shuffle, but other than that, everything else is great!

Posted by iPod Dave in Los Angeles, CA, USA on February 16, 2005 at 1:23 PM (PDT)

69

The reason I choose the Shuffle over any of the other flash players is that I have already encoded 35GB of music in AAC format. I don't want to redo this to accommodate a cheap flash player with a screen. Apple was really smart about the whole thing. Once you get an ipod, they have you wrapped up- it's brilliant!

Posted by immeshort on February 16, 2005 at 1:52 PM (PDT)

70

My shuffle is teal cute,an it only takes 5 mins 4 the auto fill,i want a mini,but just think ill brake it!

Posted by molly devlin in london on February 16, 2005 at 2:02 PM (PDT)

71

apple is trying to get rid of their old technology once again. (just like with the U2 ipod *cough* and this mini computer they crammed into a little box cuz it was cheaper than making laptops) I mean seriously... mpio and other devices that should have been mentioned in this article hold 1GB... they are smaller, have screens, and if you want to set them on shuffle, go ahead, at least it's an OPTION! This thing is a JUMBO memory key. Except it can only store songs!!!! Waste of $$$...am I allowed to be a hater? haha aw well. Apple is great... but they can't cover everything up with glossy whiteness.

Posted by fiasko on February 17, 2005 at 1:11 AM (PDT)

72

I have been using my ipod shuffle for about a week now and it is great! It is my first ipod and the only reason I bought it was to use in the gym and when I am running. It is perfect for that. There is only one thing that I would change. It is very hard to turn on and off because of the design of the sliding power switch. I would have added a ridge or a grove that would allow you to get some grip. I am not sure why there is a 512mb Shuffle, just spend the extra $50 and get the 1gig.

Posted by JakeMG in IL on February 18, 2005 at 9:51 AM (PDT)

73

Finally got my 1gb shuffle. The feaures it is missing compared to my ipod are what i like best about it. No matter how i tried to use an ipod to workout it always was annoying. And i really needed to shut out the annoying old hippie music they play at my gym. i cannot even feel the shuffle because of its weight and size and I can control it through my shirt if i wear it around my neck. I stuck a clear stick-on silicon dot on the switch cus it is too hard to switch otherwise.

Posted by silvertrailer on February 18, 2005 at 12:47 PM (PDT)

74

The shuffle is perfect for the people it is perfect for. I carry it in a small pocket, listen to it during lunch at work, dance with it when I don't want to disturb my spouse when he is studying. I plan to put a small drop of hot glue on the slide, although I am getting used to it. It is less likely to be accidentally switched on as is. All my fellow nurses are saying "That is just right for me!" So for us baby bears, the smallest ipod is the one for us, our little shuffle, so stop messing with us.

Posted by joanw in boston on February 18, 2005 at 7:13 PM (PDT)

75

my ipod shuffle 1gb will hold alot more than 240 songs. i am at 115 and it only takes up 158 mb. i am using wma files. i will proly have way over 240 songs once i fill it up. its crazy!!!!!!!!

Posted by Jscrambler500 in wilson on February 21, 2005 at 10:46 AM (PDT)

76

I picked up my shuffle (BTW, I'm new to the iPod world) at Circuit City last weekend-- funny thing is I went to the Apple Store (huge waiting list), then to CompUSA (huge waiting list), then around the corner to CC to two little bright lime green boxes just sitting on the bottom shelf, I thought I happened upon the holy grail.

Anyway, so far I love the thing and it suits my needs perfectly-- I find it difficult to fill it to capacity since I only want current music. The free 16 songs that it comes with actually turned out to be right up my alley, another unexpected plus.

The lanyard definitely makes you look like a dork, but it's sooo functional for doing stuff around the house without missing a beat. I just keep it stuffed in my jacket when out in public or under my shirt.

To me, the only drawback is not being able to fast forward within a song since I like to listen to audiobooks which are 2.5 hours at a time and I can't listen to other songs if I want to keep my place in the audiobook. I may need to somehow breakdown the audiobook into chapters first before loading it. I actually fell asleep last night listening and my iPod still had a charge in the morning, amazing!

Posted by coolguy in Minneapolis on February 22, 2005 at 3:09 AM (PDT)

77

i really think that apple should revise there number of songs on the shuffle, cause i have way more. i just used wmas

Posted by Jscrambler500 in wilson on February 22, 2005 at 1:10 PM (PDT)

78

http://www.geocities.com/dandachikw/index.html

Posted by ziza on February 25, 2005 at 4:40 AM (PDT)

79

I love the shuffle. It is great take to the gym, walk the dog, and really its an active iPod. I'm glad it has no screen cause then it would be to small.

Posted by evilsquirrel in San Francisco on February 26, 2005 at 12:22 PM (PDT)

80

i really want a shuffle. All my friends have the bigger ones and rekon shuffles are too small. but who has time to listen to over 1000 songs? i certainly dont that why i hink the shuffle is for me. But will somebody answwr my question, what is wrong with the slider on the back? is it hard to turn or something???????????? pwb

Posted by sezdemon on February 28, 2005 at 12:55 AM (PDT)

Page 4 of 5 pages « First  <  2 3 4 5 >

Recent News

Recent Reviews

Recent Articles

Shop for Accessories: Cases, speakers, chargers, etc.