TEN Technology naviPlay Bluetooth Wireless Stereo Kit | iLounge

Reviews

1

Would you be able to attach this in conjunction with another case for example Contour Showcase which I use and almost never take my iPod out of?

Posted by Guido Hatsis in Wellington on January 25, 2005 at 10:47 PM (PDT)

2

So let me get this straight...It has no LCD display on it. So how could I control what was playing through my Home stereo and actually see Track info.

Can I use the iPod to change tracks while linked to a home stereo? Effectively using the iPod as an LCD remote control for my Home Stereo?

Posted by mrgrill on January 25, 2005 at 11:57 PM (PDT)

3

I think I'm a bit confused here. You get to listen to your iPod wirelessly but still have to carry around a device that’s almost as big as the iPod with no display and with inferior sound? If that’s the case then why in world wouldn't you just carry your iPod with superior sound and display? Oh great I don’t have to use my iPod that I love with superior sound and an interface, but I get to listen to it from a few feet away.

Posted by suninmoon in Atlanta on January 26, 2005 at 8:48 AM (PDT)

4

what a completely useless device! the ipod itself is the size of a remote! get griffin's BlueTrip instead.

Posted by krex on January 26, 2005 at 10:30 AM (PDT)

5

What we need is a bluetooth wireless headphones (receiver) communicating with a wireless bluetooth device (transmitter) connected to the ipod unit.

Posted by Jun on January 26, 2005 at 11:33 AM (PDT)

6

you can buy a sony radio headphone set and an itrip to do that.

Posted by frankthetank on January 26, 2005 at 1:08 PM (PDT)

7

With the radio headset you can broadcast to more then one person aswell, quality is not as good.

Posted by MOD on January 26, 2005 at 1:24 PM (PDT)

8

The only good I see here is the use of Bluetooth technology. Seems kinda like a waste of a product though.

Posted by bradnike on January 26, 2005 at 2:11 PM (PDT)

9


Imagine sitting at your workplace and enjoying music from the iPod, without the iPod weighing you down on the pocket or on the hip.

It definitely is a great product for me.

Posted by Baskar in India on January 26, 2005 at 8:18 PM (PDT)

10

I can use my earbuds from the ipod at workplace. the ipod can rest on my desktop. and the wires weigh much less than naviplay...

Posted by ivod-avid ipod fan on January 26, 2005 at 8:32 PM (PDT)

11

Its going to be a great product for people liking me who goes to Gym for workout or jogging in the park or treadmill.

I will certainly try this for its wireless and quality aspect.

Posted by K M SHRI on January 26, 2005 at 8:36 PM (PDT)

12

What this and all the other bluetooth devices I've seen are lacking is a microphone!

The reason for using bluetooth is interconnection. Link your headphones/mic up to your ipod and phone. So when you get a call your music pauses and you can have your phone call.

Then when its done the music continues.

THAT is what these devices are sorely lacking

Posted by ritchiem in Glasgow on January 27, 2005 at 5:12 AM (PDT)

13

I don't get it. Why pay $200 to carry another device that doesn't have an LCD panel? I understand it's lighter but is not worth. Do you guys at ipolounge get paid by naviPlay? I'm surprised...

Posted by Federico Acuna on January 27, 2005 at 4:50 PM (PDT)

14

Ritchiem: Perhaps you missed the part where we mention that the NaviPlay includes a microphone for that purpose, with firmware upgrade coming to support it.

Federico: No. We're not paid by anyone. The appeal is to have a clean wireless connection with your iPod from a distance, either so you can broadcast to your stereo or a pair of headphones from a distance. Use it with the HP headphones and you don't have to carry another device.

Posted by Jeremy Horwitz in East Amherst, NY, USA on January 27, 2005 at 7:16 PM (PDT)

15

No, really; what happened to the lcd that was shown on this thing last year? That's what I really wanted... an lcd remote.

Posted by Lon Cook in San Francisco on January 27, 2005 at 10:56 PM (PDT)

16

Is there anything for the car for the Shuffle yet? Or will the Shuffle work with all of the traditional snap-on car devices?

The Shuffle can't compare to my SIRIUS in the car, but just for thought....

Posted by Mega in California on January 28, 2005 at 9:23 AM (PDT)

17

For someone like myself, this is an attractive product, though the range on Bluetooth is not where it needs to be. I work in a fast-paced, high-volume kitchen. Sometimes, I hook my ipod up to the kitchen stereo, but not everybody wants to listen to my music all the time. It would be suicide to wear the ipod, even in a fully waterproof case, due to extremes in temperatures, jostling, a possible slip-and-fall, banging into things, etc. If the range and audio quality were better, this product would be ideal for me, allowing me to carry a lightweight, somewhat more durable (i.e. not a hard drive) receiver to plug my earbuds into, while leaving the ipod safely in the office. To get me to shell over $100-250 for such an item, however, it simply has to have the quality range (30' or more with clarity) and audio quality that an audiophile demands ... especially at a pricetag that is not far off the mark of just buying a replacement ipod!

Posted by cook on January 28, 2005 at 11:31 AM (PDT)

18

That looks cool only if they had one for the mini .

Posted by LP_Xero_Theory in Texas on January 29, 2005 at 10:04 AM (PDT)

19

Personally, the ipod accessories are pretty much all jokes. Take the stupid ipod remote for example. It has no LCD screen and is MADE from China. No wonder Apple replaces those "signature" earbuds and remotes without any hassle. LOL. The remote is basically, in my opinion, just an extension for headphones, plus the material of the remote is just plain cheap and the remote is pointless if you ask me.

Posted by JRM in Burbank, CA on January 29, 2005 at 5:52 PM (PDT)

20

Take the stupid ipod remote for example. It has no LCD screen and is MADE from China.

The iPod is also made in China. What's your point?

Posted by Demosthenes on January 30, 2005 at 9:39 AM (PDT)

Page 1 of 2 pages  1 2 >

Recent News

Recent Reviews

Recent Articles

Shop for Accessories: Cases, speakers, chargers, etc.