XtremeMac AirPlay FM Transmitter | iLounge

Reviews

1

I prefer the low-profile of my iTrip--fits nicely on my iPod (Photo) even in my pocket, and the rounded iTrip doesn't feel at risk of breaking off when I do that. And dare I say the lack of screen is a nice look? smile In actual practice I almost never need to change my iTrip away from 87.7 anyway. It broadcasts clearly in every vehicle and home I've used it in--IF you set the volume on the iPod to 2/3 like you're supposed to (true of any transmitter probably).

BUT if I DID need to change stations a lot, I'd jump on the AirPlay! Looks like a great addition to our options.

And like the iTrip... cable free and battery-free! I wish more iPod accessories were like that.

Posted by Nagromme on January 31, 2005 at 1:23 PM (PDT)

2

Anyone know whether the AirPlay works with silicon cases like the iSkin? I've always found the iTrip to "work," but despite what iSkin claims, not really lock onto the iPod so it's very easy jiggle the iTrip loose.

Posted by TeeteringSilence on January 31, 2005 at 1:44 PM (PDT)

3

Great review, thanks!
I'm really glad you guys liked this thing. i just ordered it as a replacement for my iTrip. Living in Southern California, I found myself changing stations often. Of course, this was hard with the iTrip, and I had to interrupt songs most of the time. I look forward to being able to change the station easily. My only problem with the Airplay is its shape, though. It really it quite a bit less sleek, even if it is smaller.

Posted by Joshdude in Long Beach, CA on January 31, 2005 at 4:05 PM (PDT)

4

Like joshdude I also live in socal and and had little luck w/ the itrip. Please let us know if the airplay is indeed better than the itrip

Posted by marley2778 in Palos Verdes, CA on January 31, 2005 at 7:17 PM (PDT)

5

I got to play with an Airplay this weekend. I use a cassette adapter in my car and usually rent cars with casette players so I can bring my Mini with me as I travel. A friend of mine had been given this at some electronics show and told me to try it out. I was very impressed with the sound, no where near as good as cassette adapter but much better then any other transmitter I had tried.
It's small size and button navigation make this a very well made product. I've already placed my order and this will be going into my laptop case from now on.

Posted by King Ding a Ling in Earth on January 31, 2005 at 9:26 PM (PDT)

6

I've never used my holdswitch, but having it uncovered is a nice thing about the Airplay.

Posted by Nagromme on February 1, 2005 at 5:54 AM (PDT)

7

I live in LA too, and I got the PodFreq because the iTrip was too much of a bother. It was impossible to change stations while I was driving, and it drove me nuts that it covered up the hold switch. There was also a constant hiss and times when the tuning wasn't solid.

I'm glad I got the PodFreq, because sound quality is important to me (it does sound as good as a cassette adapter), but I'll be definitely recommending this one to friends who can't afford the PodFreq instead of the iTrip.

See ya
Steve

Posted by Stephen Worth in North Hollywood, CA on February 1, 2005 at 11:50 AM (PDT)

8

I think the size difference is made up for by the iTrip being so much 'sleeker'. I leave my iTrip on 87.9 and it works good most of the time except a few areas in Boston. The radio in my work truck is not the greatest so sound quality is not that big a deal.

If you change stations a lot or want access to the hold switch the airplay definatly has a big advantage.

And of course performance is the biggest factor and it looks like the airplay has the advantage there.

Posted by Anachronism on February 1, 2005 at 2:51 PM (PDT)

9

My main complaint about this FM Tuner is that it only covers 88.1 to 107.9 MHz.
It states on the site that "...works across the full FM frequency band.."
This is not correct. I use the iTrip on 87.9 and therefore this may not work for people like me who use this frequency (not by choice).
I questioned XtremeMac about this and they told me that their legal staff and the FCC said that below 88.1 is not legal (???) I guess nobody told Giffin this!


Paul

Posted by AusPod on February 1, 2005 at 6:33 PM (PDT)

10

I trip way better

Posted by CG on February 1, 2005 at 7:04 PM (PDT)

11

FM frequencies towards the middle of the band sound a lot better than on the edges.

See ya
Steve

Posted by Stephen Worth in North Hollywood, CA on February 1, 2005 at 8:10 PM (PDT)

12

Does anyone know if it will fit on the ipod armor (once you remove the plastic part on the top, which is really easy, by removing the screws)

Posted by jqc78 on February 2, 2005 at 7:30 PM (PDT)

13

One of the key reasons why Apple and the iPods are so successful is that the designers and engineers placed equal importance on the form and the function. It is my belief that iPod accessories should follow this same principle. I refuse to purchase accessories that take away from the beautiful design of my Pod, and I feel that the AirPlay does just that.

I'm sticking to my sleek iTrip.

Posted by DesignerChic in San Jose, CA on February 3, 2005 at 10:34 AM (PDT)

14

Interesting, I felt the exact same way towards the two iTrips I had to return because of their less than adequate sound quality and reception.

Posted by Kloan in Toronto, ON on February 3, 2005 at 9:31 PM (PDT)

15

I have both the iTrip and Airplay. I just received the Airplay today and am online to see about returning the device. I'm very disappointed. I thought it was a great concept and based on this sites review, thought it was a can't miss product. Its poor sound quality inspired me to register and write this review to help prevent fellow iPod owners from going through the trouble of returning the device.

Pros- Ability to tune without stopping music. Small size.

Cons-Horrible sound quality, absolutely no bass. High pitched whistle in background that is not present with iTrip. Yes, the signal strength is better, but I can't put up with the whistle and treble boosted sound.

Summary- Better signal strength, at the expense of poor sound quality and annoying whistle background sound. If you own iTrip you will be disapointed in this product.

Posted by paunchy1975 on February 5, 2005 at 7:22 AM (PDT)

16

Have the iTrip, horrible in LA area. A Spanish station came on every 20 miles. Hissing was a big problem. Had to leave the iPod on the dash to get best reception. In a hard turn, it slid across the dash, not very good for driving safety let me tell you.

At the end, I went with the cassette tape. So many wires everywhere, but at least it sounds good. And that my friend is the whole point, no?

Posted by drjaycs in Los Angeles on February 5, 2005 at 9:40 AM (PDT)

17

I got my AirPlay today and it is HORRIBLE. The sound quality is like that of a really old cassette. I cannot get it to work to an acceptable quality on any source. I was thinking a received a defective item but, I don’t think so. It just I am currently trying to return it.

Posted by airforcejane in Texas on February 5, 2005 at 11:52 PM (PDT)

18

Has any one figured out whether the air play fits the ipod when its in ipod armour. I have an itrip which was brill however it meant i couldn't use the armour and the trip together. (even when i screwed of the white plastic at the top.)

Posted by Sami-uk on February 6, 2005 at 12:15 AM (PDT)

19

Just sent mine back a couple of days ago. Very disappointing. Great package. Miserable sound quality. And I mean unlistenable. No matter what I tried it sounded like I was listening to something with its levels maxed out and playing though cheap blown speakers. And the hiss...forget listening to any audio books or podcasts, you'll get a headache real fast. It's unfortunate because they really nailed the small design and simple ui.
I'm finally just going to give up on fm transmitters and save up for a new car stereo with aux in.

Posted by boruta on February 8, 2005 at 1:56 AM (PDT)

20

I wish I could say I was happy with my AirPlay. I thought I may have gotten a bad one. The sound quality makes the device useless. It makes your iPod sound like an AM station broadcasting from 100 miles away. Flat base, constant hiss and a weird noise whenever the iPod accesses the hard drive. If xtrememac ever gets back to me, I am going to return it.

Posted by JohnnyRoaster in Boston, MA on February 8, 2005 at 11:00 AM (PDT)

Page 1 of 6 pages  1 2 3 >  Last »

Recent News

Recent Reviews

Recent Articles

Shop for Accessories: Cases, speakers, chargers, etc.