HandStands iGrip/iSticky Pad | iLounge

Reviews

1

This product works great for cell phones, but the iPod is too large. Still, if you did want it, just get the regular (non iPod and white) version for about half the price.

Posted by Joshdude in Long Beach, CA on January 31, 2005 at 3:52 PM (PDT)

2

I have a friend who swears by this for his cell phone or blackberry or sunglasses. But the iPod is too heavy and big, and I just know it would go flying off if you had to brake suddenly.

Posted by DigitalKim in Dallas TX on January 31, 2005 at 8:00 PM (PDT)

3

I disagree. This sticky pad is awesome. It is the key to my car install. I would have paid twice the price!!!

Pics of my car install using the iGrip
http://www.thelandrumfamily.com/index.php?set_albumName=album22&option=com_gallery&Itemid=42&include=view_album.php

Posted by YoungClay in Gastonia, NC on February 1, 2005 at 3:08 AM (PDT)

4

I'll agree with YoungClay, though he uses his iGrip differently than I do. Mine travels on top of my Toyota Tacoma's relatively flat dash. A PodPod (or other cupholder mount) is out of the question, as the truck only has two cupholders, which are in use all the time on trips.

I recently travelled 1200 miles round trip, mostly on freeways and good 2 lane roads, and the iPod never moved during the trip except when I put it away during pitstops. We also put my wife's sunglasses on the iGrip during the trip (there's room), and they didn't move either.

Joshdude is right--the same pad is available in colors other than white at RadioShacks and other outlets for half the price.

Posted by FloydC on February 1, 2005 at 10:57 AM (PDT)

5

I just got one a couple of weeks ago. I have a 40Gigger with an iTrip. I took it for a test spin, taking corners at twice what i would usually take them at.

iGrip worked beautifully.

Posted by Harrison in Melbourne, Australia on February 1, 2005 at 12:05 PM (PDT)

6

Never had any problems with my iGrip. In my Mazda RX-7, I've taken turns without seeing my iPod go flying around. Stood right in place.

I personally like it better than the PodPod and similar accessories. They isn't as easy and just taking it out of my iPod case, and putting my iTrip in, and placing it on the iGrip.

Posted by jadehsn on February 1, 2005 at 1:42 PM (PDT)

7

I am very happy with my iGrip. Its a good solution in my Envoy since I don't have very much storage between the seats and I didn't want to lose a cup holder. I also use it in my Accord and it works very well there as well.

It does re-gain its tacky quality when you wash it in soapy water. I just washed it when I was doing some dishes one night and it was good as new when it dried....

I have yet to have my iPod slip while its on the iGrip.

YoungClay: Nice use of the iGrip!

Posted by slothdude on February 1, 2005 at 1:46 PM (PDT)

8

You can buy a roll of rubber kitchen drawer liner in any color for $2 and cut it to whatever shape you want. This will work for many applications that aren't at very severe angles.

Posted by klwdallas in Dallas, TX on February 1, 2005 at 3:08 PM (PDT)

9

If I lived on a house boat I would possibly have every surface of the boat have this type of material. Just imagine how annoying it must be to have to dive for potted plants every time some goofy kids are diving off the side of you neighbors boat!

Posted by tumblingwall in u.s. on February 1, 2005 at 3:27 PM (PDT)

10

Funny--I was trying to make something like that--but with a rough fabric (maybe Velcro) backing, to set the iPod on the passenger seat next to me.

I came up with something REALLY ugly but it works...

Posted by Nagromme on February 2, 2005 at 1:27 AM (PDT)

11

YoungClay - I'm impressed, that thing holds the iPod nearly vertically!

Must be stickier than I'd have thought.

Posted by Nagromme on February 2, 2005 at 1:31 AM (PDT)

12

Wow, lots of positive reviews for this product even though its only got a C-. Makes me want to go get one.

Posted by Viper_Viper in In the US on February 3, 2005 at 6:06 PM (PDT)

13

I love mine. I drive a Neon and the dashboard is really kind of rounded - nothing would sit on the dashboard flat anyway. I got mine before reading the reviews here and I have a 40GB usually in a Speck hard case, never once has it moved. I kind of "squoosh" my ipod on there to be sure it is secure, but it stays perfectly still regardless of braking, sharp turns, etc. I can reach the buttons easily to move to the next song, etc. I actually got a second one to hold my cell phone and my chapstick smile

BTW, my cup holders are out of the question because they are almost on the floor in my car. Having the pod on the dash with the iGrip is the best decision for me.

Posted by DawnTCB on February 28, 2005 at 5:24 PM (PDT)

14

I was skeptical too, but this thing really does work great. My iPod (4g 40 gig) doesn't move at all even at high speeds on tight turns with a charging cable connected. I've got an Acura Integra. For this price, or even triple this price, it's great. I mean, I imagine that a ProClip system would be better, but that would run 13x more money plus shipping. Wow. I'd rather have this. It works great and is cheap.

Posted by stustrway on April 25, 2005 at 3:41 PM (PDT)

15

I just got my iGrip a week ago. I live in Michigan, and if anyone knows Michigan they know the roads here are AWFUL. Despite my erratic driving and the roads, my iPod photo didn't budge... at all. Currently, I have it in a Sumo nylon flap case, and I've driven with it in the case and out. Because of the belt clip on the back, it doesn't lay flat on the iGrip, yet stills stay put. Also, my dashboard is curved and it still functions properly.

This product deserves way more than a C-. It might not be as high-end and chic as some of the other car mounts, but form follows function!

Posted by kritty180 on February 2, 2006 at 2:27 PM (PDT)

Recent News

Recent Reviews

Recent Articles

Shop for Accessories: Cases, speakers, chargers, etc.