DLO iBoom Speakers with FM Radio and BoomBag | iLounge

Reviews

1

about time ipodlounge gives something a F

Posted by M Bargo in Chicago, IL on February 4, 2005 at 4:43 PM (PDT)

2

has anything ever scored a D?

Posted by DoTheChew on February 4, 2005 at 4:45 PM (PDT)

3

I'm totally happy with my iBoom and I've been listening to music for 55 years. It is exactly what I wanted, a way to easily play my iPod over a portable stereo speaker system at a reasonable volume, coupled with an FM tuner, at a reasonable price, without having to always depend on AC power. There could be a few improvements here and there but a C+ or B would be a much more reasonable grade. It's clear from the design that you aren't supposed to run AC power and the batteries at the same time, plus they've got a warning in the compartment. I've not noticed the reversed channels but I'll check it out. Any chance this was merely a miswired unit that you reviewed? Anyway, I wouldn't trade mine for any of the other "quasi-portable" units out there.

ChemBob

Posted by ChemBob on February 4, 2005 at 5:53 PM (PDT)

4

D-grades are automatically issued to defective but not potentially dangerous products. Reversing the left and right channels is a defect, hence that reference at the bottom.

Posted by Jeremy Horwitz in East Amherst, NY, USA on February 4, 2005 at 6:08 PM (PDT)

5

I wouldn't exactly call it "nice-looking"; "crappy-looking" is more like it.

Posted by Galley in Greenville, SC on February 4, 2005 at 6:52 PM (PDT)

6

It has a F like as my name! Filion. But seriously, i have a music studio and would like if someone can put a 3 way portable speakers on a 30 watts RMS with a 12 volts 5 amps. Alarm batterie. It won't be too heavy. Around 12 pounds, but it worth by delicious sound. At the before marketing, i wrote to DLO to make it more serious amp. and quality speakers, for around $100. more but how better. It's not so the esthetic that is important, is the sound quality that we prefer. I hate audible hissing and distortion, but i'm not a fanatic for sound. Please if an audiophile could be designing a model sounding like a car amp. with best speakers. We pay for good ipod, we can pay for a good system that will be applaused, crowd. It would be good to start with, radio amp. and good speakers.

Posted by angelito in Qu├ębec, Canada on February 4, 2005 at 8:37 PM (PDT)

7

I was actually looking forward to it, but I'll stick with my Altec inMotions. The battery / wall plug thing is amateur hour I've bought $20 CD players that have solved that problem.

Posted by Jazzlawyer in Kelowna, BC Canada on February 5, 2005 at 12:06 AM (PDT)

8

I sent my iBoom back because of the exact same problems as above.
The mains/battery thing should have never been an issue - a 1c diode would fix the problem at manufacture.
The hiss is totally unnaceptable IMHO - you might as well use an FM transmitter it has the same hiss level and the fact that you can't listen to it at a low volume is also bad design or bad components.
Very disappointing as this thing potentially could be the best of it's type but due to poor design/implementation it sucks
BTW I should add that evrything iPod were prompt and easy to deal with

Posted by angry of mayfair in australia on February 5, 2005 at 5:03 PM (PDT)

9

BTW I should add that evrything iPod were prompt and easy to deal with

Everything iPod is DLO. Not sure if that is good or bad. It is a little misleading perhaps.

Posted by Poddly on February 5, 2005 at 6:50 PM (PDT)

10

"Strong words there from the 'Lounge, obviously trying to shake off their soft and accepting image." lol good review

Posted by Nuke666 in Melbourne, Austalia on February 5, 2005 at 10:54 PM (PDT)

11

It's weird that iPodlounge seems to like to have a little dig at the iPAL every now and again. So what if its a repackaged PAL and broadcasts in mono. It's still the best sounding speaker of its size by a long shot, and really, in small units, stereo separation isn't really an issue. You don't really get "true stereo" from speakers situated 2 inches apart.

... but more to the point. Great to see the genius of Edwyn Collins acknowledged on these pages.

Posted by Lawrence Mikkelsen in New Zealand on February 6, 2005 at 11:28 AM (PDT)

12

how bad is the hissing sound? i've read that it makes a terrible sound between selecting songs to play (User guide says this is normal?!) are these two things related?

Posted by ebbnphlow on February 9, 2005 at 2:25 AM (PDT)

13

Seems to me that power running through the batteries would be a good thing if you were using rechargeable batteries, which likely would not leak when used in the same application.

Posted by bornyesterday in Detroit area on February 11, 2005 at 8:23 AM (PDT)

14

Despite the low grade, I'm still seriously considering the unit. I'm a dad whose kid will be using this. The primary application is not necessarily listening in the house (normally then it's either linked up to the computer, recharging, or the songs are being played through ITunes from the computer through better speakers) but rather listening while outside playing ball; I have to believe that in that context the low volume issues and the hiss will not be noticable. I guess my other concern, though, is that this whole setup may attract too much attention when playing outside...the other way I'm leaning is to find a better-sounding boom box and combine it with an FM transmitter...that keeps the IPod out of sight (in a jacket pocket, for example).

My other question in regard to this unit is cases. Right now it's snug in a case similar to the Countour Design ISee ... whatever the solution, I'd like to be able to avoid "in the case, out of the iBoom, out of the case, in the iBoom" logistic, which would inevitably lead to a lost case.

Any posts on real-life use would be appreciated: my drawer of useless accessories is already full.

Posted by bornyesterday in Detroit area on February 11, 2005 at 8:45 AM (PDT)

15

I purchased one of these units during MacWorld, because of the free 'BoomBag' offer which DLO was running. My unit would only occassionaly make terrible noises between songs, but my biggest complaints were the poor (ie non-existant) FM reception, and the inability to listen at low volume levels. I'd have been willing to keep the unit, and give it a C- IF it weren't for the battery/AC problem.

Fortunately, DLO/everythingIpod procesesd my RMA request quickly, and I shipped it out for a refund earlier this week. All in all I really wanted to like this product, but when it can potentially become a safety hazard, it had to go.

Posted by WrathMan in Sarasota, FL on February 12, 2005 at 8:43 AM (PDT)

16

I emailed everythingipod.com about an exchange because it is defective, but still haven't gotten a response. It's been over 30 days. Have they made a non-defective version? Does anyone know whether I might be able to exchange mine for an updated version?

Posted by Milltime51 on February 14, 2005 at 10:14 AM (PDT)

17

i just received an iboom yesterday. it did not have the warning lable in the battery tray. i dont know if dlo has resolved this problem. as far as noise, i dont hear any back hiss or static at any time. i am satisfied with my purchase so far (first impressions)

Posted by iPodBill in Missouri on February 16, 2005 at 2:04 PM (PDT)

18

someone posted a brand new iBoom on eBay that supposedly can use the 60 GB iPod now. there is no evidence of this on their site. is this 4 real?

Posted by ebbnphlow on February 20, 2005 at 11:52 PM (PDT)

19

wanted to like this unit. heard it at Fry's and it sounded really bad. tried the cassett adapter to my current boombox and out side of the minor inconvenience of the dangling cord and accessible ipod it works great (sort like the old wired remote controls).

Posted by richp5 on March 8, 2005 at 2:46 PM (PDT)

20

battery leakage? eew.

Posted by punkrockavocado in VA on June 16, 2005 at 7:31 AM (PDT)

Recent News

Recent Reviews

Recent Articles

Shop for Accessories: Cases, speakers, chargers, etc.