STM Mini Cocoon Travel Case | iLounge

Reviews

1

i already have mine on order. can't wait to get it!!

Posted by elefant on February 9, 2005 at 4:06 PM (PDT)

2

Looks like the same type of material that my Panasonic Lumix DigiCam case uses.

Posted by Galley in Greenville, SC on February 9, 2005 at 9:50 PM (PDT)

3

Where did you buy it from?

Posted by sstickeler on February 10, 2005 at 4:05 PM (PDT)

4

i bought mine for $39 from [url=http://www.radtech.us]http://www.radtech.us[/url] but [url=http://www.ipodxtras.com]http://www.ipodxtras.com[/url] has them for $35.

there's a thread in the mini gear forum.

Posted by elefant on February 10, 2005 at 4:42 PM (PDT)

5

I still like the iPak better. While it is a bit bigger, for the same price you get an extra case for your accessories too. I also like the iPak's idea of a foam insert versus the "clunky" way the cocoon holds it in the case.

With the cocoon I'd be a little afraid that whatever I put in the mesh on the opposite side could easily fall out and scratch my iPod while its closed in the case. Looks like from the photos the mesh would only cover the controls of the iPod Mini and not the screen.

Posted by jadehsn on February 10, 2005 at 5:42 PM (PDT)

6

btw, you can get the iPak at [url=http://www.handstands.com]http://www.handstands.com[/url]

Posted by jadehsn on February 10, 2005 at 5:45 PM (PDT)

7

Thanks!

Posted by sstickeler on February 11, 2005 at 10:02 AM (PDT)

8

STM knows how to design specifically for the ipod - I own the normal cocoon and have the mini on order for my new ipdo mini!

Posted by supersonic on February 13, 2005 at 5:19 PM (PDT)

9

I found that the best place to get these was from [url=http://www.rushfaster.com.au]http://www.rushfaster.com.au[/url] because they had them in stock and because of the currency exchange for my country. They also had them at [url=http://www.laptopbags.com.au]http://www.laptopbags.com.au[/url]

Posted by alittlecubicle in Australia on February 14, 2005 at 4:43 AM (PDT)

10

You guys, this case rocks! (I received mine last week--the same day that the lounge review came out).

jadehsn mentioned that this case might be a bit "clunky." If you use the silicone skin, the ipod doesn't "clunk" around in the case at all--there just isn't enough room.

I haven't been using the silicone skin lately. My ipod is going commando inside the cocoon, but i do use the vinyl strap to help secure it inside. There is a little bit of play, but not much.

Right now, I love this case. I think that I will feel the same after it recieves extended use.

Posted by elefant on February 14, 2005 at 11:15 AM (PDT)

11

just got the case from JR's ....34 bucks shipped....awesome case...

-dm

Posted by DrumMonkey on March 17, 2005 at 6:28 AM (PDT)

12

i can't decide whether or not to get this case over the iPak. it's cheaper, though, and it has a lanyard.

Posted by punkrockavocado in VA on May 5, 2005 at 6:45 PM (PDT)

13

i would go with this...yea it's cheaper...but i'd get annoyed to have to carry around TWO cases instead of just one. although i do like the ipak's foam inserts. maybe the ipak would work better for people with TONS of accesories.

Posted by ipodminilovr on September 16, 2005 at 5:13 PM (PDT)

Recent News

Recent Reviews

Recent Articles

Shop for Accessories: Cases, speakers, chargers, etc.