Lime iPod Peel Cases | iLounge

Reviews

1

Jerry you are just cruisin' for a female brusin' as I had my wife read your review and as she stated, "Obviously written by a man." Yes, Jerry, women are different from us and not as stuck on matters such as men, but more into the fashion sense and does the bloody thing easily work. My wife loves these and she's a corporate exec. As my wife said "...it's a Kate Spade!"

Posted by FahrenheiPod 451 on February 10, 2005 at 4:15 PM (PDT)

2

May be iPodlounge should consider hiring a lady writer also so that we could see both sides of woman and man writing about a a product...

Posted by Mijman2 on February 10, 2005 at 4:40 PM (PDT)

3

FahrenheiPod 451: I doubt that all women would agree that their views on products can be trivialized as "is it pretty" and "does it work", but even if that were the case, we leave the "pretty" question for each reader to decide on their own and answer the "does it work" question in these reviews.

There are women of a million different tastes, and we do not presume to judge any or all of those tastes in advance. We do believe, however, that most readers want to know how well put-together a case is, and how it compares with other options. If someone doesn't want to bother reading before coming to a decision, we thankfully provide a bunch of pictures, so that's an option as well.

And not that it's worth even mentioning, but my girlfriend - who has actually seen, held, and tested an iPod in these cases - thinks they look nice but "would never put [her] iPod in one because it's not protective enough." And she's a lawyer. Hopefully it's no surprise to you that successful women can have different tastes, wants, and needs - just like men.

Mijman2: As noted in our forums post back a month or so ago, we are in the process of bringing a fashion case reviewer on board right now.

Posted by Jeremy Horwitz in East Amherst, NY, USA on February 10, 2005 at 5:32 PM (PDT)

4

Jerry, not trivializing as I am married to a highly educated woman. It is just that her values are much different from mine and protecting an iPod is not one of them.

Posted by FahrenheiPod 451 on February 10, 2005 at 6:46 PM (PDT)

5

I hate to say this but....all Women are not the same, and do not have the same taste. Just like all Men do not like the same thing. Gender should not matter...it is about the person.

I'm a woman and I think that they are ugly and VERY cheap looking.

Posted by musblue4 in Sunnydale on February 10, 2005 at 8:00 PM (PDT)

6

I think the things people find lacking in the review are found in the photos smile And thus... not really lacking!

Someone who cares first and foremost about the looks need not base their decisions on the letter grade alone.

Posted by Nagromme on February 10, 2005 at 8:08 PM (PDT)

7

LOOKS UGLY!

Posted by allforcarrie on February 11, 2005 at 12:19 AM (PDT)

8

Burn it! *shakes pitch fork*

Posted by iZON in London on February 11, 2005 at 3:57 AM (PDT)

9

I'm a woman and I'm thinking "Godamn you, Kate Spade." I like the choice of colors and patterns, I think they're tasteful and will no doubt appeal to a ton of women (and a handful of men). But geezuz those things are cheap and crappy.

Posted by lucygoosey on February 11, 2005 at 4:38 AM (PDT)

10

I happen to be a woman who doesn't care for the patterns/looks of the almighty Kate Spade cases. It looks cheap and above that, the purpose of a case is to protect your iPod. This fails in both areas to me....which makes it a double LOSER.

Posted by 1PodHead on February 11, 2005 at 4:57 AM (PDT)

11

I'm a woman and I cover my ipod with iskin in ice. I would NEVER buy a "girly flimsy thing with flowers on it"...even if I own a pink mini. So there.

Posted by MissP in Canada on February 11, 2005 at 4:57 AM (PDT)

12

These are not Kate Spade cases.

Posted by Jeremy Horwitz in East Amherst, NY, USA on February 11, 2005 at 9:27 AM (PDT)

13

Indeed, this review is not about the Kate Spade cover and I should have better stated that in my response (the first response of this thread) as my wife read both reviews. There are definitely generational gaps here as can be determined by my profile, and my wife's birthday is not far behind. Jerry, maybe you need to append "generational" reviewers (in addition to your fashion reviewer) to your list as well. I started with my first Mac in 1984 when some of your readers were toddlers.

Posted by FahrenheiPod 451 on February 11, 2005 at 10:11 AM (PDT)

14

An effective case should, in my opinion, protect its contents. My accessories have to look good *and* perform well in turbulent environments like my tote bag. This is why I spent $68 on a stiff suede case, and would also consider a high quality leather one.

Just for kicks, I once tried to make an iPod carrier from vinyl and rhinestones. After two hours of snipping and gluing, I had a strange drawstring bag that gaped open in back. It was hideous! grin So I can appreciate how much work went into these handmade cases.

The Peel cases provide the customized decoration some users may find sufficient if durability isn't a prime concern. They are the opposite of functional but ugly receptacles, which protect but do not serve as visual enticements.

After failing Handmade Symmetry & Fit 101, I can't criticize these comparatively successful efforts. grin


Posted by Abbie in USA on February 11, 2005 at 6:54 PM (PDT)

15

Trying to put this politely, I think they look cheap, poorly made and like they are trying to take iPod owners for fools. I wouldn't let mine within 10 feet of one. (I am a woman.)

Posted by ChrisMouse in Bristol, UK on February 14, 2005 at 12:26 PM (PDT)

16

WARNING: DO NOT BUY!!!!!

I bought a custom made case from Lime. Thought it was cute, and had more protection than the stupid peel. Took WEEKS for them to make it and finally ship it to me. I put that frustration aside and waited for it to come. Got it and it was DAMAGED. Had a filmy glue on it from the design and could NOT get rid of it. Emailed them about it and they won't give me my money back. It's bull. Why should i be stuck with damaged goods?

SO this is a warning to all: They are very unprofessional, takes them FOREVER to actually make it and ship it to you when you were promised it to be done in a week. THey tried to make it up to me with free shipping and pins (for the delayed shipping), but who cares about that when the product is damaged and cant be fixed!! Biggest waste of money ever.

Posted by Ipod Girl on February 14, 2005 at 3:31 PM (PDT)

17

Has nobody noticed this product's eerie similarities to the black case packaged with the iPod? (Well, at least the one pagacked with my 3G.)

I kind of like it. As I've never handled it, I don't know how "cheap" it feels, but if it's anything like the Apple standard, I'd use it. It sure beats plain old black, and as far as protection -- well, I'll admit I've dropped mine in its case a few times, and it's not even nicked. The case just bounces.

I'd say it's the perfect way to stow an iPod away in a purse without your keys or whatever scratching it up.

Posted by snoopkat in San Francisco on February 16, 2005 at 4:29 PM (PDT)

Recent News

Recent Reviews

Recent Articles

Shop for Accessories: Cases, speakers, chargers, etc.