Apple iPod mini 4GB/6GB (Second-Generation) | iLounge

Reviews

21

CORRECTION--Mine works because I have a USB2 powered hub plugged into my USB 1 port.

Posted by MOSOXFAN on February 25, 2005 at 12:05 PM (PDT)

22

well it doesn't matter... Apple is going to sell the crap out of these little things. Why? 'cause "iPod" is attatched to it. But yes, its' a low blow to rid of the FW cable and power brick. But Apple also knows that everybody accessorizes the h-e-l-l out of these things, so they KNOW your going to come back and get those little things you miss about them. I have 2 (mini and 40GB) ipods and 3 docks now... I'm living proof!

Posted by apple juice in USA on February 25, 2005 at 12:47 PM (PDT)

23

BTW, I also suspect that they reduced the packaging size to fit more per shippment to each retail outlet, and perhaps the waste reduction factor as well, but how many ipod owners ACTUALLY throw out the boxes... I don't know about you, but I still have both of mine... And worse yet, I keep them in good condition!

Posted by apple juice in USA on February 25, 2005 at 12:50 PM (PDT)

24

I don't mind them dropping the power adapter so much as I mind the pretending that apple dropped the price. Look at it this way, if you need it, you go buy it. If not, you saved yourself the $29 you previously were forced to pay, not to mention the extra for the firewire cable. Apple is just working to make the included accessories the most universal so it can drop prices and also (hopefully) stop waste. By only including the most necessary, thousands (maybe millions) of people won't get a power adapter they won't use. That's called conservation.

Posted by purplestallion in Dallas, Texas on February 25, 2005 at 12:59 PM (PDT)

25

My friends just got minis, and boy they are ticked at Apple, they could return them but they want to keep the firewire cable and power adapter. I was looking at the things included in the box and no firewire cable, or power adapter. I use both those things all the time. I wanted a photo but it was too much, now after buying my 4G, I could of waited a little while longer and gotten a photo. I wouldn't of needed to get a firewire adapter, or cable, because I have a 3G iPod.

Posted by evilsquirrel in San Francisco on February 25, 2005 at 1:25 PM (PDT)

26

"My friends just got minis, and boy they are ticked at Apple, they could return them but they want to keep the firewire cable and power adapter."

The new 4GB iPod mini is cheaper than the older one... You should tell them to return their iPods and get the new 4GB ones, plus a USB power adaptor, or both a FW cable and power adaptor. It would cost them about the same as the old 4GB mini wink

Posted by Mainyehc in Lisbon, Portugal on February 25, 2005 at 7:25 PM (PDT)

27

hmm, actually I don't really see what's the big fuss about not including the FW and the power adapter. So why don't just get it separately?

i think it's quite good to sell it this way. people who don't really see the need for the adapter can hence buy the mini at a cheaper price w/o paying for something they don't really need.

anyhoo, i'm quite frustrated that i just purchased the iPod shuffle 1Gb. for a bit more, i'd be able to purchase the mini. yes, the shuffle is a different type of player. but i think i made the wrong choice as i miss having a LCD and multiple playlists. o well. better and faster and cheaper it always will be. =(

Posted by Noeluap on February 25, 2005 at 8:56 PM (PDT)

28

I just bought two 1G iPod minis last week, too. We decided to get them engraved because we thought, "why would we ever want to return them?"

Heh, well... it seems like a bad idea this week. At least Apple gave credited us the price difference, and at least I have an AC adapter+Firewire cable!

Must think positive!

Posted by notinusedelete on February 25, 2005 at 9:42 PM (PDT)

29

personally, i think the new colors are too bright, the old colors were better... and i'm not sure how i feel about the matching clickwheel icon colors -- looks cheesey. but, the new and improved battery life is excellent. when it comes time for a new ipod, i won't get a mini... not unless they release better colors and drop the matching clickwheel aspect.

Posted by petro on February 26, 2005 at 8:50 AM (PDT)

30

Hey Mainyehc, my friends returned their minis and got the new 6GB, they like it a lot better than their old ones

Posted by evilsquirrel in San Francisco on February 26, 2005 at 9:18 AM (PDT)

31

Apple do everyone a favour, before releasing another product please add more features to an already outstanding product so people feel they are buying more than just a glorified HD-based mp3 player. No, I dont hate apple products, (have been a fan of apple for awhile now) but it seems to me that when it comes towards product features Apple doesnt give much thought.

Posted by ShawnM34 on February 26, 2005 at 9:42 AM (PDT)

32

I am extremely pleased with the new 6 GB model with longer battery life. I did buy the power adapter and I don't need Firewire and don't want to pay for someone I don't need. The mini is marvelous for the gym too.

Posted by dfumento in New York, NY on February 26, 2005 at 5:25 PM (PDT)

33

I was REALLY hoping for new colors. Like maybe jet black, or orange. The more colors, the more likly to sell.

Posted by tumblingwall in u.s. on February 27, 2005 at 7:44 AM (PDT)

34

hi! I just bought a new pink 4GB mini (although i'm not getting it till my birthday) and realized that I have an older Key-lime pie ibook G3... I'm positive she doesn't have a USB 2.0 port and was wondering what I need in order to run my new ipod on my older laptop... I have firewire cables but am not sure the minis are even equipped with firewire ports...

please help me, i'm soooo sad I may have to return my soon-to-be ipod mini!!

Thanks!!

Posted by LilJennaBell on February 27, 2005 at 9:35 PM (PDT)

35

Smorzander writes:
y know what i was just thinking... i didnt see any black fuzzies w/ the headphones... did apple cut them off too?

No, they are still included as shown in at least one photo in the iPod mini 6GB photo gallery:
http://gallery.ipodlounge.com/ipod/thumbnails.php?album=27

Posted by AndyH in Berwyn, PA on February 28, 2005 at 8:06 AM (PDT)

36

I finally broke down and bought down a 4gb silver mini 2nd. gen.

I like to purchase a case right away, something shock resistant and simple design, plain colors.

Are the 1st and 2nd minis the same exact size?

Posted by convi in Nesquehoning on February 28, 2005 at 9:26 AM (PDT)

37

like convi, i just purchased a 2G mini & am anxiously awaiting it's long-anticipated arrival raspberry

great article, thanks raspberry

Posted by nwistheone in United States on February 28, 2005 at 12:01 PM (PDT)

38

yes apple is kidding with this. hahahahah lets all have a hearty laugh. no, this just makes good sense in that most (yes most, look at the breakdown of windows to mac ipodders) folks are going have at least one of those cables sitting in a drawer unused. it sucks for those that have to buy the cable and/or powerpack but is it really that big of a deal? no. btw, my girlfriend loves her 1g mini.

Posted by zonk3r in http://monkeysvsrobots.com/ on February 28, 2005 at 3:32 PM (PDT)

39

does the dock connector for a 3 or 4g ipod fit the mini? If it does could you just use that wall charger to charge the new mini?

Posted by Bucky on February 28, 2005 at 4:49 PM (PDT)

40

It's funny cause the last time I looked at my windows pc it has both a firewire & a usb port on it. What was Apple thinking?

Secondly, it amazes me how the 1st gen mini could barely achieve the epa rating of 8hrs under extreme conditions (basically don't use the majority of functions and don't mess hoping around different songs) yet somehow in a "Back to the Future" scenenario the new 2nd gen mini exceeds the epa rating.

Posted by milk3pod in chicago, il on February 28, 2005 at 9:39 PM (PDT)

Page 2 of 5 pages  <  1 2 3 4 >  Last »

Recent News

Recent Reviews

Recent Articles

Shop for Accessories: Cases, speakers, chargers, etc.