Apple iPod shuffle Armband | iLounge

Reviews

1

dunno... seems like a rip off to me.

Posted by Smorzander on February 27, 2005 at 10:09 PM (PDT)

2

That's because it is.

Posted by Joshdude in Long Beach, CA on February 27, 2005 at 10:21 PM (PDT)

3

Just don't think something so tiny needs an armband, pop it in your pocket, tuck it in your shorts??

Posted by ChrisMouse in Bristol, UK on February 27, 2005 at 11:02 PM (PDT)

4

A great idea but way to over priced, these sell for $48 AUD (Aussie Dollar)!!!

Posted by Andrew Stewart in Newcastle, Australia on February 27, 2005 at 11:37 PM (PDT)

5

RIP-OFF ! The production cost in CHina is below 3 $ - but Mr. Jobs will buy a new villa because of the ipod mob (no, it aint exclusive anymore, its more like vw bora - a common and good car, but nothing special anymore).

Posted by Sergiusz 4G-20GB & Shuffle 512 MB on February 28, 2005 at 12:26 AM (PDT)

6

lol yeah i know, despite the fact that all the iPod prices in Australia just got better, even better than the US price drops (comparitively) they sell for $49!!!!! thats ridiculous, its a piece of plastic, rubber and velcro for god's sake...I suppose this is where the profit margins are now for Apple. For american people, $49 Aus is about $39 US.

Posted by Nuke666 in Melbourne, Austalia on February 28, 2005 at 2:10 AM (PDT)

7

xtrememac just came out with armbands for the shuffle. They look a little bulkier, but probably offer more protection and sell at the same price. May get one, but want to wait until the iPodLounge review.

Posted by ipod21 on February 28, 2005 at 5:49 AM (PDT)

8

I'm getting sick of the "it cost a company this little to make this product and they charge this outrageous mark up for it."

Of course a company is going to mark up a product. If you are not happy with the price, don't buy it. When ever someone makes such ridiculous post about retail price versus production cost, the poster revels how unsophisticated their thinking is.

Posted by chicubipod in chicago on February 28, 2005 at 12:54 PM (PDT)

9

It will be great for my shuffle but I think I will spend the money on a sport case for it or maybe the usb charger, it will work on all my iPods exept my 1st gen. I think I'll get that instead .

Posted by evilsquirrel in San Francisco on February 28, 2005 at 3:12 PM (PDT)

10

can anyone tell me why when I type in first gen with one then S then T it goes "s***"?

Posted by evilsquirrel in San Francisco on February 28, 2005 at 3:19 PM (PDT)

11

good question evilsquirrel, I've noticed that many times before on this site, and have no idea why it does that.

Posted by MATRIXsjd in Burbank, Ca on February 28, 2005 at 7:57 PM (PDT)

12

for chicubipod: the relation of production to selling price the key to get you understanding.
1.shuffle: profit about 40 % - ok !
2. armband: profit 1000 % - ok ?

What if suddenly a bigmac would be 10$ ?
It tells you about how apple thinks about your intelligence - what's next : iWaste ?

Think, just think....

Posted by Sergiusz 4G-20GB & Shuffle 512 MB on February 28, 2005 at 9:49 PM (PDT)

13

A message to all the "haters"

if you can't afford it, don't buy it... Stop moaning about the price of apple's products just because YOU think its too expensive. Apple is a company, with shareholders to please- like many others. "Maybe one day UNICEF will get into the [digital music biz.]" but until then, apple has a business to run.

for those of you that know nothing about business, its all about the bottom line. apple just shaved off 150.00 from their top of the line ipod and rippled that reduction down through to the mini's. they have to make up for that difference somehow. by maintaining a consistent price structure in their accessory line- they can make more margins on low-tech/solid design solutions.

and stop 'hatin' on Jobs because of his wealth, he earned it. the next time you want to diss someone for their accomplishments, ask yourself what YOU'VE done lately. when was the last time YOU rescued an enterprise from certain bankrupcy.

stop the madness and enjoy the ride.

Posted by apple juice in USA on March 1, 2005 at 5:04 AM (PDT)

14

Nicely put apple juice.

For Sergiusz:
1000% profit -ok? Yes! Yes! Yes!

That is an awful $10 Big Mac analogy. LIke I said before, unsophisticated thinking. Apple is a business, why is that hard to understand?

Posted by chicubipod in chicago on March 1, 2005 at 7:30 AM (PDT)

15

Has anyone used this armband? Does it work well with exercising. I read that sweat can easily destroy the ipod shuffle. Are they going to make an armband that can also hold the apple hard case?

Thx

Posted by THEFORCE on March 17, 2005 at 10:06 AM (PDT)

16

I own the shuffle armband, here is quick review...

The Good: Nice design, stylish, does not slip down (while running, lifting weights, jump-roping), and durable.

The Bad (VERY BAD for me): The strap is simply NOT long enough. It barely wraps around my arm. I don't think it was intended for men. They should have two sizes available. Personally, I see this as a design flaw. People of all shapes and sizes can't utilize it.

Last Bad: The shuffle is not protected.

Finally, if you don't like the price there are PLENTY of alternatives (which will be better in my case).

Just my two cents : )

HB

Posted by HBen on March 25, 2005 at 6:50 PM (PDT)

17

Every store I went to was sold out of these things, so I ordered one online from Apple. To my dismay, the armband was entirely too small. I workout and my arms are quite a bit larger than average (but not 20+ inches!); I agree with HBen in that Apple should have realized that the armband was for people who workout and that men's arms will be a lot larger than women's and they should make two different sizes. It's not even that the thing fit too tight; I couldn't even make the end of the strap reach the buckle to loop it through. Even around my forearm it was a snug fit and quite uncomfortable. I guess I'll just have to make do with the default necklace until someone makes an armband big enough for guys who lift.

Posted by jotun on April 7, 2005 at 6:20 AM (PDT)

18

Well, I agree for $30, the armband is a rip-off, but leave it to Apple to charge this amount when they could have engineered the shuffle to have a built-in clip.

As for the size, it fits my puny arm, but maybe Apple caters the shuffle to women. I don't know any guy who owns a shuffle, and their minature cutesy-size and small song capacity seems better fit for women.

Posted by Karen23Schen on April 22, 2005 at 11:38 AM (PDT)

19

well, karen, i'm a guy and i'm about to buy a shuffle. call it my "mid-30 feeling the need to get fit and exercise all the time phase" the shuffle seemed to fill that space. smile i have thin arms so i'm not worried about it fitting to tight, however, will the shuffle really be susceptible to sweat if i'm running? thanks.

Posted by tom_mascaro on April 23, 2005 at 10:25 PM (PDT)

20

I have been running with my shuffle armband since early march. I run nearly 10-15 miles/week outside in Georgia. I tried tucking it in the waist of my shorts, but the edges poked into me. And my none of my running shorts have pockets. So, I got the armband and could not be happier. I haven't had any issues with sweat or failure of the shuffle in any way. I would highly recommend it to someone who is serious about exercising.

Posted by ipodderati on May 26, 2005 at 11:25 AM (PDT)

Page 1 of 2 pages  1 2 >

Recent News

Recent Reviews

Recent Articles

Shop for Accessories: Cases, speakers, chargers, etc.