Apple iPod shuffle Sport Case | iLounge

Reviews

1

Very thoughtful of them to match IPL!

Posted by Nagromme on March 2, 2005 at 10:39 PM (PDT)

2

I suppose it's good that Apple has decided to flex some of its muscle in doing a case right (by iPodlounge's assessment), but to me it still adds unwanted bulk to the littliest iPod. It also begs the question on WHY Apple just didn't design and engineer the Shuffle to be more stouter and scratch resistent to begin with. The apparent water resistance is nice, but with Apple hedging on any declaration of true water protection it reads as more of an accidental side benefit than a conscious and intentional design amenity.

Accessories do seem like the proverbial cash cow for Apple, and though this case sounds like it's a pretty well-design and executed product and of a level of quality worthy of wearing the Apple name, it still seems to me that it's one of those add-ons that detracts and distracts from the primary focus of the iPod, namely in providing a straightforward, elegantly simple and HONEST device for listening to audio content.

Posted by flatline response on March 2, 2005 at 10:58 PM (PDT)

3

I just got the sport case about a week and ahalf ago.

Ditto Jeremy's comments.

It is simply brilliant, and is especially great for runners who want to keep sweat out of the back of the iPod shuffle (I have heard of failures already - due to sweat intrusion through the back switch).

Worked great on a recent 20-mile run. Seemed a little expensive at $29.00, but worth it. Way better than the arm band.

Posted by iGary on March 3, 2005 at 3:49 AM (PDT)

4

flatline has a point-
but i think we have to respect that apple was reaching for a pricepoint. I'm not so sure they could have integrated the durability and water-resistance into the shuffle; AND reached the profit margin required. Marketing research (and personal experience) prove that ipod users on average spend more money on accessories for the ipod, than the ipod itself during the life of their ipod product. It only makes sense for apple to step into that arena in order to makeup for weaker margins elsewhere in the product line. Apple wouldn't want to answer ALL the questions with a $99 product, or the proverbial buck would stop there.

Posted by apple juice in USA on March 3, 2005 at 5:51 AM (PDT)

5

I'm thinking there's no real need to access the power slider on the back, for the most part. Pick shuffle or playthrough before you seal the case, and just leave it on. Pause it and put hold on when you're not using it. Seems simple enough.

Posted by mattwardfh in Texas on March 3, 2005 at 6:19 AM (PDT)

6

WTF I never got the headphone extender with mine!!!!

Posted by johnalex on March 3, 2005 at 9:09 AM (PDT)

7

Would have been nice if this work with the Armband accesory. That would make it the perfect workout companion, without the fear of scratches and sweat getting to the unit.

Posted by WilliamC in Philippines on March 3, 2005 at 10:01 AM (PDT)

8

I got my Sport Case a couple days ago and I'm very happy with it. I was able to shovel snow without fear of my Shuffle coming to grief.

Posted by PageFault2K on March 3, 2005 at 10:30 AM (PDT)

9

Pretty sweet...you guys are getting them? The web site has said 5-7 weeks order time since release. Are they in stores?

Posted by Xenious on March 3, 2005 at 11:32 AM (PDT)

10

They look pretty nice.They look like they will do pretty good job on protecting the ipod shuffle.It could of added an armband with it as well which would of been sweet.Think i might get one.

Posted by Bob333 in Galway,Ireland on March 3, 2005 at 12:28 PM (PDT)

11

Can someone (anyone) help me out? I am wondering if I should order one of these units online, or wait until it comes into my local Apple Store (they have not received a unit yet) ...

Could a few of you post the date when you ordered your unit online, and then the date when it shipped (and/or arrived)? I would very much appreciate it ...

I know this might be a *bit* off-topic, but it is probably the most appropriate forum to ask in ...

Thanks again,

- e

Posted by podEli™ in Detroit, MI on March 3, 2005 at 6:12 PM (PDT)

12

At what price is this a ripoff? I have the 1GB shuffle and find that $29+tax is a ripoff for a piece of rope and plastic no more complicated than a CD jewel case (50 cents).

The King has no clothes.

Posted by surferbum on March 4, 2005 at 7:19 AM (PDT)

13

COMPUSA has them in stock.

Posted by JeffNNJ on March 4, 2005 at 12:54 PM (PDT)

14

surferbum,

As is with most electronic products and accessories, what costs most is the effort to design them. Those designers need to get paid well to come up with new and cool stuff. The material itself doesn't cost much.

You could also go ahead and trim your CD jewel case and put together some rubber band and rope around them. I guess that wouldn't cost more than $5.

Posted by cielo toscano in San Diego, California on March 6, 2005 at 5:23 AM (PDT)

15

I got mine this weekend and i love it. The little extension cord is great, and I like the smallest bit of added weight. Makes it less likely to bounce around when I am moving fast.

Posted by randomthinks in Michigan on March 7, 2005 at 3:14 PM (PDT)

16

i just won a case on ebay...went to the apple store in Minneapolis this morning and they were out. they got six on friday and sold out of them that day. why would they only get six? that seems really rediculous to me. oh well. i CAN'T WAIT to get my case!

Posted by lifeisrandom in Waverly, IA on March 7, 2005 at 6:38 PM (PDT)

17

surferbum,

i'm a product designer... and often times the simplest solutions are most challenging to design. And Apple makes up for lost margin's on other products by keeping a consistent pricepoint with the accessories. The apple name demands a premium as well... One can't forget that either.

Posted by apple juice in USA on March 8, 2005 at 12:57 PM (PDT)

18

They have some of these in today at the apple store in Old Town Pasadena.

Posted by davidejr on March 9, 2005 at 2:29 PM (PDT)

19

As much as the reviewers like this case, I'm on the other side of the fence and hate it. I bought one and returned it immediately. I found that it was bulky, clunky, and detracted from the simple elegance of the shuffle itself. The only benefit I see from the sport case is water-resistance.

And, why, oh why did the designers choose that garish orange color ? I mean the shuffle is enough of a statement without having to paint a big "Steal Me" target on it. At the very least, they could have matched the green used in the iPod packaging and on the shuffle's on/off switch.

For a carrying case, I now use a $5 Case Logic Memory Card case DMC2 ( http://www.casedirect.com/product_detail.asp?UID=2005031113163275&T1=CAS+DMC+2+BLACK&menu;= ) (zippered variant) and Pacific Rim's Gel Shields. All bundled up, both shuffle and earbuds fit neatly in my pocket and I don't even notice they're there.

Posted by Desdinova in Wichita, KS on March 11, 2005 at 9:34 AM (PDT)

20

"surferbum,

i'm a product designer... and often times the simplest solutions are most challenging to design. And Apple makes up for lost margin's on other products by keeping a consistent pricepoint with the accessories. The apple name demands a premium as well... One can't forget that either."

AJ, I'm a product designer too! Que cool.

Apple is making a small profit margin on the shuffle, and they know that it's simple enough so that everyone is going to want to customize theirs. I'm sure the design team conceptualized designs for the shuffle and cases and whatnot in unison.

Posted by minty on March 12, 2005 at 8:30 PM (PDT)

Page 1 of 2 pages  1 2 >

Recent News

Recent Reviews

Recent Articles

Shop for Accessories: Cases, speakers, chargers, etc.