Nyko Stereo Link Cable and FireWire Adaptor | iLounge

Reviews

1

Wow, it's surprising that this would get a B+. This is great for *SHORT* car trips, but why would you want to have to wait a few hours for your ipod to recharge before you can reconnect your audio?

This is a hell of a lot MORE intrusive than a mini stereo connector. If this worked with the dock, I'd give it an A, like this, it should be lucky to get a C. Nothing but RCA's with a clunky, much larger connector.

Posted by Nips on March 11, 2005 at 3:17 AM (PDT)

2

I agree with you on the non-charging issue, and it may me a bit more intrusive than a stereo RCA to mini connector. However, the major advantage this product has over a stereo RCA to mini adapter is that it uses a clean line-out signal to the external amplifier/stereo. The sound quality will be noticeably better and you only have to worry about controlling the volume from one source, your stereo. Although it may not be for everyone, I'm sure there are some users that have been waiting for something exactly like this to come along, especially at the price it's going for.

Posted by mretzak in Indiana, USA on March 11, 2005 at 4:06 AM (PDT)

3

For those of us who use the iPod in the car and who have head units with RCA inputs, this is actualy a better solution than the mini plug as mretzak points out due to the line-out signal quality. I don't have a charging solution right now (other than my Monster iCarCharger), so this is a cheap improvement in sound quality for my otherwise killer system over my current mini solution until something comes out that is an all-in bug free fix that does not require me to buy a BMW.

Posted by runningman on March 11, 2005 at 5:51 AM (PDT)

4

It's not their fault it doesn't work with the dock; it's inherent in the engineering of Apple's dock. The line out is wired sepparately (to the mini jack on the dock) from the dock connector slot on the dock. The signal is no longer there to pick up. If you want to use your dock, buy a mini->RCA adapter, not this.

It's a different product with a different purpose.

Posted by mattwardfh in Texas on March 11, 2005 at 7:18 AM (PDT)

5

Current-generation iPods have stated battery lives in excess of twelve hours, and frequently outperform Apple's estimates. In our view, the dramatic battery issues that once plagued all iPod owners are in the process of subsiding - at least, for new iPod owners - and the utility of non-charging accessories is a bit higher as a consequence.

Posted by Jeremy Horwitz in East Amherst, NY, USA on March 11, 2005 at 8:30 AM (PDT)

6

Ah, these two products are ones I'll consider buying... The only question is will the stereo link cable work with an iSkin case -- I can't use my dock with the case, so I've been looking for a similar solution.

The firewire adapter is reasonable priced $10 accessory -- most FW adapters and cables are amssively overpriced ( the "pocket dock" one for example.)

Posted by George Ross in Ottawa on March 11, 2005 at 10:09 AM (PDT)

7

I guess that I am on a different wavelength than the rest of you (including the reviewer).

I have been waiting for a product like this for quite some time, since I do not feel that paying 30$ for a small piece of plastic (re: pocketdock) is worth it. After all I was tricked into buying another overpriced small piece of plastic (re: itrip mini); but I digress.

As far as this cable not functioning with the Apple dock, I do not fully understand why this is a problem as the dock would not offer any other use other than a stand.

This stereo link cable will be found very usefull for those that would like to connect their iPods to their stereo in a convenient, inexpensive, and high-quality way.

Posted by iStink on March 11, 2005 at 12:26 PM (PDT)

8

I have both the PocketDock and Sik's Din, and I think the latter is the better product. The line-out PocketDock lost the capacity to lock, which the Din has. The PocketDock has a tendency to slip out.

Posted by Questioner in New York on March 11, 2005 at 12:40 PM (PDT)

9

This seems to be the only reasonable alternative for a FW adapter - since Apple discontinued theirs.

Posted by targa88 in Calgary Alberta on March 12, 2005 at 7:24 AM (PDT)

10

My god, you guys are F-ing wimps! It will drain the battery? Thats what you have a charger for, so you can recharge the battery. THey make them for cars you know, they cost less than 10 dollars. Oh no! You can't insert the input with your iSkin on? My goodness, they make them so you're able to take it off. I've taken an iSkin off an iPod before, it isnt anything exceptionally amazing. Quit complaining people.

Posted by reallygoodcake in DC on March 12, 2005 at 1:02 PM (PDT)

11

You go to a party, you want to play music through the stereo, you bring this cable. It obviously doesn't have the same purpose as a dock, charger, and minijack to RCA cable.

Also, it works on any iPod with a dock connector, unlike a dock which must fit specific iPods. If I had a party and didn't already have a minijack to RCA cable, I'd buy this one, because so many of my friends have iPods of various sizes.

Posted by minty on March 12, 2005 at 2:25 PM (PDT)

12

Wow this is just what i was looking for to get a line-out connection without buying a ($40)dock or a ($30)pocketdock. Does anyone know where to get it?

Posted by WarmPabst on March 13, 2005 at 12:34 PM (PDT)

13

i actually really like this...... i currently am using a Sik Din (the pocketdock i had fell out to easily)

but all i ever wanted was a RCA connection and i really detest 1/8" connectors...... the is the perfect way to line out to my amplifier......

maybe i can get this and attach a pair of Vampire Locking RCAs to it

Posted by intlplby on March 15, 2005 at 11:14 PM (PDT)

14

Clean, simple idea..... now one for the shuffle? If you set use for data I heard that you can pull signal from the USB... cleaner, better sound? Sounds like an idea... smile

Posted by hodad66 in Indialantic, Fl on March 17, 2005 at 3:23 AM (PDT)

15

13.99 + free shipping @ macmall.com.....was the cheapest I found

-dm

Posted by DrumMonkey on March 17, 2005 at 6:27 AM (PDT)

16

cool, thanks for the tip.

Posted by WarmPabst on March 19, 2005 at 1:06 PM (PDT)

17

i recently purchased the nyko stereo link cable for my car pioneer headunit. very cool capsule container. the cables were so -so quality. gold tips are nice, but i thought it would be a little more high quality, like monster cables. sound quality was good when i plugged into my car stereo aux port. there was a little buzzing sound when i plugged it in. i probably need to plug in a ground loop isolator. i wish they would come out with a cable like stereo link cable + charger.

Posted by fondoo in NYC on April 7, 2005 at 6:52 AM (PDT)

18

Just purchased the Nyko to work with my new 6 GB Mini and Onkyo receiver. It works just as advertised! Great sound from my Ipod now streams out my receiver!

The only thing I have noticed is that I need to pump the volume up a bit on the receiver but other than that no problems here.

I got it for $9.00 at Ecost.com. Free shipping too since my entire order was over $25.

Posted by gores95 on May 14, 2005 at 7:21 AM (PDT)

19

I have had this cable for quite some time now, and I suggest you do not get it. It gave me good sound quality and I thought it was just what I had been looking for. But turns out it was made very poorly and the plastic on the dock connector end is constantly falling off. After that started happening the wires began to come loose and now I cant get a good sound out of it without clicking and buzzing. Do not buy this.

Posted by refusedxrxdead on December 9, 2005 at 7:02 PM (PDT)

20

I was glad to find this product since I just can't bear to pay Apple's price for a dock for my 5G. Turns out that the left and right RCA jacks are actually labeled incorrectly. I noticed this when listening to a CD I'd ripped to my iPod, and verified by checking the CD on various systems. I'm a musician and recording engineer who uses the iPod to check mixes on different systems, so having L and R consistent is important. It's not a huge deal to have the connectors mis-labeled, but I was wondering if it was a sign of poor QC. I exchanged the StereoLink for a second one, and it had the same problem. Most people probably don't notice and/or care, but for those who do, you're forewarned.

Posted by Bobk88 on March 29, 2006 at 5:31 PM (PDT)

Recent News

Recent Reviews

Recent Articles

Shop for Accessories: Cases, speakers, chargers, etc.