H2O Audio SV-iMini Underwater Housing | iLounge

Reviews

1

I have been Scuba Diving. I had no interest in listening to music what so ever. I dont see why anyone would need this unless someone was worried bout a Tsunami suddenly hitting them or something.

Posted by Goodlovin in chicago on March 18, 2005 at 6:24 PM (PDT)

2

goodlovin, surfing?

Posted by tumblingwall in u.s. on March 18, 2005 at 6:28 PM (PDT)

3

Kayaking?

Posted by minty on March 18, 2005 at 6:52 PM (PDT)

4

Swimming laps?

Wait... Ipods have tsunami warning systems?

Posted by matt928347 in California on March 18, 2005 at 8:09 PM (PDT)

5

those headphones look like they would hurt..

Posted by ipoor on March 18, 2005 at 8:49 PM (PDT)

6

quote from the article:

"Unless (and perhaps even if) you buy optional accessories from H2O Audio, you won't be able to make significant use of it outside of an aquatic environment."

and just why is this? is it because it doesn't come with a case or arm-band? or is there another reason?

Posted by elefant on March 18, 2005 at 11:58 PM (PDT)

7

I agree with the first post. As a scuba diver I find the description of this product as "waterproof" to be just marketing BS. To start with I notice that there is no IPX rating. How can something claim to be waterproof without an IPX rating?
This product along with all supposed "waterproof" cases is just somebodies idea of how they can capitalise on the iPod trend and make money from gullible consumers.

Posted by K1W1 on March 19, 2005 at 12:05 AM (PDT)

8

I think that MOST people that would be interested in this product are NOT planning on going scuba diving. Why would a scuba diver want to wear headphones while diving? There is much more to attend to underwater besides being entertained by music.

In my opinion, most people that are looking for a waterproof/water resistant case will probably take a little more time doing research as to what is best for them and the limitations of the water reistance. For the average consumer who wants to go swimming, surfing, tsunami watching or simply jogging in the rain, this looks like it'd be fine.

The mistake that the company made that could be bad is marking their product as waterproof. They should have just said water resistant to 3m/10ft. Its just like watches, there are no waterPROOF watches, but there are some watches that are water resistant to amazing depths (300m/1000ft). Hopefully the people that do buy this will realize that its not truely waterproof.

Posted by christomapher in chicago on March 19, 2005 at 10:05 AM (PDT)

9

Surfing with your hearing obscured? Get real. You need your senses at your disposal (okay, so maybe you MIGHT be able to do without taste or smell during your boarding session). I know I'd NEVER go windsurfing while planning on using my iPod at the same time.

Posted by flatline response on March 20, 2005 at 5:48 AM (PDT)

10

Thw only real use i can think fo that this product would be useful for is if you were swimming laps. You would also have to be doing this a lot to justify the cost.

Posted by thesire on March 20, 2005 at 6:33 AM (PDT)

11

This has only one purpose, listening to music in the shower.

Posted by Rosco on March 20, 2005 at 12:14 PM (PDT)

12

if the clickwheel is heat sensitive, how do the hardware buttons work?

Posted by iPod Dance in VA on March 20, 2005 at 1:34 PM (PDT)

13

i think the click wheel is electrostatic, not heat sensitive.

Posted by apple juice in USA on March 21, 2005 at 5:10 AM (PDT)

14

Hello
Has there been a release of any waterproof Shuffle-specific enclosures? I would like one for lapswimming. An iRiver model *may* work, but a Shuffle-specific would be ideal.
Thanks!

Posted by Consumer on March 23, 2005 at 5:23 AM (PDT)

15

So... what is the volume adjustment technique? More info would be appreciated.

Posted by Asher in Oakland, CA on March 27, 2005 at 8:42 PM (PDT)

16

As a serious swimmer, I would be disrupted and aggravated to have a case or clip on my suit . . . not to mention the headphones and wires when you do flip turns. The only purpose I see for this product is for kayaking or rowing.

Posted by caitlyn on April 1, 2005 at 6:57 AM (PDT)

17

First of all surfing and music definetely correspond and unless you plan on charging pipe on a double overhead day I dont think you need all 5 senses, or maybe YOU do. And for you scuba divers H20audio offers a seperate package different from the one above designed for scuba diving and will withstand much greater depths. Besides what can be better then cruising a reef at 80 ft and listening to Beetovens 5th with a slight euphoria due to your oncoming narcosis.

Posted by naharris in Miami on April 4, 2005 at 12:47 PM (PDT)

18

I listen to music while taking long trips on my motorcycle. My last music player was almost ruined because I got caught in a drenching rain storm. Having a waterproof case for my iPod seems like a great idea.

Posted by ColdFusion on April 29, 2005 at 8:43 AM (PDT)

19

Kayaking? Has anyone tried this with that? But that price... it's too much, and in US dollars as well.

Posted by gemrica on May 1, 2005 at 4:52 AM (PDT)

20

My wife just got her's Monday and so far she adores it. She is a strong lap swimmer (flip turns and all) and has had no issue with the cable getting in the way or anything. She got an armband but so far has found simply suffing the ipod down her swimsuit to be the better alternative. I tried it breifly and am really impressed with how slick the whole package is. I can't wait for the next time I do laps!

Posted by p3dab5 on May 18, 2005 at 2:36 PM (PDT)

Page 1 of 2 pages  1 2 >

Recent News

Recent Reviews

Recent Articles

Shop for Accessories: Cases, speakers, chargers, etc.