iStore iPod2Car Line-Quality Car Integration Kit | iLounge

Reviews

21

It was mentioned that you cannot use playlists through the car stereo interface. Likewise, there is no text display. However, someone did say that you can still see the iPod's own display. Does this mean that I can change tracks and playlists etc. using the iPod interface when it's hooked up to iPod2CarLine??. If so, then I can't really see a downside (still use iPod interface as with iTrip, but with better sound quality).

Posted by RedDragon on March 29, 2005 at 2:46 AM (PDT)

22

Like DigitalKim above, I too have an Aux-In Jack in my head unit. I have the original 97 Montero Sport with a Pioneer head unit. This one had the flip down for the cassette (never used) and the aux-in jack right up front. I had an extra male-male mini stereo plug from one of my PC components, it's black and almost totally invisible. Granted it will never get the sound straight from the dock connector, but look we're talking MP3s here guys and gals! Now if someone were to make a dock to mini male connector...

Posted by JustReboot in NJ, USA on March 30, 2005 at 4:52 AM (PDT)

23

Nevermind, I found the cable, it's the SendStation PocketDock Combo. Reviewed on this site under adapters/cables (duh). I might just pick this up and compare the sound...

Posted by JustReboot in NJ, USA on March 30, 2005 at 5:41 AM (PDT)

24

I’ve had a completely different experience than bestat.

I installed it in my 2004 Pacifica, took me about a half-hour.

When I turn the car off, the Ipod pauses and then turns off and goes into charge.

My steering wheel controls work for next track and my radio displays the correct track number. Although it has taken up the auxiliary CD changer connection, my single in-dash CD player continues to function.

Sound is fantastic and I think it is a great product!

Posted by zrvl on April 1, 2005 at 4:48 AM (PDT)

25

Does anyone know if this works with the 2005 Mazda 3? These cars are quite fickle. I ordered a similar item from dension and it was back ordered for two months! I finally got an email today saying they discontinued the ice link for mazdas. This looks like a good alternative. Thanks for your help!

Posted by kilik75 on April 1, 2005 at 6:57 AM (PDT)

26

Are there any similar product that can display text on the headunit?
Can IPOD BMW / ALpine do it?
Also, which one display UNICODE multilingual? I wanna display chinese/japanese/korean.

Posted by uccoffee in 8Mile Plains-Brisbane-Australia on April 3, 2005 at 11:13 PM (PDT)

27

I will be replacing my Truck this year, but I am hoping for a iPod slider dock, where you can simply slide the iPod into a cartridge based slot (like a cassette) which would connect to the dock connector. The track# /controls would show on the head unit. Now THAT would sell!!!
If not, I'll get a unit which works with the steering/ headunit and make my own 'dock.'

Posted by JustReboot in NJ, USA on April 4, 2005 at 5:46 AM (PDT)

28

If you want to use your Ipod2Car in a new car that uses a different cable, can you buy the new cable separately ?

Posted by alan007 on April 5, 2005 at 4:36 PM (PDT)

29

Will this work with the upgraded BOSE system that comes with the 05 Mazda SP23?

Posted by jazmaan in Santa Monica, CA on April 6, 2005 at 2:21 PM (PDT)

30

I have a 1999 Acura TL with the Bose factory stereo still in it. I want a hardwire solution for my 60Gb iPod Photo. I have read about the Neo iOn, the iPod2car, and the Dension ICELink. All seem to be in the $150 to $200 range. Can someone give me a good comparison of the three (or more) solutions? Which is the best? What sounds the best? Which is the most reliable? Which is the most user-friendly with the connection, as well as the stereo controls? Much appreciated...

Posted by bizzeck on May 17, 2005 at 2:58 PM (PDT)

31

I have a 40Gb 4G and a new Buick LaCrosse. I'd like to buy a gadget to play the pod thru the car stereo but run into a problem on two fronts. First, the car is a 2005 and too new to be included in any of the gadgets. Second (and more importantly) the OEM radio has AM/FM/CD and XM radio. Evidently, you can't use any of the existing products with a radio that has both a CD player and XM. If I had my pod hooked up, I wouldn't even need a CD player (I have all 2200+ songs on the pod), so I don't care if a solution means giving up the CD player. Any ideas on how I can do this? Any mailing list I can be on to get a message when/if this situation ever changes? Thanx.

Posted by JimRR in Bettendorf, IA on July 4, 2005 at 8:30 AM (PDT)

32

I just bought one from mp3yourcar.com for my 2005 Chevy Silverado.

Pros:
Easy install with telephone assistance.
Sounds great. This is its main advantage over fm transmitters.
Allows ipod interface to still function. This is very important as I tried the Pioneer and it would take 10 minutes to locate a specific song on the ipod.
Allows the functions on my steering wheel and factory radio to control ipod.
Great for the shuffle mode. You vcan advance all day long.

Cons:
No onscreen info. Just simply f-1, T - 1 type info.
You can't locate a specific track. This is the reason that allowing the ipod interface to still work is vital. The Pioneer for instance renders the ipod unusable. So if I want to listen to a specific album I dial it in with my ipod and then I can advance to a different song via the steering wheel or radio controls.

Wish list:
An aftermarket radio that simply allows you to plug in your ipod in the glove box and then allows you to "easily" navigate through artists, albums, songs ect. with an on screen search.

Posted by Boyd Trimble on September 2, 2005 at 12:50 PM (PDT)

33

My friend has this system (Peripheral) installed on his 2003 Acura EL 1.7 (Canada-only Civic SI equiv.)

He is very happy with it - you can use the factory suppl. head unit to skip/rew songs, AND use the ipod itself to change to a different artist/playlist/album, etc. It cost him $CDN 225 incl. install at Bestbuy.

I have an Alpine HU (9833) with the KCA-420i ipod adapter. I like the fact that songs are displayed on HU, but using the HU scrol wheel is very slow to find a song, playlist, etc. I almost wish I could use the ipod itself to search these items. I bought this system as my HU was stolen in early 2005 and this solution was all that they had at the time.

Posted by Chimpira on February 6, 2006 at 12:41 PM (PDT)

Page 2 of 2 pages  <  1 2

Recent News

Recent Reviews

Recent Articles

Shop for Accessories: Cases, speakers, chargers, etc.