Apple iPod Camera Connector | iLounge

Reviews

1

jeremy,

will the media reader import photos and view them now without syncronization?

Posted by John Tylko, III in Lincoln, MA on March 31, 2005 at 5:25 PM (PDT)

2

cuz i have one of those already, and i dont want to buy a camera connector

Posted by John Tylko, III in Lincoln, MA on March 31, 2005 at 5:25 PM (PDT)

3

You should put your numbers as MB/s not s/MB.

Posted by Taphil on March 31, 2005 at 5:30 PM (PDT)

4

I love it! thats just what i need, i take alot of pictures and sometimes when im out and i cant take my laptop with me to make more space on my camrea, this would be great!

Posted by Dawn Marie in New York City on March 31, 2005 at 6:26 PM (PDT)

5

Totally disappointed!
It seems those who have the 4th Gen Ipods have missed out. Not only does the Camera Link not work but now we've been passed over on the new connector.

This only leaves the Media Reader, but those with XD cards are totally left in the lurch.

Posted by Melb06 in Australia on March 31, 2005 at 7:31 PM (PDT)

6

About the Battery drain - How much power was left after the 42 minutes of transfer from the 880 (assuming it was from a fully charged battery)? Half? 3/4? Do you know how many hours of music you could still play back after the transfer?

Posted by JaredX on March 31, 2005 at 8:28 PM (PDT)

7

does the connector also work with camera's having only USB 1.1 connection?? Or does it have to have USB 2.0??

Posted by Steven Roebert on April 1, 2005 at 12:50 AM (PDT)

8

I have a Canon IXUS 400 and was confused with the Apple page, why did Canon bother having different names everywhere?

Posted by Daveoc64 in UK on April 1, 2005 at 1:29 AM (PDT)

9

You should have tested it by hooking the devise directly up to a USB 2.0 media card reader. That's the only way I could get near acceptable transfer times from the Belkin Digital Camera.

Thanks for your review though since I was hoping that this was going to be the iPod digital photo breakthrough and had not yet ordered my Epson P2000 as I'd much rather have spend my $ on a new iPod for my trip to Turkey next week.

Suffice it to say I've ordered the P2000 this morning. Come on Apple!

Posted by bcmiami on April 1, 2005 at 2:19 AM (PDT)

10

Thank goodness I got rid of all my unreliable USB card readers and bought the fast Sandisk Firewire card reader. This smells a lot like junk to me, $29. worth of it. Don't know what the prices are like now as I have only 512MB and 1 GB cards but I'd think you could buy an extra decent sized flash or media card for 29 bucks and be a LOT happier.

Posted by glockster in U.S. on April 1, 2005 at 5:17 AM (PDT)

11


I just hope the iPod and this device is reliable enough to transfer and store all my photos from a planned 6.5 week trip to the US and Europe.

I would hate to lose a whole trip's worth of photos.

Fingers crossed.

Posted by Cyberwhore in Perth on April 1, 2005 at 5:18 AM (PDT)

12

Media Reader: photos are viewable--same as Apple's offering.
Digital Camera Link: Photos are not viewable.

Posted by Gordy. in Atlanta, GA on April 1, 2005 at 5:48 AM (PDT)

13

Come on guys, how can this inferior product possibly be given a B+? Have you lost your objectivity? A "C" would have been very generous. It only works with one model of iPod, has slow transfer speeds, eats batteries, and only works with a limited range of cameras. The old adage is true, you get what you pay for. And in this case you don't pay much, and thats what you get - not much.

Posted by Graybeard in Castle Rock, Colorado on April 1, 2005 at 6:41 AM (PDT)

14

A few answers: John clarified in e-mail that he was referring to the Digital Camera Link, not the Media Reader. The DCL wouldn't make any connection with the iPod photo for transferring.

Taphil: Seconds per megabyte lets people easily do the math on cards that they own.

Glockster: You can't get anything close to this in terms of storage space for $29.

Graybeard: It works with the model of iPod it was most needed for, does more than earlier readers in that it can display photos on the iPod's screen automatically, works with plenty of cameras, and is cheap. If you have an iPod photo and want to store and view your photos on the road, you can do so at under half the price and with more capability than any earlier iPod. A B+ is fair.

Posted by Jeremy Horwitz in East Amherst, NY, USA on April 1, 2005 at 7:13 AM (PDT)

15

Apple Stores will NOT charge restocking fee for this camera connector. Restocking fee only applies to higher-priced items starting with iPods. Accessories have a regular 14-day return policy WITHOUT restocking fee. Jeremy, please update this info.

Posted by KAPACiK on April 1, 2005 at 7:18 AM (PDT)

16

the belkin media reader works well and the pictures are viewable on the ipod right away but not as a slideshow on a tv.

Posted by jrlovo on April 1, 2005 at 7:28 AM (PDT)

17

i have been using like this way since the last ipod update came out about 10 days ago

Posted by jrlovo on April 1, 2005 at 7:29 AM (PDT)

18

We called the Apple Store to confirm this morning: they have changed the policy on accessory returns since last we checked, and will not assess a restocking fee. We're making that edit to the review. Thanks to those who pointed out the new policy.

Posted by Jeremy Horwitz in East Amherst, NY, USA on April 1, 2005 at 9:39 AM (PDT)

19

I didn't see any mention of this, but does it support the 40 GB iPod Photo.

Posted by BMaz on April 1, 2005 at 9:42 AM (PDT)

20

The iPod photo scales down the size and quality of the imported images to fit the iPod photo's screen right? Does that mean that you are left with lower quality images or do they re-adjust when you sync with your computer?

Posted by louispavlo in Southampton, UK on April 1, 2005 at 12:13 PM (PDT)

Page 1 of 5 pages  1 2 3 >  Last »

Recent News

Recent Reviews

Recent Articles

Shop for Accessories: Cases, speakers, chargers, etc.