Apple iPod Camera Connector | iLounge

Reviews

16

the belkin media reader works well and the pictures are viewable on the ipod right away but not as a slideshow on a tv.

Posted by jrlovo on April 1, 2005 at 7:28 AM (PDT)

17

i have been using like this way since the last ipod update came out about 10 days ago

Posted by jrlovo on April 1, 2005 at 7:29 AM (PDT)

18

We called the Apple Store to confirm this morning: they have changed the policy on accessory returns since last we checked, and will not assess a restocking fee. We're making that edit to the review. Thanks to those who pointed out the new policy.

Posted by Jeremy Horwitz in East Amherst, NY, USA on April 1, 2005 at 9:39 AM (PDT)

19

I didn't see any mention of this, but does it support the 40 GB iPod Photo.

Posted by BMaz on April 1, 2005 at 9:42 AM (PDT)

20

The iPod photo scales down the size and quality of the imported images to fit the iPod photo's screen right? Does that mean that you are left with lower quality images or do they re-adjust when you sync with your computer?

Posted by louispavlo in Southampton, UK on April 1, 2005 at 12:13 PM (PDT)

21

BMaz: yes, it supports the 40GB iPod Photo. it works for mine.

Posted by m23wong on April 1, 2005 at 12:37 PM (PDT)

22

I guess it's all relative. If you don't care much for what such a device *should* be able to do given current state of technology OR feel it's good enough for the $30 price tag, then the B+ grade might be fair enough.

Personally, it seems to me that this entire photo gimmick that Apple dished out from the beginning is pretty lame and deserve a C grade overall at best. The very poorly executed design/implementation of the overall photo feature PLUS the closed nature of Apple's philosophy (not making it easy for 3rd party development of better solutions) is what leads one to be willing to accept such mediocre performance for a B+ grade. It's slightly better than the tired *old* alternative Belkin solutions, so it gets a slightly better grade than they did. Nevermind that digital photography technologies have made huge advances in the last few years.

Grades like this certainly won't encourage Apple to do better nor help inform people that Apple *should* do better.

Posted by LightOfTheWorld in New York City on April 1, 2005 at 12:54 PM (PDT)

23

I bought a 30GB iPod Photo a week ago to use mainly for music but also in anticipation of this device so I could download photos to free up my CF cards if necessary. It sounds as if it will do the job, except for one issue I have been having with my iPod.

I run Windows XP and on two occasions I have used the iPods mass storage feature. Copying files on and off the iPod is fast and works well. However, as soon as I have accessed the mass storage device I am totally unable to eject the iPod. Clearly some piece of software is holding the device open and I can't even shut the machine down. It logs off and goes right down to the plain blue screen with just a mouse pointer visible, that immediately precedes shut down, but then it hangs there. The iPod still indicates that it should not be disconnected but I have to unplug the USB cable to get control of the iPod and physically reboot the computer to regain control of it. If I can't resolve this then using the iPod to transfer photos will prove to be very tedious.

Posted by Steve Crane in South Africa on April 1, 2005 at 1:23 PM (PDT)

24

Try the "restore" in the iPod software update. That should help. make sure you back up.

Posted by louispavlo in Southampton, UK on April 1, 2005 at 2:09 PM (PDT)

25

BMaz: It works with all iPod photos - 30/40/60.

Louis: Full-sized versions of pictures are stored in the iPod's folders.

Light: Our B grades indicate "not right for everyone," recommendable to specific audiences. The cheap price and better-than-DCL utility of the Camera Connector scored it a B+ - the same grade as the Media Reader Belkin released in 2003. In other words, it's overall about equally as good overall as that device, and unfortunately, there is no A-caliber photo product yet for any iPod.

We don't have to give something a C in order for the message to be clear that it's not as good as it could have been. We stated as much in as many words at the end of the article.

Posted by Jeremy Horwitz in East Amherst, NY, USA on April 1, 2005 at 2:17 PM (PDT)

26

The iPod Photo is meant for SHOWING photos just like it's for PLAYING music. Anything else--like this adapter--is gravy.

Posted by Nagromme on April 1, 2005 at 9:27 PM (PDT)

27

I have just uploaded the latest software update to my 40 G ipod and there is now a "photo import" on the main menu that I am sure wasn't there before. Could this mean that it would work with the camera connector ? - had the older ipods you tested recieved the most recent software update prior to testing?

Posted by jim13 on April 1, 2005 at 10:44 PM (PDT)

28

Disappointing.

Most photographers will not require the ability to view the photos on the iPod as they can be viewed on the camera anyway.

Therefore there should have been an option to disable the conversion of files during transfer, to speed up transfers and therefore save battery life.

Was a test done between USB 1 and USB 2 card readers? Looking at the results so far I seriously DOUBT this thing supports USB 2.

It's better for most people to just use multiple memory cards.

I'm gutted.

Posted by charlie12 on April 2, 2005 at 7:04 AM (PDT)

29

This review is missing some info -

Is the IOGear Universal Memory Bank USB 1 or 2? What about the cameras tested?

What speed memory cards were used?

These factors obviously have a great influence on transfer speed.

Posted by charlie12 on April 2, 2005 at 7:09 AM (PDT)

30


Could Someone Please Tell Me How...

Once you've transferred your pics to your iPod - you then get them into iPhoto?

When you sync your iPod to your Mac is it recognised by iPhoto in the same way camera's / cards are now?...

Posted by Parb on April 2, 2005 at 7:12 AM (PDT)

31

Jeremy,

I think you should perform more tests with high speed memory cards, a selection of USB 2.0 card readers and USB 2.0 cameras.

How can you conclude that this thing has slow transfer speeds when you haven't really tested it properly?

Posted by charlie12 on April 2, 2005 at 7:14 AM (PDT)

32

This makes me want a iPod photo.

Anyone want to buy my 40gb 4G? :D

Posted by bigmouse64 in Newcastle, UK on April 2, 2005 at 11:12 AM (PDT)

33

thanks for the review. for $30 USD or $50 AUD, i can live with slow data transfer. It is just an adaptor that does a much needed thing for people with an iPod photo and a USB camera.

most photographers are out on the road in a car, so just buy a griffin power pod to avoid low battery issues. yay, i'm definately not complaining.

dirtymouse

now, if my camera charged via USB, i'd be really happy.

Posted by dirtymouse in sydney on April 2, 2005 at 3:43 PM (PDT)

34

Charlie12,

The review's figures sound about right from other user reports I've seen on dpreview.com. The fastest transfer speeds I've seen come out to ~400KB/s using a Nikon D2H (full USB 2.0) and fast cards. Most report somewhere between 200-400KB/s as shown in the review.

Unfortunately, my Nikon D70 has USB 2.0 w/ only the lower 1.1 speed -- yep, apparently, USB 2.0 spec does not require fulll USB 2.0 speed. :-( So if Jeremy's review is correct, I can probably expect very slow transfer rates. I'm looking forward to 1-to-2-hour transfer times for the 512MB-1GB that I would probably want to transfer each time -- that's assuming the battery on either iPod or camera doesn't die first. hmmm

I agree that Apple should've given the option to turn off the file conversion needed for showing pics on the iPod itself. But not sure it really helps that much because a couple of D2H users were only transfering RAW files and still only got ~400KB/s speed.

I think if I use this thing, I will have to get a fast compatible card reader for it.

The Epson P2000 keeps looking better everyday now. The only downside to me is the Epson doesn't support a lossless audio format. :-( I'm not convinced yet that MP3 is good enough for classical music.

Posted by LightOfTheWorld in New York City on April 2, 2005 at 5:28 PM (PDT)

35

Actually, there probably isn't any compatible card reader worth lugging along for this since it'll need to be a powered reader. At that point, might as well just buy the Belkin solution instead.

Posted by LightOfTheWorld in New York City on April 2, 2005 at 5:32 PM (PDT)

Page 1 of 5 pages  1 2 3 >  Last »

Recent News

Recent Reviews

Recent Articles

Shop for Accessories: Cases, speakers, chargers, etc.