Apple iPod Camera Connector | iLounge

Reviews

41

Has anybody tried this with a genuine USB 2.0 camera like a Canon 20D and can tell me what the speed is like?

Posted by togo on April 4, 2005 at 6:17 AM (PDT)

42

Charlie: Thanks for your comment - "I think you should perform more tests with high speed memory cards, a selection of USB 2.0 card readers and USB 2.0 cameras.

How can you conclude that this thing has slow transfer speeds when you haven't really tested it properly?"

Seriously, how can you conclude that we "haven't really tested it properly" without making some assumptions (incorrect ones, as it turns out) about our testing methodology?

We could get into the nitty gritty of every single component we've used. We could choke our average reader to death with the details. Or we could just provide the details we felt were relevant to most of our readers.

We tested using a variety of different memory cards, ranging from unrated to 8x to 80X Pro speeds. And as noted in the review, we tested with three different cameras, ranging in spec from the very new prosumer Coolpix 8800 to the older, lower-end Powershot and the higher-end DSLR 10D - a wider swath of cameras than anyone else has tested for review with the Camera Connector.

And both of the media readers we tested were USB 2.0 readers. (Incidentally, neither was externally powered, and the IOGear one worked.) Apple's own site doesn't even show compatible media readers as of this posting.

We aim for comprehensiveness and accuracy, but that said, no reviewer in their right mind would sit down with 80 different cameras and 30 different media card readers to write the review. If your expectations of a product review are truly of that nature, my advice would be for you to skip the Camera Connector, because there is no way in the world it could possibly satisfy whatever expectations you may have for that.

Posted by Jeremy Horwitz in East Amherst, NY, USA on April 4, 2005 at 8:00 AM (PDT)

43

Jeremy,
I disagree with your assessment of reviewing technique. The "choking" you're talking about could be taken care of with a simple chart showing the camera/reader details on one axis and memory card info on the other axis with speed and memory drain for the iPod where they cross. People could quickly interpret the results or disregard the chart all together.
I now have the camera connector, and using a PNY USB 1 card reader, I obtained faster speeds than you're listing using an Extreme Sandisk 512 MB card. I can empty the card in 30 minutes while using a little over half of the iPods battery.
Every review has been sorely lacking in detail. Apple has been criticized, and rightly so, for their lack of thoroughness in their compatibiltiy list. They must have conducted tests, so they should show all the tests and a "Yes" or "No" to show whether the device was compatible or not. That or they should have a complete list of everything that IS compatible. In this case, people like me may have to go to a forum to supply the detail that people are looking for.

Posted by howyroark on April 4, 2005 at 8:26 AM (PDT)

44

Howyroak,

Thanks for the info. And I agree w/ you about the "choking" thing as well.

Hmmm... Then there's some hope for me if an unpowered USB 1.0 card reader can do that. It certainly borders the threshold of useability for me, but at least that sounds ok enough for the occasional times on vacation.

Parb,

I wouldn't go so far as to say pro photogs won't want to use a music playing PSD for storing their work.

There are plenty of working photogs who seem to be using some sort of PSDs anyway, so it's not so far fetched to want one that also plays music. And not every pro photog will have the same preferences and requirements either. But to suggest that one shouldn't want something that should be easily doable is a bit of backwards thinking, no?

For instance, Epson's P2000 might hold some appeal to some working photogs as it allows viewing of the embedded JPEG in RAW files and offers an awesome LCD display for this. And there's also the GigaVu Pro device (running Linux underneath) that even displays RAW files w/ its own RAW converter, not just showing embedded JPEGs, w/ histogram, etc. And yes, despite the fact that they are infinitely better photo storage/display devices than the iPod Photo, they also play MP3's *and* MPEG4 video, etc.

Now, I'm not saying the iPod Photo should have to be just as good as those alternatives to be useful to most photogs, but come on, Apple should at least give us modest transfer speeds that should be very doable.

IMHO, it actually seems quite probable that Apple is intentionally placing a serious limit on transfer speeds to help minimize piracy. It certainly does not seem to have much to do w/ any true technical limitations.

Posted by LightOfTheWorld in New York City on April 4, 2005 at 9:48 AM (PDT)

45

WELL FINNALLY U DONT NEED UR DAMN COMPUTER TO UPLOAD PICTURES TO UR IPOD PHOTO

Posted by EQUINOX341095 in miami on April 4, 2005 at 10:49 AM (PDT)

46

Light,
I have 2GB worth of memory for my 10D. 4X256MB and 2X512MB. I have entertained the notion of buying a 1GB card, but having that many pictures on one card makes me uncomfortable. That means if I were to use 1GB in one day, I could offload 512MB when I get back to the hotel, charge the iPod up while I'm having dinner or drinks, and empty the other 512MB before bed. I probably wouldn't do a Gig a day, but it's nice to know I can. The iPod would stay hidden in the hotel room (preferably in a locked suitcase) where it would be relatively safe...safer than me out and about with an expensive camera full of precious memories.

Posted by howyroark on April 4, 2005 at 3:07 PM (PDT)

47

Howyroark: Feel free to put a chart together with all the test scores you gather from forum postings and we'll be glad to add it to the review. Just make sure that your numbers are accurate. We're not looking to spend the rest of our lives working on this review, but we're glad to help you get more information out there.

Posted by Jeremy Horwitz in East Amherst, NY, USA on April 4, 2005 at 4:36 PM (PDT)

48

Just a thought, has anyone tryed connecting two ipods up? to see if it'll rip the data of the other.

Posted by Jpod-Josh in Australia on April 4, 2005 at 8:51 PM (PDT)

49

Jeremy,
Okay, why don't you be the first contributor (or second, if you count me). I'll use an Extreme card, Ultra, and Ultra II because that's all I've got.
Josh, they've already said that won't work. And why in the heck would you want to do that even if you could?

Posted by howyroark on April 5, 2005 at 4:06 AM (PDT)

50

howyroark

Well if someone has somthing on there ipod you want, like music or video files or whatever.

Posted by Jpod-Josh in Australia on April 5, 2005 at 4:35 AM (PDT)

51

I've been calling my local apple store EVERYDAY since the release of the CC to find out when it would be "in store." Last week, I was told "this week". This week I'm told "no idea when..."

So, I finally just ordered one from apple.com - "7-10 days to ship"? DAMN! what gives? Come on apple!!!

Posted by delikid in Raleigh, NC on April 5, 2005 at 5:59 AM (PDT)

52

Does this mean I can still view the photos on a slideshow? I could care less about the 'transitions' if I could go from camera, to iPod, to TV!

Jeremy Horwitz wrote: "This means that you can't bring your photos directly in from your camera and connect up to your TV for a presentation: they're only available for iPod viewing, without transition effects."

Posted by delikid in Raleigh, NC on April 5, 2005 at 6:09 AM (PDT)

53

o.k what happens when you hook up your ipod to your computer after you have downloaded your photos to your ipod from your camera? does your ipod transfer the photo's to iphoto or are the photo's deleted cause they are not in iphoto? I was under the impression that the ipod photo synched with your computer automatically when connected and deleted ar added images and songs that were ON YOUR COMPUTER...am I wrong?

Posted by vangrl on April 5, 2005 at 8:00 AM (PDT)

54

I am thankful that Apple, although they charge for the adapter, has it available. It is a start and the additional usage of the iPod Photo is a plus.

Posted by FahrenheiPod 451 on April 5, 2005 at 5:27 PM (PDT)

55

Has anyone got a list of what usb readers do work, as Apple doesn't yet have a list. Or maybe a part number of the one that you guys used that worked?

Posted by Hamner on April 5, 2005 at 9:13 PM (PDT)

56

For owners of the latest Photo IPods don't forget to update your software to version 1.1 first otherwise you IPod won't recognize the camera connector!

Posted by VANBCMAN in Vancouver on April 6, 2005 at 5:39 AM (PDT)

57

Just got my camera connector in the post today from apple uk. Only 2 days, not bad. At present I only hire digital cameras so I went to local Jessops, in this Hedge End branch. We worked are way through card readers and found the Belkin usb-2 media reader worked. Model F5U240. This one is for compact flash 1 and 2 and microdrive but they do models for other cards. Now here is the suprise. A normal jessops own brand normal speed flash card took between 1-2 seconds to download a 3.1mb jpeg! Hope this info helps people.

Posted by ipodstu on April 6, 2005 at 9:12 AM (PDT)

58

I just got my connector yesterday. So far, I am very pleased with it. I have not had a chance to do any extensive testing. I have a Pentax S4i so each image at full resolution is around 4 mb. I tranferred over 10 pictures and two 30 second video clips from my camera and it took about 3 minutes. I would guess it will take about 20 minutes to copy a 256 mb card. I think this will be handy for vacations to free up my memory card.

Because the connector is fairly wide, I think most cases have to be taken off before transferring photos.

Posted by JohnnyRoaster in Boston, MA on April 6, 2005 at 11:07 AM (PDT)

59

Has anybody had succses with the camera connector using a usb media card reader?

Posted by Eli Stoughton on April 6, 2005 at 8:51 PM (PDT)

60

Has anyone had succes using the camera connector with a usb media card reader?

Posted by Eli Stoughton on April 6, 2005 at 8:52 PM (PDT)

Page 3 of 5 pages  <  1 2 3 4 5 >

Recent News

Recent Reviews

Recent Articles

Shop for Accessories: Cases, speakers, chargers, etc.