Apple iPod Camera Connector | iLounge

Reviews

76

I have two questions:
1. Does somebody know if the Camera Connector is compatible with a 4G iPod 20 GB? When I installed the latest iPod Updater, a 'photo import' item has been added to the menu. You can toggle this menu item on or off in the main menu by going to 'settings>main menu>photo import'.
2. Can you import RAW photo's as well?

Posted by Poekie on May 3, 2005 at 5:45 AM (PDT)

77

Has anyone tested it on a Nikon 5200? I have one but it doesn't seem to work with my iPod photo, disappointed!

I plugged in the photo connector, connected my camera, turned it on, selected Photo Import, but nothing happened except for a blank screen. Am I not doing something right? Would appreciate it if someone can shed light on this, thanks!

Posted by roqchic on May 3, 2005 at 6:29 PM (PDT)

78

can anyone tell me how they got their 10D & iPod photo to talk?

my 10D has v2.0.1 of firmware & Normal or PTP communication
brand new ipod photo 60Gb & a camera connector
but when I go to photo import the ipod just sits there blankly!

how did you guys get it to start downloading?

Posted by TiggerTiger on May 5, 2005 at 3:04 AM (PDT)

79

TiggerTiger, that's exactly the problem I'm facing with my Nikon5200. It's just a blank screen when Photo Import is selected. Still have no luck resolving...

Posted by roqchic on May 5, 2005 at 7:25 PM (PDT)

80

TiggerTiger and Roqchic,

Have you tried updating the firmware already? As I understand it, you need a firmware update for the connector to work -- IIRC, it was mentioned in the review (and in some posts here). Figures, right? grin

Posted by LightOfTheWorld in New York City on May 5, 2005 at 8:19 PM (PDT)

81

Works with Canon PowerShot G2.

Posted by sanbarry on May 10, 2005 at 1:53 PM (PDT)

82

Today I tested my new iPod Camera connector and got better results than the tests done here. I assume this is because of the different camera I used.

Results:
* 15 MB per minute transfer
* iPod battery drained from full to 2/3 during transfer, and down to 1/2 after also scanning thumbnails to confirm transfer, but rebounded to 80% as soon as the connector was detached.
* camera battery reported full before the transfer (123 shots had already been taken with it), and still reported full afterwards.

Photos transferred:
* 123 photos taking up 211 MB
* The transfer took 14 minutes

Equipment:
* iPod Photo, 60 GB
* Canon G6 camera (this camera has v. good battery life, as witness these results)
* SanDisk 1GB CF card (_not_ a high-speed card)
* Apple Camera Connector

I am very pleased as this is much better than I had expected from this and other reviews. Dedicated devices like the Epson P2000 can do better, but I already had the iPhoto, so this saves me $470. I never take more than 600 MB of photos during the day, so I can just do a transfer at the hotel in the evening.

My Lexar Multi-card reader was not compatible.

Posted by GadgetFan on May 24, 2005 at 4:03 PM (PDT)

83

GadgetFan,

I guess it all depends on how you expect to use it.

To me, it makes more sense to spend that $30 toward a dedicated storage device -- not the expensive Epson P2000 unless you're also satisfied w/ using that for music (and video) instead of an iPod w/ color screen. You can easily buy such devices for <=$80 and put in whatever laptop HDD yourself. Of course, that does mean lugging an extra item w/ you just for this. OR if you really don't shoot that much, why not just buy some more CF cards w/ the $30 instead?

Anyway, normally, I'd think one might not have quite enough battery power by the end of a long day to transfer a significant amount of photos to the iPod w/out having to do some recharging, but maybe that's just me.

But yeah, if you're only gonna be tied up for 15min and have enough power to do the transfers, then that's not too bad for very occasional use on vacations, etc. Still, it's pretty clear though that you're probably not making full use of your G6 if the photo files are only averaging ~1.7MB each. If you shoot in RAW mode, I'd expect that to jump way up to ~7MB. And in best quality JPEG mode, it should be ~2.5MB for a photo w/ plenty of well-lit details (to be expected in most daylight outdoor scenes for instance).

Anyway, I did buy the 60GB iPod since my last post, but I will pass on the camera connector. Undecided just yet on what to get for offloading photos during trips, but it'll probably be something between the new Nexto OTG device (very long battery life and extremely fast at upto a claimed ~15MB/sec! and tested by users so far for 9-10MB/sec w/ Sandisk Ultra 2, which was actually the bottleneck!), a Compactdrive PD70X (the newest one w/ claimed ~9MB/sec transfer, very long battery life and uses AA batteries) or just get a cheap, new laptop for wider range of usage.

The various dedicated storage devices I mentioned are just for portable storage, not displaying photos. You can always put photos onto your iPod for viewing purposes later -- it's really meant to work like an album of thumbnail photos anyway given the small display, so it's hardly significant when they get put on the iPod. I tried putting a bunch on it via iTunes, and many of them look very low quality anyway due to the low resolution screen -- nothing to get too excited about. If you're expecting a good digital photo album on-the-go, then you'll still have to spend the $$$ on something like the Epson P2000 or maybe the new Archos AV700 w/ its 7"(!) widescreen. grin

Posted by LightOfTheWorld in New York City on May 24, 2005 at 8:03 PM (PDT)

84

Speaking of dedicated portable storage, this one w/ 30GB HDD only costs $80(!).

Posted by LightOfTheWorld in New York City on May 24, 2005 at 8:11 PM (PDT)

85

Don't know if this has been covered yet, but the connector works with:
1. Nikon D70 camera
2. ZiO! compact flash reader

Posted by Longhorn on June 7, 2005 at 10:53 AM (PDT)

86

I bought the camera connector yesterday, and it works just fine for me. I have these toys:
- Ipod Photo 30G
- Nikon coolpix 4800 (not mentioned in the Apple-list but works perfectly well after installing ipod software version 1.1)

For those who wonder: I use iTunes with automatic synchronisation of pictures in 1 particular folder. Connecting my ipod to my pc resulted in a synchronisation of those pictures to my ipod, but didn't erase the pictures I transferred earlier from my camera to the ipod, although they don't appear in that folder on my pc. (vangrl, I hope that answers your question of 04-05-05)

But I have 1 question for you guys:
Is it possible to make a selection of pictures on your camera you want to transfer to your ipod? Or is it either all the files on your camera or none???

Posted by Tompie on June 10, 2005 at 1:30 AM (PDT)

87

quick and dirty review, daughter going to europe for 6weeks today so bought the camera connector so she could dump photo's from her camera to the ipod.

apple b&m store didn't have the camera connector, but compusa b&m did!

impression of apple b&m store, had very poor selection of ipod accessories, esp for ipod photo, only 1 case that actually fit, compusa's selection wasn't much better (i know that ipod photo is a more premium product, but still have at least a few cases!)

using camera connector with nikon coolpix s1 and ipod photo 60gb

connector works excellent, slight drain of battery when transferring large amount of images, but the plus side, dumping photo's from camera, worth the hit instead of visiting a photo store whilst on holiday to download photo's from camera card to CD

only bad comment, camera connector really only works when ipod is naked, as most cases (tried three different cases) block the camera connector from seating fully.

rating A-
1) not being able to plug camera connector into an ipod that has a case.
2) would be nice to be able to charge ipod AND download photo's at same time

question...

anyone know if there is like a 2 headed extension cord allowing you to charge the ipod AND download at the same time, whilst being able to be connected to an ipod with a case on!

Posted by me101 on June 10, 2005 at 5:49 AM (PDT)

88

i didnt see this covered yet in review or comments...does anyone know what happens if the battery in the ipod (or camera) dies while transferring? does it remember what it's done so you can recharge then continue the transfer? or will it start over thereby making it impossible to transfer say a 2GB card?
thanks!

Posted by snoopy4 on June 13, 2005 at 3:06 PM (PDT)

89

Ok, I recently bought a 30G iPod photo and Apple camera connector with the idea that when travelling o/s in the next few weeks I can download my photos from my camera directly onto the iPod.

The camera I have is a Canon Powershot A520.

Sat down tonight to try it all out, connected it all up and .......nothing. No photo transfer, nada, nothing.

The Apple documentation says its as simple as just connecting it all up and selecting PHoto Import, but when I select Photo Import the iPod is not seeing the camera at all. I checked the Apple website to make sure the camera is compatible. While the A520 doesn't appear on the compatability list, the A510 does (and the 510 and 520 are basically the same camera anyway), the A520 has all the required tech specifications, and Apple makes the point that their list of compatible cameras is not exhaustive, just includes a few they managed to test out before releasing the product.

Any ideas out there how to get the mojo going between these two gadgets?

Posted by riggergirl on July 4, 2005 at 3:34 AM (PDT)

90

I am a little confused about something in the review. It states:

"However, pictures imported with the Camera Connector cannot be viewed in Slideshow mode with transitions unless you perform a complete iPod synchronization with your computer, photo program, and iTunes. This means that you can’t bring your photos directly in from your camera and connect up to your TV for a presentation: they’re only available for iPod viewing, without transition effects."

I understand that photos imported from a camera cannot be used in a slideshow on a TV, but is it possible to view single photos on a TV before they are downloaded to a computer and then back to the ipod?

Also, does anyone know if it would be possible to someday see a firmware update that would allow newly imported photos to be viewed in a slideshow on TV? Thanks for the help.

Posted by mpb2000 on July 10, 2005 at 3:50 PM (PDT)

91

I just got camera connector today and discovered you could view imported photos from your camera as a slide show.

However, you can't delete individual photos once they're uploaded to the iPod. You have to delete all the uploaded photos.

This being said, I think I should have used the money to purchase another media card for my camera. Importing photos into iPod and then into my iPhoto is a little timely. I guess I can use iPod import for a good back-up.

Posted by BakariC on July 25, 2005 at 3:58 PM (PDT)

92

Can anyone tell me if the Camera connector will possibly work with the 4G Ipod?(through apple firmware updates)

Posted by hotmel on August 1, 2005 at 2:23 AM (PDT)

93

Is this how it works? Travel around Bali all day. take some great photos and fill up your 1GB SD memory card. Spend about one hour transferring photos from the camera to the iPod (all the while draining the batteries on both devices) then spend several more hours recharging both the digital camera and the iPod. Finally go to bed exhausted after spending 5-6 hours dealing with this everyday!...and it's called an iPod photo? Sounds like an iPod nogo to me. Come on Apple...you can make good stuff..get this right please. haven't you heard how popular digital cameras are. Think marketing!!!

Steve

Posted by Cameraman on November 2, 2005 at 5:16 AM (PDT)

94

Just one persons opinion - I love it. I bought myself a Nikon D50 (Not on the compatibility chart) and then the ipod video 60 specifically for a trip to Asia that I want to take without my laptop. Today I took 7 pictures in Raw + jpeg basic format and then connected the camera to the ipod as instructed, select import and in 67 seconds all 7 photos (both formats) were on the ipod. I know that's not blazing fast, but it's considerably faster than what I expected after reading prior comments. At that rate I can shoot all 119 pictures that my 1 gig card can hold and it should take about 20 minutes to download them to the ipod, I can live with that.

Posted by johnelway on March 3, 2006 at 12:51 AM (PDT)

95

The Adaptor worked great for me. I just spend 3 weeks in Europe (1 on business and 2 on vacation). I tend to shoot way too many photos, and had no idea how many Gig of CF cards to take.

Borrowed a photo adaptor from work and it worked great. The only problem was I was intially using a 2GB card and took about 180 pictures one day. The battery on the IPOD was completely drained by around 140 images (these are 6.3 MPixel).

Tried doing a "STOP and SAVE" where I stopped it at around the 1/2 way point. Problem was it didn't transfer the images in a logical 1,2,3 sequence. For some reason it transfered something like the 1st 50 then the last75.

For the rest of the trip, I used several small cards that I had with. I would shoot about 75 images/card and then down load them back at the hotel or while driving, recharging the IPOD after each download.

I don't think I'll use the connector on a daily basis, but it sure beat lugging my laptop all over Europe for 2 weeks, and was cheaper than buying 10GB of CF cards. (I ended up only shooting about 7GB of Photos).

I did read on the Apple Forum about some one who used a USB splitter so he could connect both to the camera and to a power supply. Anybody have any comments?

Posted by MacMcKibben on June 26, 2006 at 2:57 PM (PDT)

Page 4 of 5 pages « First  <  2 3 4 5 >

Recent News

Recent Reviews

Recent Articles

Shop for Accessories: Cases, speakers, chargers, etc.