Apple iPod mini Lanyard | iLounge

Reviews

1

I bike with my Shuffle on its lanyard and hardly know it's there. Can't imagine 'lugging' a Mini around like that. I wonder how many people were clamoring for this?

Posted by bipto in Minneapolis, MN on April 13, 2005 at 5:23 PM (PDT)

2

this seem like an impusle buy that when ur at the apple store or compusa or some other store and the sale person wants ome more commision


more like something an uneducated buyer might get if pressured

Posted by BIGP in Texas on April 13, 2005 at 9:32 PM (PDT)

3

wasn't there a Joy of Tech comic on this topic???

Posted by apple juice in USA on April 14, 2005 at 7:20 AM (PDT)

4

I brought one only to attach my iPod mini to my purse when it not in use. (I lost it once and since I was lucky to get it back - I wanted some way to prevent me from taking it out and leaving it on the counter!) Unfortunately, it did not work with my case so I have no use for it.

It is well made and secure. If I decide to stop using a case, I will make use of it but not on my neck!

Posted by Muffin Gal in NYC on April 14, 2005 at 7:26 AM (PDT)

5

I think this is the Joy of Tech comic that you're referring to: http://www.joyoftech.com/joyoftech/joyarchives/657.html

Posted by Hardcase on April 14, 2005 at 7:53 AM (PDT)

6

Why on earth would you want to have a mini dangling around your neck?

Posted by iPodNod in London, UK on April 14, 2005 at 8:21 AM (PDT)

7

I think some people would 'cause I have seen heavier mobile phones dangling off necks!

Posted by howwow in Singapore on April 14, 2005 at 9:32 AM (PDT)

8

Flava Flav had a clock on his neck can't see the mini being any different raspberry

Posted by powaking on April 14, 2005 at 11:09 AM (PDT)

9

That's just stupid.. it's too heavy to hang from your neck.

Posted by Kloan in Toronto, ON on April 14, 2005 at 11:27 AM (PDT)

10

It's not too heavy at all.

I have been carrying my mini inside a case around my neck when I don't have another place to put it like a jacket pocket. I refuse to wear it on my belt because I'm already carrying a mobile phone. I've ordered a mini lanyard because it will be more sleek. My only complaint is that $20 is expensive for a lanyard.

Posted by Greg Glockner on April 14, 2005 at 4:05 PM (PDT)

11

I like this. It is pretty cool in my opinion. I might have considered buying this if I would have bought an iPod mini that is. I still stick with my 20GB. Try lugging something like that around on your neck. That would be a pain. I can't wait to see if I get myself an iPod Shuffle later on. That is when they come down in price.

Posted by Pghmyn on April 14, 2005 at 5:26 PM (PDT)

12

This aesthetics of this are all wrong. The iPod Mini hanging upside down ... with the headphones looping upwards from underneath the unit. No very pleasing on the eye! I have seen gel cases with a small hole in the top for a lanyard ... that way the unit is the right way up. This would look a hell of a lot better than this way.

Posted by owen1 on April 14, 2005 at 9:04 PM (PDT)

13

Why should it be straight up? The idea behind it being upside down is that you can use it and read what's on the display with maximum ease.

I haven't found that weight to be a problem, it's not all that heavy after all!

Posted by WarCow on April 15, 2005 at 3:19 AM (PDT)

14

My friend's daughter bought a case specifically to work with a lanyard as she's afraid that it will get knocked off her waist in the corridor at school and she's had her mobile stolen out of her bag. She wants to put it around her neck and under her shirt. Had she not already achieve a solution another way I think she would look seriously at this.

Posted by ChrisMouse in Bristol, UK on April 15, 2005 at 7:37 AM (PDT)

15

Well, mine arrived this morning. It's well made, though a horrible value at $20. But my biggest complaint was the shipping package. The box was large enough for a Mac Mini. This is an absurd waste -- the lanyard would fit just fine in a #10 envelope.

Posted by Greg Glockner on April 15, 2005 at 9:06 AM (PDT)

16

They will surely try to reduce the size of the Mini, same for the white iPod (or completely disapearing for aluminium case). So They are trying to talk to consumers about having a Mini in your neck.

Posted by Orangevitriol on April 15, 2005 at 9:23 AM (PDT)

17

I have used a home made lanyard for over 1 year. The iPod Mini is not too heavy for me to carry around my neck.

My problem was my fat gut that prevented me from using a belt clip - the cliy would pop off whenever I sat down.

Posted by Tom P. on April 15, 2005 at 9:48 AM (PDT)

18

this thing makes me picture a gangster rapper with one of those big "blingy" necklaces hanging off of them. just too d**m big.

Posted by ~pixi~ on April 20, 2005 at 3:45 PM (PDT)

19

Under a jacket this seems like a great way to carry your mini!

I have a sony cybershot which came with a very long wriststrap, meant to be worn as a lanyard. It's a lot heavier than the iPod mini and my only complaint has been the design of the lanyard! If it were more like this one I'd have no complaints, even with it's weight.

Posted by minty on April 21, 2005 at 5:03 PM (PDT)

20

is there a lanyard for the 4g?

Posted by punkrockavocado in VA on May 3, 2005 at 6:39 PM (PDT)

Recent News

Recent Reviews

Recent Articles

Shop for Accessories: Cases, speakers, chargers, etc.