ABT iJet Wireless RF Remote | iLounge

Reviews

1

If only it was realistically priced.. I'd actually buy one.

Posted by Kloan in Toronto, ON on April 15, 2005 at 6:44 PM (PDT)

2

I want someone to make a BLUETOOTH remote control--not an expensive BT-audio solution, purely a remote: a BT version of these RF controllers.

You'd get a BT receiver powered by the iPod, and a BT controller. The controller would then be useful with your BT-equipped Mac/PowerBook/PC too--no need for any extra dongle on your computer!

And people with BT phones could use them instead of the included remote, too.

I'm waiting smile

Posted by Nagromme on April 16, 2005 at 9:00 PM (PDT)

3

can this be used with a docking speaker set-up - i.e. my JBL onstage setup? I love this system by just need a remote!

Posted by HOUSEkeepa in Canada on April 17, 2005 at 9:35 AM (PDT)

4

OUTRAGEOUS PRICE

Posted by oklahomie on April 20, 2005 at 8:46 AM (PDT)

5

Just sucked it up and paid the price and bought the iJet to replace my pathetic AirClick. It does what it claims. Works great and I can actually control my iPod from thge kitchen while it is hooked up to the stereo in the living room.

Posted by michaelo on April 29, 2005 at 4:00 AM (PDT)

6

Within the next week or so, the iJet will be available at your local RadioShack store for $49.99. RadioShack's part number is 12-2312.

Posted by tahoe13579 on June 3, 2005 at 6:09 AM (PDT)

7

This item is now available at http://www.radioshack.com and in RadioShack stores.

Posted by tahoe13579 on June 7, 2005 at 6:59 AM (PDT)

8

I want to be able to control my ipod in my backpack with the iJet or possibly another remote (i don't like taking my iPod out on the bus I take to work). Does anyone know if I will have to point the iJet towards my backpack when outside in order for it to work? What about the other remotes. Which remote can handle this situation the best?
Thanks if anyone knows.

Posted by Shane Werk on June 29, 2005 at 3:19 AM (PDT)

9

I just read this review 5 Minutes ago. And decided to get it at radio shack. It cost me with California Tax $54.11.

Shane Asked if this will work if your ipod is in your pack, YES ! I was able to transmit from 2 rooms away , this thing works ( and im using first Gen Iphoto 60GB).

This thing is suppose to be water proof, but its cheap plastic on both receiver and transmitter , so Don't drop it.

I opened the remote to look at the battery. You have to unscrew 1 phillips head to get to it , I didnt bother.

I like that the remote has a red light indicating that your are pressing buttons.

Control came with a plastic holder, which probably wont last long if you dont take care of it.

Of course you can only control the Audio from the Jack, NOT from DOCK.

Photo Slide show , only works with the dock, via S-Video.

I tried connecting the A/V RCA cables that the ipod came with and did nothing , I also tried an iBook RCA A/V cable also nothing. So Dock is a must for Slide Show.

Overall I like it and Recommend it.

Posted by Manuel Plascencia on July 1, 2005 at 7:59 PM (PDT)

10

I read that "you can only control the Audio from the Jack, NOT from DOCK".

Is that just volume? I prefer the sound when I hook up my dock's line out to my stereo. I can get by w/o using the remote's volume, but can I go through the dock and still control forward, backward, and stop/pause?

Posted by GGinSF on July 26, 2005 at 8:26 PM (PDT)

11

Does this come with a strap for the steering wheel like the airclick?

Posted by morpheus.com on September 8, 2005 at 5:56 PM (PDT)

12

No strap, but it does include the crappy belt clip.

Anyway, I just purchased this yesterday and I'm super impressed by it. It works great in my car with the Monster iCarPlay Wireless Plus.

The buttons on the remote work good, but I would prefer them to be out a little bit more.

My only dislike is the play/pause button on the remote is too small for my big thumb and I would have preffered it black instead of the iPod white.

Overall i loved it and my local radioshack had it on sale for $35.99.

Posted by Marburg on November 9, 2005 at 7:55 AM (PDT)

13

As a Honda Goldwing motorcyclist/iPod user it is important to have a quality remote so that the iPod can be stowed away from thieves and weather in the bike's trunk. I currently have the Griffin AirClick for my 4g 20gb and I am 98% happy with that device (the remote receiver occasionally works loose and I have to stop the bike to reafix. This is corrected with using a rubber band securing the receiver to the iPod.)

What the iJet has that motorcyclists rave about is its water resistance (although motorcycle forum contributors use "water-proof"). Reading this review I would however, be concerned with the smaller recessed buttons on the iJet, because the AirClick buttons are perfect for the motorcyclist, even those of us who ride exclusively with gloves of various thicknesses.

Posted by Mike Lowary in Freeport, IL on March 12, 2006 at 10:39 AM (PDT)

14

Now at RS for $19.99 (doesn't work with 5G).

Posted by jwt80 on May 16, 2006 at 9:50 AM (PDT)

15

jwt80 - thanks for the info. just picked one up at RS for $20 to work with my 4G 40GB. works great right now and functions through all my walls. since i use my stereo remote for volume, i only use the pause and forward/backward buttons. the biggest plus to this unit is its use with a large playlist of songs. you can go through playlist songs with the ipod connected to the stereo (using my nyko cord) while sitting on the couch. it is also nice to be able to pause from the couch when the phone rings. now i ned to create a mogwai and a belle and sebastian playlist!

Posted by boochydog in lawrence, ks on July 12, 2006 at 6:50 AM (PDT)

16

I can't seem to get iPod to "play" with the wireless remote once it has been in sleep mode or pause mode. Am I doing something wrong? Any suggestions?

Posted by Msmernoff on October 4, 2006 at 3:43 PM (PDT)

Recent News

Recent Reviews

Recent Articles

Shop for Accessories: Cases, speakers, chargers, etc.