Newer Technology RoadTrip!+ (Plus) FM Transmitter | iLounge

Reviews

21

Got mine today. Only took 2 days to get here. This thing is freakin' incredible! I cannot get over how awesome this thing makes my iPod sound (4thG, 20 gig). I'm glad I didn't drop a bundle on one of the other ones. Two thumbs up. No static (and yes, I live in a big city, New Orleans.

Posted by garypc11 on May 20, 2005 at 9:13 PM (PDT)

22

Mine shows it's "charged" although I know it's not. I have a suspicion that it also killed my iPod. Firewire port stopped working, USB2 port transfered at USB1 speed. Had to take the iPod in for replacement...

Posted by vinz0r on May 22, 2005 at 7:19 PM (PDT)

23

Picked up the RoadTrip!+ and it is by far teh best FM transmitter I've heard. My only complaint is the volume. Is there a way to set the volumn of the iPod to "louder"? When the iPod is connected to the RoadTrip!+ I have to really crank up the volume of my car stereo in order to hear it, resulting in a fair amount of noise. Any solutions or settings I'm missing?

Posted by postpunk on May 23, 2005 at 5:17 AM (PDT)

24

to postpunk:

I was wondering the same thing. But since the RoadTrip+ uses the line out coming from the data port, then there's nothing you can do about the volume. You can try and normalize your mp3s to 98% or so, and it might sound louder and clearer. Just a quick suggestion. I'm going to try it myself.

Posted by vinz0r on May 23, 2005 at 9:30 AM (PDT)

25

Forgive the ingnorance, but how do I normalize my mp3's? Also, if you do give it a try, please post your results and I will do the same. Thanks!

Posted by postpunk on May 23, 2005 at 9:37 AM (PDT)

26

Do they sell these at Apple Stores?

Too bad they don't come in black for us U2 owners

Posted by genrlz on May 23, 2005 at 7:52 PM (PDT)

27

to postpunk:

http://mp3gain.sourceforge.net/

This utility applies gain to your mp3s without decoding/reencoding them (no quality loss). You can also undo the gain later if you don't like it. Give it a shot.

Posted by vinz0r on May 24, 2005 at 8:50 AM (PDT)

28

Was very happy with mine at first, but the noise when the cord moves has gotten pretty bad. Very loaud and annoying. Can't reccommend this.

Posted by javastarbuck on May 27, 2005 at 9:56 AM (PDT)

29

I live ten minutes from Sun Valley, in Reno. What the heck were the chances of that?

Posted by humwichawa on May 28, 2005 at 2:13 PM (PDT)

30

I took it on a roadtrip to Mendocino, CA and it got progressively better the further we got from San Francisco. So I think the hiss and poor signal I got initially is due to interference from the local SF radio station. It actually sounded quite awesome on my trip. Too bad I won't be using it locally, though.

Posted by Penny2005 on May 31, 2005 at 3:43 PM (PDT)

31

Got it today after about only 2 days. The sound is great. MUCH better then my old sony tape adapter. My only complaint is I can't plug it in while my iPod is in its iSkin Evo2. The dock cord that apple supplied fits but this one is too big.

Posted by maest on June 1, 2005 at 5:17 PM (PDT)

32

The folks at Other World Computing replaced my problem unit quickly. Hopefully this one doesn't develop the cord moving/noise problem.

Posted by javastarbuck on June 8, 2005 at 3:24 PM (PDT)

33

Can anyone tell me where I can buy this in the UK ?

Posted by Wilko on June 24, 2005 at 12:39 AM (PDT)

34

I just purchased an iPod photo and I was considering purchasing this FM tranmitter. Does anyone know if or when Newer Technology will have the iPod-to-power adapter cable issue fixed?

Posted by met1138 on June 24, 2005 at 8:13 AM (PDT)

35

I purchased this and was pretty happy with it. I am in NYC, but do most of my driving in Long Island. The closer I get to the city, the more interference I get from some Reggae station. The problem I now have is that it broke. About a month after I bought it, it stopped working. If I pushed on the wire I found I could still get it to work, but when I set it down it stopped working. I took it apart and found that one of the pins that connects to the bottom of the ipod is loose, so when I push on the wire, it forces the pin in place. I am working on fixing the problem. The construction on the inside looks a little shoddy to me. I would still recommend this device for exclusive car use in most areas, but know that it did fall apart without any real cause.

Posted by AndrewLangford on July 5, 2005 at 5:59 AM (PDT)

36

I am interested in buying this product and using it in conjunction with Griffin's AirClick module so that I can control my iPod safely in the car. Has anyone tried this combination? If so did it work well?

Posted by nonother on July 9, 2005 at 7:05 PM (PDT)

37

I live in the DC metro area. I was very happy initially. After about a month it broke. I think Andrew has it right, very shoddy workmanship. I have Itrip too but liked the Road Trip better. Not worth the $$ if it doesn't last more then that.

Posted by girlyjeep on July 26, 2005 at 6:19 AM (PDT)

38

Seems to work fine for me so far. My only problem is with the "hiss" on songs when the singer is using a word with an " s " in it (if this makes sense to anyone). When this occurred when I used the iTrip , I would just lower the volume on the ipod and turn up the stereo volume to cure this, but this is not possible now since ther is no volume control of the ipod using this transmitter. Any help ?
Thanks for any advice.

Posted by jpoe on February 10, 2007 at 10:51 AM (PDT)

Page 2 of 2 pages  <  1 2

Recent News

Recent Reviews

Recent Articles

Shop for Accessories: Cases, speakers, chargers, etc.