JBL Creature II 2.1 Speakers | iLounge

Reviews

1

I don't own these speakers, but i have heared them in one of Apple's retail stores.

These speakers KICK ###!!!! They are WAY better than any i hane heard. Espcially if you are using them for your iBook, because those speakers arn't as good as the JBL creatures.

I hope JBL continues to make these speakers for a while because I am wanting to purches them very soon!!!!!!!

Posted by applefrk@hotmail.com on April 27, 2005 at 4:30 PM (PDT)

2

I just bought these and a cable to connect them to my DVD/VCR player in my hotel room. So now for just under a hundred bucks I have killer sound for my iPod and DVDs too.

It was money well spent and I can't get over how good these sound.

I still like the Sounddock though and will probably get one for my girlfriend to use at her house.

Posted by Da Bri-Man on April 28, 2005 at 1:53 PM (PDT)

3

Have anyone heard about zvox? Im glad to see a review before buying one. I saw some nice deal on ebay, but not sure of the sound quality. I have these creature II but I hate those wires when I bring them out of town. I just wish jbl will come up one day with these sat speakers can be detachable to subwoofer and become one unit so that you can easily bring it around.

Posted by ipodgolf on May 16, 2005 at 11:47 AM (PDT)

4

Is it true, that these only come with 120V Voltage input? So I cannot travel to Europe with them?

Posted by circc on June 1, 2005 at 7:43 AM (PDT)

5

love everything except - don'tcha think the power button should be in the front? my wife wants me to hide that star wars helmet of a subwoofer, but if i put it with it's back to the wall on a low shelf, I'll have to squnch around the unit to shut it off when not in use.

probably gonna connect via a dedicated powerstrip to avoid this, but i shouldn't have to.

Posted by NYC Jim on June 2, 2005 at 11:13 AM (PDT)

6

I checked these out at the Apple store and the sa assured me that she had never seen the satellites "glow" as described in the review.

Can anyone confirm if they do indeed glow blue? Its disappointing if they don't (asthetics being so important and all).

Posted by tez0003 on June 4, 2005 at 1:24 AM (PDT)

7

anyway I bought the zvox speaker. jbl creatures still rocks.

Posted by ipodgolf on June 9, 2005 at 11:31 PM (PDT)

8

I bought these to use with my iPod Photo while I waited for the Bose Sound Dock to arrive.. These are superb!! If I had known it's great sound qualities.. for the buck, I would never have ordered the Bose SoundDock.. That said the Bose is alot more portable. I find both to be most useful

Posted by Ipod Head on June 21, 2005 at 12:00 PM (PDT)

9

TEZ, They don't glow, as such, but there's a small LED (Green on my Silver speakers) which illuminates the surface underneath ther front of the speakers. Think of something similar to a neon lightstrip under a car (sorry for a somewhay bad example!!).

They do sound awesome though. I'm from the UK and bought mine over a year ago and am totally satisfied with even given that they cost me £100 (about $170). Bass & Treble controls just mean an ability to fine tune an already crystal clear sound!

There are some options which are a little less expensive but come no where near the quality of the JBL's. These are definitely worth paying the extra for.

Posted by m1pui on July 3, 2005 at 6:30 PM (PDT)

10

Awesome Threesome !

I just bought these speakers after reading all your comments and reviews...and man...they simply ROCK.

I was planning to buy harman kardon sound sticks, but changed my mind when i heard crystal clear sound from this teeny tiny speakers. It goes well with my 20G gen 4 ipod and it looks simply out of the world(Literally too) !!!

Thanks ipodlounge and keeep up your good work ! Looking forward to buy kensington ipod dock with remote !

Posted by pulse on July 4, 2005 at 7:31 PM (PDT)

11

I bought the Creature IIs from Buy.com and got $30 off for signing up for their Visa card...so the price was $47. I love the sound too...my iMac is a rockin' unit now!

Posted by rossco63 in seattle on August 8, 2005 at 10:26 AM (PDT)

12

I am considering buying the JBL Creature II speakers & Kensington Stereo Dock to use as my home stereo set-up. But I want to make sure they are compatible -- anyone tried them together?

Posted by ccina on August 15, 2005 at 8:44 AM (PDT)

13

Hey,
I got these speakers as a gift, and I have some questions.
1) What does the power sattelite thing mean? That is powered by sattelite and no plugs? Or what does sattelite have to do with the speakers?
2)Is it really portable... Like can you bring it places?
3)How does it glow? In what colors? When?
4) To plug your iPod into it, do you plug it into a jack... or is there an ipod "slot"?
5) Are these really desktop speakers, or iPod speakers?
6) Should I exchange this for a different speaker. I like a portable yet loud speaker so... I like rock and rap.

Posted by gibbs0828 on September 4, 2005 at 4:57 PM (PDT)

14

These look great. Just need to know how far apart the satellites can be from each other - what is the length of the cable?

Thanks.

Posted by mosschops on October 26, 2005 at 6:03 AM (PDT)

15

With my ipod, I only have the ipod itself, headphones, and i have a plastic piece that is called an adapter but it looks like nothign of the sort.

So my question is do I have to buy anything additional to make the JBL creature work? do I need a dockstation, chords, anything like that or is it ready to play right out of the box and all I do is connect my ipod to it?

Thanks,

Beau

Posted by bchap90210 on March 20, 2006 at 2:52 AM (PDT)

16

I plan to by these sometime within the next couple of weeks. What exactly do I need to have it set up for my iPod Video?

Posted by xman2k6 on April 25, 2006 at 3:43 PM (PDT)

17

xman2k6:
i just bought these today...i added it to my apple universal dock...now i turn the speaker volume up into the middle range, plug the ipod video into the dock and adjust the volume of my ipod with the apple remote

Posted by teksone in Henderson, NV on April 26, 2006 at 9:54 PM (PDT)

18

Yeah I bought mine today, along with the Universal Dock. I haven't been able to test it out fully but so far I'm really impressed.

Posted by xman2k6 on April 27, 2006 at 11:03 PM (PDT)

19

I still need to go buy the remote though

Posted by xman2k6 on April 27, 2006 at 11:04 PM (PDT)

20

Quick question, in addition to using these awesome speakers with your ipod, and computer, etc... has anyone tried using these to hook up to a television or a dvd player? I ordered these recently and I am excited for their arrival. Can't wait!

Posted by iCliff in California on June 12, 2006 at 5:30 PM (PDT)

Page 1 of 2 pages  1 2 >

Recent News

Recent Reviews

Recent Articles

Shop for Accessories: Cases, speakers, chargers, etc.