XtremeMac AirPlay FM Transmitter for iPod shuffle | iLounge

Reviews

1

Not particularly interested in the product, but I'd like to know more about how they're getting audio out of the USB port...

Posted by mattwardfh in Texas on June 8, 2005 at 2:27 PM (PDT)

2

wut...was that other case stuck on there? I had to cut my tunewear to get it off my ipod....i wasn't too happy with it

Posted by John Tylko, III in Lincoln, MA on June 8, 2005 at 3:20 PM (PDT)

3

You give an annoying product a C minus? This product has a defective design. A rating of D would be more than generous.

This is a reflection of our times, I suppose. Having been a part-time college student for the last 30 years I've experienced the low expectations that instructors and schools have for today's students.

Let's not be so complacent about what we expect from our products or our society. Next thing you know we will expect little to nothing from our elected representatives. Oh wait -- toooo late. We're already there....

Posted by Lester S;pamm on June 9, 2005 at 4:38 PM (PDT)

4

The AirPlay is still an A rated Product - why are you comparing apples and oranges? You are now talking about the Airplay for iPod shuffle.

" Four months ago, we reviewed and strongly praised XtremeMac’s first iPod FM transmitter, AirPlay (iPodlounge rating: A), which combined the frequency-flexible, iPod battery-dependent design of Griffin’s popular iTrip with a backlit digital tuner and an almost equally attractive price. AirPlay seemed an instant winner - it performed very well in our testing, was small and looked good, and wasn’t going to break anyone’s budget given its features, the marks of a solid A product. "

Posted by JackdaMac on June 10, 2005 at 7:50 PM (PDT)

5

To provide context. They're part of the same family, and today appear to share a flaw that wasn't present in the original unit we reviewed.

Posted by Jeremy Horwitz in East Amherst, NY, USA on June 11, 2005 at 5:17 PM (PDT)

6

I've been a user of the iTrip for at least a year and am pretty happy with it. With a long road trip ahead of me and some concern about manipulating iTrip while driving, I though I'd try AirPlay.

AirPlay provides a clear, strong signal about on par with iTrip. AirPlay is certainly easier to use than iTrip. However, AirPlay comes with an added bonus: a high-pitched tone that is really annoying.

I'm going to put the AirPlay back in the box and use the iTrip. If I have to change stations, I'll pull over.

Posted by dedelstein on June 20, 2005 at 8:49 AM (PDT)

7

Just thought u guys might want to know target has these on sale for 50 percent off. cheaper than ebay. i got mine today for 25 bucks. one thing i dont like about it, is i sometimes hear interference, but i have only played around with it for a few minutes today. i tried several channels, and it makes a slight buzzing noise when changins songs. other than that, for the price i like it. target also has the dlo transpod for shuffle, and its 30 instead of 60. i might try that.

Posted by jfriend33 on April 26, 2006 at 11:31 PM (PDT)

8

this thing is bad news. i dont like the hissing sound, it gets really annoying. plus, you have to change stations all the time. i went to target today and exchanged it for the dlo transpod version. i had to pay 5 bucks to upgrade. i think the transpod is well worth 29.99 as opposed to the 24.99 xtrememac. go to target!

Posted by jfriend33 on May 1, 2006 at 5:03 PM (PDT)

Recent News

Recent Reviews

Recent Articles

Shop for Accessories: Cases, speakers, chargers, etc.