Altec Lansing inMotion iM7 Portable Speakers | iLounge

Reviews

21

I guess I either missed it, or missunderstood, but I'm taking it that the iM7 does not charge the iPod while running on battery power... or does it not charge on either?

Posted by gert75 on August 9, 2005 at 10:03 PM (PDT)

22

Hi,

I am interrested in buying the item since feedback and review sounds good. I am a pilot and travelling a lot so this might give me the chance to listen to good quality music on the go.
As I understand it is charging the ipod only when connected to a/c power, which makes sense to me.

But - can anybody tell whether it charges the batteries while running on a/c when fitted with rechargeable ones?

Best regards,

de757

Posted by de757 on September 9, 2005 at 5:32 AM (PDT)

23

I found a workaround for the remote problem. I purchased a Phillips learning remote (on closeout for $7.99 at Target) and it works great. I can now control the Altec Lansing inMotion iM7 Portable Speakers from across the room. It's my impression that the metal grill is not so much a problem as the tiny IR light on the original control. The sound is outstanding, so if you've got a learning remote that should eliminate any worries about buying this unit. I compared it to the Bose unit before I bought -- no comparision, IMHO.

Posted by JOEKC on September 28, 2005 at 5:15 PM (PDT)

24

can anyone tell me from experience whether the im7 is worth the extra money compared to the logitech mm50?

Posted by phanman90 on November 5, 2005 at 2:17 PM (PDT)

25

and joekc can you please repost what model of the phillips learning remote you bought because i think thats a really creative idea and i might want to do that if i end up getting the im7

Posted by phanman90 on November 5, 2005 at 2:18 PM (PDT)

26

does this puppy work with the Nano? And is the power cord multivoltage or is it just 110v?

Posted by Rodney Farva on November 15, 2005 at 9:57 AM (PDT)

27

I saw these at the Apple Store. That little hatch doesn't seem to stay in that well.

With a better remote, maybe rechargeable batteries and an AM/FM tuner with clock radio functions, this thing would be perfect.

Anyone going to make anything like that?

Posted by wco81 in West Coast on November 27, 2005 at 2:04 PM (PDT)

28

This iM7 look like exactly what I am looking for... with one GIANT drawback... it's size!! My two main concerns are #1 sound (especially with vibrant bass at higher volumes)and #2 portability (for a I travel often). Can anyone please tell me if the iM7 is impractical to take in your luggage when you go on vacation? And, if it is, then what is the next best speaker system for my iPODmini (and I'll also soon be getting an iPODnano)? Thanks... it is just hard to discern if the lower sound quality on the iM3's or iM4's makes those even worthwhile even those they are smaller and more portable. Any and all suggestions at the most portable (travel-friendly in terms of suitecase travel) and best sounded speaker syste (bass and high volumes) for my iPOD??? THANKS! smile

Posted by Xistentialnyc on December 11, 2005 at 1:40 PM (PDT)

29

Xistentialnyc: this?
http://www.ilounge.com/index.php/reviews/comments/logitech-mm50-portable-speakers-for-ipod-ipod/

Posted by blue_quartz on December 16, 2005 at 9:25 PM (PDT)

30

I work in Circuit City's MP3 Dept. and we have this on Display for Demo. I'm thinking about purchasing one of these units. The sound is by far the best I've heard in a portable unit for my ears (even Compared to Bose Sounddock). Unfortunately, when the Display was set up, the remote was not set up as well. So the Bass & Treble were set from factory Default Settings. Without using the remote and just using the Volume on top of the unit, the buttons are not very responsive. So you have to hold it down with a heavy finger which causes the Volume to go up or down too quickly. I think this has caused one of the Speakers to blow because there is a rattle now at higher voliume. I'm going to get the remote hooked up and see if it works better than the buttons on the unit. But all in all the unit sounds great and I'm going to buy one. Sad to hear it scratches the Ipod Photo. That stinks. I have the 5th Generation 30 Gig Video which fits perfectly. I wish they would have included a rechargable battery. Eight "D" Batteries for 10 hours of Music can get really expensive. I also went on Altec's Site to download the PDF Manual and it won't download. That's weird. I'll get the Hard Copy and the remote and check it out and report back. Thanks !

Posted by Dino1956 on December 18, 2005 at 11:49 AM (PDT)

31

I bought one for $189 @ Costco (best price I found) and am very pleased. Good sound at any volume.

Posted by richp5 on December 25, 2005 at 6:28 PM (PDT)

32

I've gone through two so far; love the concept and the sound but the damn things keep locking up on me. I have to do a soft-reset of my iPod 60 GB to get things moving.

Anyone else experiencing trouble with their iM7?

Posted by EnochLight on December 26, 2005 at 12:17 AM (PDT)

33

The sound is great and the organisation is incredible. It fills my room so well.

A+

Posted by olpmcg on December 29, 2005 at 6:18 PM (PDT)

34

my ipod keeps locking up (photo 40gb) but only in battery mode...it never EVER does it in ac mode so i think thats the problem. i love this system beats the bose sounddock in every way...aprt from size. i now hate the sounddock because it had no features, and the sound definitewly WASNT worth the price that i paid ...its so expensive in england....the price i paid for the sounddock is the equivalent to $432 which i find way too much. our government!! lol

Posted by kylestrike10 on December 31, 2005 at 6:02 PM (PDT)

35

My 60g also locks up.I love boombox..sounds awesome.People at the beach canr believe the sound.Has anyone tried 60g video?

Posted by freakytikki on January 4, 2006 at 7:25 PM (PDT)

36

I have a 60g with video, and the iM7. The sound is amazing! The video out works great for showing photos or video from the iPod on a tv screen. And yes, my iPod has locked up a couple times in the week I've had my iM7. I've only used the iM7 on AC power so far, no batteries yet. The only thing I would add to this boombox would be an alarm clock. I thought maybe I could set the alarm on the iPod and leave the iM7 turned on so the music would wake me, but the iPod won't seem to start up and play at the set time when it's in the iM7. Anyone have any ideas on how I could maybe use the iPod's alarm feature with the iM7?

Posted by zoostation65 on January 6, 2006 at 8:15 PM (PDT)

37

Ok, I just had to post again to say the iPod's alarm function DOES work when it's in the iM7. When I tried it before I think I may have failed to turn the alarm to ON. But it does work... Just leave the iM7 turned on, and set at the volume level you want your wakeup music to be. Works great!

Posted by zoostation65 on January 6, 2006 at 9:39 PM (PDT)

38

I recently purchased the iM7 from Costco for $189 - what a deal! I have to agree with the iLounge review that the iM7 is amazing. It works with both my 2G iPod and my 5G iPod Video. There is rich, thumping bass, without sacrificing the mid-range or higher frequencies. It can reach VERY loud volumes for its size, enough to fill even a large area. It is easliy transportable and looks great. The only thing that sucks is the remote, as explained in the iLounge review.

I compared many systems, even Bose's Soundock and Klipsch's design, before I made this purchase. In terms of price, size, sound, and flexibility, there is no contest. The iM7 blows everything else in its class out of the water. Go to Costco and get one for $189 before they sell out!

Posted by ipodsuperfreak on January 16, 2006 at 9:40 AM (PDT)

39

Altec Lansing inMotion iM7 and the 60GB/5th generation/iPod with video ... sounds like they work well together. Does the iPod of this size fit fine in the dock? I've heard of possible scratching.

Posted by kalboys on January 16, 2006 at 4:59 PM (PDT)

40

Well, to answer my own question, I think there's hardly a chance of scratching and it seems to fit is just right, and even could take a slightly larger iPod - the 6th generation?! I tried it out at a local Target, and because I won it through my workplace, I'll have to wait several weeks to receive it. It's great to hear that the alarm works on it too!!!

Posted by kalboys on January 16, 2006 at 6:36 PM (PDT)

Page 2 of 3 pages  <  1 2 3 >

Recent News

Recent Reviews

Recent Articles

Shop for Accessories: Cases, speakers, chargers, etc.