Apple Color 4G iPod 20/60GB Review | iLounge

Reviews

41

*whimpers at the thought of a fairly new ipod being rendered obsolete*

Posted by punkrockavocado in VA on July 3, 2005 at 1:11 PM (PDT)

42

I just got my 20 gig color. It is sweet. I now know what you all have been raving about with the Photo.

Posted by mrjwhit on July 9, 2005 at 2:37 PM (PDT)

43

Someone asked earlier regarding the audio quality of the ipod. I bought the 4g 30gb ipod photo and used some classical music in ALC and 192 AAC and there is a slight difference in quality if you listen on a high end system. I did not hear any artifacts on either. ALC playback was smooth (I previously bought a early 4g 20 gb ipod which used to skip through ALC files - thus it was returned) it seems that apple fixed this problem. I use it with the Kenwood IP-500 ipod interface in the car - Its an impressive combo with great sound quality, allowing you to control everything from the head unit. For the person asking about classical music or solo piano, make sure you rip from original CDs not CDRs. I did not hear any difference between LAME VBR 192 / iTunes 192 highest / or 192 AAC.

Posted by Nadoor on July 11, 2005 at 5:47 AM (PDT)

44

My 4G b/w iPod's battery is acting up and i really consider sending it to Apple to get a replacement/ battery change. But I'm unsure if they will send me the new one with a color screen or an old b/w one. I really like the b/w one, simply because it's thinner.

So, does anyone know if I get a color one or b/w one?

Posted by Prismatic on July 11, 2005 at 12:45 PM (PDT)

45

APPLE, BRING BACK THE 30GB iPOD!!!
I OWN 30GB 4G PHOTO AND IT'S THE BEST.
I WANT TO BUY IT FOR MY FRIENDS BUT THE CLUBMAC FREE ENGRAVING AND THE OVER CHARGED SHIPPING ISN'T SOMETHING THAT WAS IN MY MIND.
I PURCHASED MINE FOR 317 WITH EDUCATIONAL SAVING.(CHEAPEST DEAL I FOUND EVERYWHERE - PUT IN ANY SCHOOL NAME THEN YOU ARE ELIGIABLE)
AND NEW 20GB IS ONLY .06mm THINNER AND AROUND 270 ON APPLE STORE (W/ ED. SAVING) NOT THAT FAR FROM THE PRICE I PAID FOR 30. ANYONE DON'T MIND HAVING EXTRA THICKNESS ON YOU iPOD, GO FOR 60GB. WHY NOT HAVE MORE SPACE WITH MUCH LESS THAN WHAT THEY USED TO OFFER. FOR THE REST, CONSIDER CLUBMAC FOR 30GB OR THE APPLE STORE FOR 20GB ( I WAS VERY DISSAPPOINTED WHEN I MADE THIS PURCHASE FOR MY SISTER B-DAY PRESENT ). ONLY IF I MADE THE PURCHASE A WEEK EARLIER.

Posted by le_petit_prince on July 13, 2005 at 2:56 PM (PDT)

46

i just got my 20gb color yesterday and i'm loving it completely right now... i had an old 40gb and was insanely jealous when the 30gb photos came out because i'll be taking a trip overseas with a digital camera and i dont have a large memory card in it. taking my laptop would have been a disaster waiting to happen, so as soon as i saw apple integrated the color screen and photo abilities into the new generations, i scouped one up... i only have about 9gb of music, so storage space is definitely far from being a problem. i'm pretty picky when it comes to the music i'll keep and listen to, so 20gb will last an unreasonably long amount of time. even if i take 1000 pictures on my trip, i'd still have room to tote around lots of extra files in disk mode...

for a $50 savings over the 30gb model, i am extremely happy with the value of the 20gb. for a college kid, that $50 goes a long way (esp. in the bars)

Posted by Apoc112 on July 14, 2005 at 7:48 AM (PDT)

47

okay, i dont know if this is true (and i highly doubt) but i heard that you can trade in your fourth generation ipod for a new photo...is this true or am i just kidding...please comment back!

Posted by tracy xx on July 15, 2005 at 8:02 PM (PDT)

48

tracy xx

I just got back from my local Apple store today with my 3rd iPod in less than a year. I don't know if it's bad luck or what. I asked if I could trade, and the tech said no. If you really wanted to trade, he suggested selling the b&w iPod on eBay and using what you get for it to buy the new one.

Since this one I picked up today is brand spanking new, not even turned on, not even out of it's plastic pajama top, I'm going to try to sell it, as well as the AppleCare warranty.

Now there's something. I get a 3rd iPod, and the warranty runs out on the first one, which died in October. Don't you think that I should be able to start a new warranty on this one, since it's freakin' new? Essentially, I would have had a brand new iPod with a 6 day warranty. Bunch of junk.

Enough of my ranting. How much does this forum think I can get for my iPod?

Posted by alan.hopper on July 16, 2005 at 1:49 AM (PDT)

49

As described at another blog, the 60GB "with color" sounds like a great substitute for my ibook to store photos on a trip. But please clarify, will the new 60gb use a "dock to firewire 400" cable to power the new ipod from an old firewire ac adapter? And will it sync to my ibook via a firewire to dock cable? I have the cable. (Apple tech support says yes, but your review casts doubt.)

Posted by djmjr on July 18, 2005 at 2:33 PM (PDT)

50

any mention of the audio defect present in high picthed piano tracks when using low impedance earphones? or is that just glossed over in all the praise?

Posted by yw_217 on July 19, 2005 at 3:36 PM (PDT)

51

ipod dance: i tend to disagree, i work in a computer shop and sell PC's on a daily basis.

all our new PC's have FireWire capability and the users know what it is,

the fact of the matter is that there are still tons of people without firewire, alot of laptops also don't have it. usb is in anything and everything these days, oh no! its an intel standard too, funny that

Posted by linux_insidev2 on July 21, 2005 at 1:57 AM (PDT)

52

hey, the new color iPod doesn't come with a dock? What the hell is that suppose to mean? And also, no FIREWIRE?

WOW, they really must've cut costs.

but i love my color iPod. :]

Posted by iamth3g on July 29, 2005 at 8:42 PM (PDT)

53

I was pleased to discover that my Tunewear leather cases from Dr. Botts fit 4G 40GB, original 40GB iPhoto, and the current 60GB Color....same case, one fits all. This is done through a design which expands as necessary, but holds all three snugly and savely and at a mere $35.00. I can't say enough good about them or enough bad about Vaya ($$$), and five or six other brands in terms of flexibility.

Posted by glockster in U.S. on September 13, 2005 at 12:33 AM (PDT)

54

there's black nano, why can't apple come out with a black 4G?! I want a black 4G! it would look so cool!

Posted by FarSide on November 9, 2005 at 8:01 PM (PDT)

55

U2

Posted by Matt174e on December 8, 2005 at 9:08 PM (PDT)

Page 3 of 3 pages  <  1 2 3

Recent News

Recent Reviews

Recent Articles

Shop for Accessories: Cases, speakers, chargers, etc.