iHome iH5 Docking Stereo Clock Radio | iLounge

Reviews

101

I had the iTone, returned it however due to horrible sound quality (constant hum/buzz).

I found my dreamt alarm clock recently. It is called the iBlaster Clock Radio, on sale at Bed, Bath & Beyond for 80 bucks. Kind of like the iHome, just much better looking, and have more functionalities. You guys should check it out.

Posted by dingudi on July 14, 2006 at 8:00 PM (PDT)

102

Based upon review, I purchased two iHomes- one for my daughter for school, one for us at home. Both no longer work properly. The one at home does not work as a radio: I have to bang on it to get iHome to play the station- otherwise, it is just noise. With my daughter's, when the iPod plays, the music fades in and out when she moves around the room. Great concept, but poor quality implementation. An inexpensive radio does not have this problem.

Marshall

Posted by korshmar on July 15, 2006 at 5:23 PM (PDT)

103

I am also disappointed with the iHome product, especially with the dimmer light. Everything was working fine for approx 5 months until the clock's illumination/dimmer light started to "ACT UP." Right now, I'm unable to see the clock which defeats one of iHome's main purposes--A CLOCK radio. Is there anyone who can assist me on how to rectify this situation since iHome's customer service was NOT HELPFUL AT ALL.

I recently saw a Bed, Bath & Beyond's ad for "IBlaster" for $80. Any thoughts if I should make this purchase?

Thanks!

Posted by jadeplant on July 17, 2006 at 10:48 AM (PDT)

104

I've got this one.
Whenever I turn up or down the volume, it makes a noise. Same as yours?
is that a common problem of this product?

Posted by JayCal on July 28, 2006 at 9:54 PM (PDT)

105

i have a question. I just purchased the iHome2go iH25b and it will not continuously play, it cuts out after about a minute, and you have to hit the play button, it is aggravating. What am I doing wrong?

Posted by noahsboat2x2 on July 29, 2006 at 11:50 AM (PDT)

106

Does anybody else's 2nd version ihome black with remote make a slight buzzing noise through the speakers even when it's off? It just sounds like the machine is on all the time if the volume is 1 or higher. If you turn the volume to 0 then the noise from the speakers goes away. Is anybody else experiencing this? I can't tell if mine's defective and I should exchange it...

Posted by vixenofloudfury on August 12, 2006 at 11:20 PM (PDT)

107

ok so it seems no one has had my problem yet.... i got the new updated ihome about 2 months ago and all was working fine until about a week ago i didn't use it with my ipod (i have a 2g nano) and when i went to put it in the ihome a few days ago it wouldn't play, only the ipod doesnt play all the radio/alarms work fine. Its not my ipod because that works fine by itself and when i plug it in to update it the connection is fine.

I called the help support and the person was very rude and told me that my ipod and all 2g and 1g nanos are not compatiable with ihome and that they couldn't answer my question on why it won't work.....

which i find hard to believe because alot of people i know with 2gs work fine with the new ihome....

so does anyone out there know how to fix this problem or should i just return it and trade for a new one? because i don't have any problem with anything else on it the lighting is fine and it came with a remote and have had no problems with the alarm or sleep volume.

Posted by sissy2 on August 15, 2006 at 6:23 PM (PDT)

108

I bought my iHome almost 8 months ago and it is still working fine, no complaints except that the LCD light is a bit too bright for sleeping, although I usually just block the LCD with a book or something.
I got mine at Costco for around $90.00 and it came with the remote too. So it was a pretty good deal.

Posted by shadowmyst on August 18, 2006 at 9:45 PM (PDT)

109

I bought one today, at walmart in San Diego for 40 dlls. There have a lot of ipod stuff at sale. I think it's a pretty good deal, though no remote control included.

Posted by Morrissey on October 8, 2006 at 12:05 AM (PDT)

110

This is junk from my perspective. I got one and it would not read my video iPod, so thinking it was bad, I exchanged it for a second one. That one wouldn't read my video iPod or my daughter's older 30 gb iPod, so it is back to the store to return the second one. No wonder my local Costco is blowing them out at $50...they don't work, at least the two I got.

Posted by hockylvr on October 14, 2006 at 3:20 PM (PDT)

111

I sure wish someone would make an iPod radio with an LED clock instead of LCD. I can't read the time on an LCD unless I wear my glasses. I currently have a Bose wave radio, but it only wakes to the radio, not to my iPod, which is connected via an aux cable.

Posted by nancy g in Sunnyvale, CA on November 8, 2006 at 1:03 AM (PDT)

112

I just bought the ih6 (a significant update from the ih6) from Costco($89), It has ALL of the features of the iH7, but without the extra speaker.

12 Presets
6 degrees of illumination
EQ setup
Alarm 1 and 2
BUT, still no headphone jack

Posted by Everyperson on December 13, 2006 at 1:55 PM (PDT)

113

Does this ipod clock radio support a MP3 player?

Posted by mtunison on December 25, 2006 at 10:25 AM (PDT)

114

Just set up the iH5 and realized that the Line-out port requires amplified speakers. Was a gift for my wife, who mostly listens through a pillow speaker, which is not amplified. The pillow speaker works ok if plugged into the ipod headphone port, but then she can't listen to the radio. Is there any way to have the pillow speaker work throught the line-out port? Adapter to purchase to amplify?

Posted by gcigale on December 29, 2006 at 7:35 PM (PDT)

115

I took my ihome to lake Erie with me to visit my friend. I put the thing in my duffle bag on top of all my clothes and made sure to put it in the car where nothing would be on top. When I got to the lake house I tried plugging it in and it wouldn't work. The ihome turned on, i could still see the time and the buzzer alarm still works, but the ipod player and radio won't turn on. I doubt that the speakers blew because I haven't listened to it that loud. I tried setting the alarm to ipod and then radio, but neither would get the speakers to turn on! When I got home I tried again, but still had no luck. Has this happened to anyone else? Is there a way to fix them? I know it's not my ipod that's not working because it works fine on other ipod players and on my computer.

Posted by kelsabels on August 6, 2007 at 9:41 AM (PDT)

116

if you ake out the batteries for about an hour, the speakers may start to work again. Mine did

Posted by kelsabels on August 8, 2007 at 7:49 PM (PDT)

Page 6 of 6 pages « First  <  4 5 6

Recent News

Recent Reviews

Recent Articles

Shop for Accessories: Cases, speakers, chargers, etc.