Apple Computer iPod nano (1GB/2GB/4GB) | iLounge

Reviews

26

So everybody wants it because it has a color screen? Thats a big argument with people.

But a screen that is 1.5 in. in slightly pathetic.

Posted by thecommanche on September 13, 2005 at 6:50 PM (PDT)

27

You don't comment about one important and negative fact : Nano is compatible only with OSX 10.3.4 + USB2
What about people like me with an iMac+firewire/USB+OSX 10.2.8 (and still very satisfied with it)!!!!
I like my iPod photo 30GB but I dislike this hidden strategy of pushing up the related harwares and softwares

Posted by EricB on September 14, 2005 at 2:08 AM (PDT)

28

I can't seem to find out? Can you use this as a jump drive or disk? You can use the Shuffle and full size ipod, but not the mini as a disk. Also, will it automatically downsample tracks like the shuffle does?

Posted by rickmcd on September 14, 2005 at 2:59 AM (PDT)

29

Has anybody got it to work with an Alpine KCA420i iPod adapter for their car. Although the track/playlist info displays on the head unit I'm not getting any sound.

Posted by Teeman on September 14, 2005 at 4:20 AM (PDT)

30

I unplugged my 40 Gig 3rd generation iPod from my Alpine KCA-420 and plugged in my new Nano 4 gig and it worked just the same, sound, display, etc.

Posted by Don Fera on September 14, 2005 at 3:47 PM (PDT)

31

Yep your correct, I found a lose wire and it all works perfect now. Don't suppose youv'e figured how to get the head unit to play randomly/shuffle within a playlist?

Posted by Teeman on September 14, 2005 at 4:59 PM (PDT)

32

anyone tried the nano with the Kenwood KCA-IP500 unit?

Posted by austinjreid on September 15, 2005 at 2:58 AM (PDT)

33

Could 16GB Nano be far away? This is from dpreview.com...a digital camera site.

"Samsung Electronics is planning to produce a new memory chip that will double the storage capacity of digital cameras, reports Reuters. It is expected that Samsung, which holds a 60% share of the NAND flash memory market, will launch a 16-gigabit chip late next year. NAND flash memory chips are built into memory cards or USB memory products."

One can only hope...

Posted by badburro on September 16, 2005 at 6:45 AM (PDT)

34

does any one remeber when the 3gs came out they sacraficed battery for size of course the batt length will drop at first on any major size shift just give it a couple of months and it will go up besides 14 hours is a damn long time any ways so its no like the bat of old where it was only 10 hrs ha just my 2 cents

Posted by BIGP in Texas on September 16, 2005 at 4:22 PM (PDT)

35

Sure, Nano is cool, and looks uber cool...but I still prefer my 30 GB colorpod; it's what I take with me everywhere and serves my music needs and otherwise, superbly. So, yeh, I definitely prefer it.

Posted by Andipod on September 16, 2005 at 4:33 PM (PDT)

36

The Samsung chips being mass produced next year are 16 giga BITS, which is 2 giga BYTES. What is truly amazing with the iPod Nano is that you would be hard pressed to find 4GB of flash storage alone for $250. A 4GB flash storage device alone is a good deal at this price. I think the combination of style, size, performance, durability, and price will have Apple selling a TON of these this year. It was extremely hard to find ANY flash-based music player that had 1GB for less than $100. A 2GB flash-based iPod at $200 is a good deal. A 4GB model at $250 is unbelievable. I can't see an 8GB model anytime soon for less than $400 (that's $50/GB).

Posted by MusicManMike on September 16, 2005 at 5:48 PM (PDT)

37

Got my 2GB nano 2 days ago and its definately a winner. Only problem I have had so far is I don't seem to be getting decent battery life. I charged it up fuly last night, listened to a couple of tracks, showed off a few photo's and then turned it off.

I'd say I probably messed around with it for a couple of hours max. I went to turn it on an hour ago and the battery is flat. Anybody ele experienced poor battery life?

Posted by mrunderhill on September 17, 2005 at 1:53 PM (PDT)

38

I dropped by my local Apple store in Portland, Oregon to check out the Nano. They had some 2GBs in white but were sold out of everything else. According to the salesman, both the black and white 4GBs sell out within hours of each shipment's arrival and the black 2GBs take just a little longer.

After checking out the display models, I must say that the Nano really is all it's cracked up to be and a black 4GBer will make for a nice second ipod. But given how easily the finish scratches, I'll wait for a decent choice of cases to hit the market first.

Posted by Downing on September 18, 2005 at 4:27 PM (PDT)

39

I just sold my 30Gb 3rd generation iPod on Amazon Marketplace. I now have a 4Gb Nano and a iGb Shuffle. Although I would have bought the Nano purely on style and 'lickability' I pondered whether to await the inevitable 6/8Gb models. My 30Gb iPod usually lay in a draw for much of the year yet I used the Shuffle every day so I reckoned the combination of Nano and shuffle was perfect for me. It doesn't take long to download a new playlist for the day/week/month.

Posted by frere on September 19, 2005 at 6:53 AM (PDT)

40

Audio Skip?

I have had my black 4g nano for 4 days now and just love it. It sounds great and is so easy to tote around.

I am wondering if anyone has had trouble with music skipping? Songs that I have downloaded from emusic.com seem to skip once and a while. These files are ripped in VBR with lame. Interesting though...my own songs which I rip in VBR at the highest level with Lame and Exact Audio Copy do not seem to skip.

Very pleased with the product. I'm just curious to others' experience.

Posted by coprock on September 19, 2005 at 9:51 AM (PDT)

41

The Samsung chips being mass produced next year are 16 giga BITS, which is 2 giga BYTES.

True enough, but the following is from a Reuters article by Yoo Choonsik, byline dated Sept. 12, 2005

"Sixteen of the new chips could be incorporated into a 32-gigabyte memory card capable of storing articles from a daily newspaper stretching back 200 years, or 8,000 MP3 music titles playing for 680 hours, Samsung said."

Also, the expectation is that 32Gbit chips are forthcoming as well.

Posted by flatline response on September 21, 2005 at 4:19 PM (PDT)

42

8GB Nano in 18 months.
20GB Mini in 2 years.
$250 for the Nano, $300 for the Mini.

Posted by G-man on September 22, 2005 at 5:38 AM (PDT)

43

I went for the shuffle when it came out and quite liked it but missed a display after a while. So getting a Nano was a no-brainer for me. It's lovely, just what I need. A "real" iPod with an amazing form factor. Except for the question of just how to wear it.

Out of the box you get the device itself and the standard earphones. How are you supposed to use it? Have it dangling from the earphones (at an awkwardward angle because of the jack's position)? No way, the thing weighs twice as much as the shuffle.
For the time being I have reverted to wearing shirts with a breast pocket but come on, this can't be the way it's meant to be.

Obviously I'm supposed to buy a separate lanyard at an extra EUR 39. Available in 4-6 weeks...

Hey Apple, what a lousy rip-off. Your products used to be fully usable out of the box, which was one of the factors that made them unique. Not anymore, huh? Sad...

Posted by eimeck on September 22, 2005 at 6:24 AM (PDT)

44

I just received my iPod Nano today at lunch and I have absolutly no complaints. Sure the black does show finger prints like there is no tomorrow but I think that some of the mini's colors were a little too cheesy and therefore I refrained from buying one. I think that Apple's new entry is wicked cool and I havent found a single thing that I dont like about it.

I transferred something like 560 songs onto it when I received it and it took no more than 5 or 6 minutes - way faster than I had expected.

I think that anyone wanting a serious MP3 player should check this machine out!

Posted by theblueecat on September 22, 2005 at 11:10 PM (PDT)

45

I love the Nano keep up the good work Apple
only con is that i have too much music to fit on the Nano (current capcity of my 40gb ipod - 32GB)

Apple please make a thin 40GB Ipod !!!

Posted by Till in UK on September 23, 2005 at 1:52 AM (PDT)

Page 2 of 5 pages  <  1 2 3 4 >  Last »

Recent News

Recent Reviews

Recent Articles

Shop for Accessories: Cases, speakers, chargers, etc.