Apple Computer iPod nano (1GB/2GB/4GB) | iLounge

Reviews

51

And while we're at it, I don't need the "mug me" white earbuds; instead include an AC charger! Why make the Nano small enough to travel if you're not going to support me in my travels.

Posted by glammsyl on September 27, 2005 at 5:54 PM (PDT)

52

I note that the iLounge rating for the nano is an A-, but also note that there is no mention, as far as I can see, of the fact that there is no remote jack on the nano and therefore no remote control functionality. I have a 3G iPod and use the remote every single day, so this omission is, to me, a serious flaw. How can Apple claim the nano to be a fully-functional iPod when it clearly isn't?

I happen to use a smart set of Sony headphones - they're far better than Apple's - which have a short cable that is a perfect fit for the iPod remote. No dangling cables.

I went into my local Apple store ready to buy a nano, but asked to hold one before I committed, and it was lucky I did. No remote jack - no sale. And the sales assistant seemed shocked!

I'm disappointed that iLounge didn't mention this rather important non-feature in their review. D-.

Posted by SmegHead on September 28, 2005 at 3:55 AM (PDT)

53

bombfactory & S-head: I'll admit to being equally surprised that S-head missed the rather conspicuous reference: "Because of relocated and changed headphone port, incompatible with virtually all top-mounting iPod and iPod mini accessories," and the repeated references in the review to this fact, and that bombfactory is so worked up about the same reference. Together, your comments indicate exactly why we expressed our concern in the review.

Posted by Jeremy Horwitz in East Amherst, NY, USA on September 28, 2005 at 6:10 AM (PDT)

54

Jeremy - You're right in that I did not take into account owners of full-sized iPods that may already own a multitude of accessories. I don't have that problem since the nano was my first iPod purchase. But would anyone replace a 20 gig iPod with a 2 or 4 gig nano and expect it to serve their needs in the exact same way? No. The nano was purpose-built for size and portability and to work in one's hand, not necessarily to be the hub of a home entertainment system via wireless remote. It's a simple case of 'use the right tool for the job'. And in that respect, the nano is awesome. And you guys do great work here - keep it up!

Posted by bOMBfACTORY on September 28, 2005 at 1:31 PM (PDT)

55

Jeremy - fair point. I suppose what I was getting at (and should have made this more clear in my comment) is that the lack of remote control functionality isn't, in my opinion, reflected in either the A- or B+ ratings. Remember that the remote control is (one of?) the only accessory for the iPod that is a genuine Apple product. I would have thought that Apple would have provided compatibility with their own products, especially one that is so integral to its operation. Maybe it's just me. I see hundreds of people using iPods, but never the remotes, so maybe it's a case of the nano catering for the masses.

Don't get me wrong - I really like the nano, and am itching to have one, but for me, remote functionality is a primary consideration. I'll stick with my 3G for now.

Posted by SmegHead on September 28, 2005 at 8:47 PM (PDT)

56

Has anyone else found that the touch wheel is very sensitive as compared to the full size models? When I'm walking with the Ipod in my jeans pocket the volume will somemetimes change spontaneously due to only slight pressure.

Posted by scar72 on October 8, 2005 at 4:57 PM (PDT)

57

i recently lost my ipod mini and am now considering buying the ipod nano, however....if i do, can i just download my itunes library or do i have to start again??
any help/advice would be great!!!

Posted by dan05 on October 25, 2005 at 7:31 AM (PDT)

58

Before I bought an iPod nano, I wasn't too sure whether I should because it seemed a little too small and wouldn't fit into my hand nicely, unlike the iPod mini. And also, it doesn't come with all the things it should. I agree with both estephanovich and glammsyl, they should lanyards and such (HOW are we supposed to carry it around? Now we have to wear clothes with pockets in them), and an AC charger (what's the point of something made for travelling if they don't come with the necessities?).

But, after I bought a nano 2 days ago, I'm quite satisfied with it, though I still stand by everything I've said before. Oh, but one more thing, scratches have appeared on its screen much too soon. Now I have to buy other accessories just to protect it. What a total ripoff.

Posted by krysti on October 30, 2005 at 9:20 AM (PDT)

59

Hi, i probably sound really dumb asking this, but how do i upload photos/images to my 4gb ipod nano?? i can upload songs fine, but what about the photos?

Posted by __BeCcY__ on November 2, 2005 at 3:16 AM (PDT)

60

I really LOVE my 4G Nano. I've been waiting to buy and iPod for far too long, but after seeing the beauty on one of my co-workers I could no longer resist. It fits perfectly in my sweatshirt pocket, it's light, and the color screen (for my photos) is WAAY awesome! I'm glad I waited. I JUST LOVE MY NANO!

Posted by Karla_M on November 4, 2005 at 4:53 PM (PDT)

61

I'm sold on the Nano 4gb but I am concerned about reports regarding the screen and case being scratched too easily. Is this a matter of care and handling or some design flaws?

Thanks for any comments.

Posted by New to apple on November 14, 2005 at 11:43 PM (PDT)

62

Same here. I had a 4g which was fine and I can't be the only one holding back because of the scratching uncertainty.

Posted by rusto on November 15, 2005 at 2:12 AM (PDT)

63

I bought a 2-GB nano on a whim--was annoyed at people's loud voices in a coffee shop. Boy, this is a wonderful product. Great idea, great design. It's so small that if you have any pockets at all, you can comfortably bring your IPOD. Much better than the days of carrying a big portable CD player that would skip all the time...

I'd say 2GB is plenty for the primary purpose of the nano--listening to your albums/symphonies of the day or playing a playlist/shuffle of several hundred. However, for the latter, it would be nice to have the extra memory. Probably worth the extra $50 in retrospect.

Posted by eipi10 on November 15, 2005 at 1:37 PM (PDT)

64

I've had my 4GB iPod nano for over a month now and I must say I am really pleased. When I first opened it I had heard so much about the scratching that I left the plastic that it came with. That same day I laid it down on the table while I surfed the web. Next thing I knew the back was deeply scratched. Shortly after I put it in my coin pocket screen in first because the headphone output is on the bottom. That scratched up lightly of course even with the plastic on it. So the next day I bought nanotubes. Several more scratches later I found out that the silicon attracted dust and trapted it under the nano and scratched everything possible (still very lightly). I finally settled on an aluminum case which I wish i would have had from the start; it has a hard plastic screen protector! Its worked great though! I love the look and although the amount it holds is a downgrade it still more than enough for most! Just beware....IT SCRATCHES by breathing on it...and I have the white one....I can't imagine the black...

Posted by Idunno on December 25, 2005 at 3:26 PM (PDT)

65

I used my nano with my current USB connector, which i know is not USB 2.0. Will it damage or affect the performance of my nano, other than the fact that it will take longer to upload songs to it.
Thanks very much,
Newb in traning

Posted by dubtome3 on December 25, 2005 at 5:44 PM (PDT)

66

i got my wife a 2g nano for cristmas, she has 162 songs on tere right now, and only 656 megs of free space left. Whats up with that? it says it holds 500 songs. Is there a problem with her ipod?
HELP!!!

Posted by kelnchad on December 27, 2005 at 7:04 AM (PDT)

67

kelnchad- Apple got you... The stats on their website always go for the largest capacity of that model. The site said 500 songs* then you scroll down and the * indicates they are talking about their largest model. Just look at the iPod video, it says it can hold 15,000 songs. But that is the 60gb model, the 30gb model can only hold 7,500. So they tricked you- I hope that makes sense.

Posted by thelastsession on December 27, 2005 at 8:14 PM (PDT)

68

in my opinon, the flash drive is definatly worth the 2 GiG hit any day. My only beef with the nano is the fact that the battery is soldered to the main board...

Posted by demonic_bunny on December 29, 2005 at 3:16 AM (PDT)

69

Hello! =) I recently lost my iPod mini on a trip and I've been heartbroken ever since. The iPod mini satisfied all my needs. The battery life was incredible, the aluminum casing was amazing and the price wasn't that bad either. The only probably I really had with it was the display. It would've been nice if it had a colour display. I've been researching the iPod nano, pros and cons, and I went to FutureShop just yesterday to take a look at it. I really like it though I've had many people complain that it scratches way too easily. Should I wait for Apple to fix this problem/add more memory space, features/lower price (possibly)?

Posted by x.b.r.o.k.e.n.x on December 31, 2005 at 7:22 PM (PDT)

70

To add photos to ur iPod nano, click the ipod icon in the bottom right of iTunes, and then under photos, well, u take it from here...

How do you show a song's album art when you play the song?

Posted by mattlax8 on January 1, 2006 at 1:59 PM (PDT)

Page 3 of 5 pages  <  1 2 3 4 5 >

Recent News

Recent Reviews

Recent Articles

Shop for Accessories: Cases, speakers, chargers, etc.