Apple Computer iPod nano (1GB/2GB/4GB) | iLounge

Reviews

61

I'm sold on the Nano 4gb but I am concerned about reports regarding the screen and case being scratched too easily. Is this a matter of care and handling or some design flaws?

Thanks for any comments.

Posted by New to apple on November 14, 2005 at 11:43 PM (PDT)

62

Same here. I had a 4g which was fine and I can't be the only one holding back because of the scratching uncertainty.

Posted by rusto on November 15, 2005 at 2:12 AM (PDT)

63

I bought a 2-GB nano on a whim--was annoyed at people's loud voices in a coffee shop. Boy, this is a wonderful product. Great idea, great design. It's so small that if you have any pockets at all, you can comfortably bring your IPOD. Much better than the days of carrying a big portable CD player that would skip all the time...

I'd say 2GB is plenty for the primary purpose of the nano--listening to your albums/symphonies of the day or playing a playlist/shuffle of several hundred. However, for the latter, it would be nice to have the extra memory. Probably worth the extra $50 in retrospect.

Posted by eipi10 on November 15, 2005 at 1:37 PM (PDT)

64

I've had my 4GB iPod nano for over a month now and I must say I am really pleased. When I first opened it I had heard so much about the scratching that I left the plastic that it came with. That same day I laid it down on the table while I surfed the web. Next thing I knew the back was deeply scratched. Shortly after I put it in my coin pocket screen in first because the headphone output is on the bottom. That scratched up lightly of course even with the plastic on it. So the next day I bought nanotubes. Several more scratches later I found out that the silicon attracted dust and trapted it under the nano and scratched everything possible (still very lightly). I finally settled on an aluminum case which I wish i would have had from the start; it has a hard plastic screen protector! Its worked great though! I love the look and although the amount it holds is a downgrade it still more than enough for most! Just beware....IT SCRATCHES by breathing on it...and I have the white one....I can't imagine the black...

Posted by Idunno on December 25, 2005 at 3:26 PM (PDT)

65

I used my nano with my current USB connector, which i know is not USB 2.0. Will it damage or affect the performance of my nano, other than the fact that it will take longer to upload songs to it.
Thanks very much,
Newb in traning

Posted by dubtome3 on December 25, 2005 at 5:44 PM (PDT)

66

i got my wife a 2g nano for cristmas, she has 162 songs on tere right now, and only 656 megs of free space left. Whats up with that? it says it holds 500 songs. Is there a problem with her ipod?
HELP!!!

Posted by kelnchad on December 27, 2005 at 7:04 AM (PDT)

67

kelnchad- Apple got you... The stats on their website always go for the largest capacity of that model. The site said 500 songs* then you scroll down and the * indicates they are talking about their largest model. Just look at the iPod video, it says it can hold 15,000 songs. But that is the 60gb model, the 30gb model can only hold 7,500. So they tricked you- I hope that makes sense.

Posted by thelastsession on December 27, 2005 at 8:14 PM (PDT)

68

in my opinon, the flash drive is definatly worth the 2 GiG hit any day. My only beef with the nano is the fact that the battery is soldered to the main board...

Posted by demonic_bunny on December 29, 2005 at 3:16 AM (PDT)

69

Hello! =) I recently lost my iPod mini on a trip and I've been heartbroken ever since. The iPod mini satisfied all my needs. The battery life was incredible, the aluminum casing was amazing and the price wasn't that bad either. The only probably I really had with it was the display. It would've been nice if it had a colour display. I've been researching the iPod nano, pros and cons, and I went to FutureShop just yesterday to take a look at it. I really like it though I've had many people complain that it scratches way too easily. Should I wait for Apple to fix this problem/add more memory space, features/lower price (possibly)?

Posted by x.b.r.o.k.e.n.x on December 31, 2005 at 7:22 PM (PDT)

70

To add photos to ur iPod nano, click the ipod icon in the bottom right of iTunes, and then under photos, well, u take it from here...

How do you show a song's album art when you play the song?

Posted by mattlax8 on January 1, 2006 at 1:59 PM (PDT)

71

if you buy a black nano, it comes with a leather case that's white, what's up with that? the case gets very dirty and the ipod is covered in fingerprints, even though i hold it by the sides. i'm PO'ed at apple fer making it so weak. Also, with the backlight on, it doesn't last an hour! friggen apple...

Posted by mattlax8 on January 1, 2006 at 2:07 PM (PDT)

72

Anyone have a Prozac for mattlax8?

Posted by MarcM on January 2, 2006 at 10:01 PM (PDT)

73

How about a 6gb Nano at the 4gb price.. come on.. Hahahaaa

for 50$ more at the 4gb you can get the 30gb iPod VIDEO.. think people...

Posted by Lordsbassman in Corn Fields of Illinois on February 8, 2006 at 3:44 PM (PDT)

74

I do not own a Nano, but have always been concerned about durability and the issues people have had re: screen cracking and scratches.

The Arc Review is a good one, but there is one MAJOR flaw with their tests -- they only tested its durability over a short time and during extreme circumstances.

Without a case and by keeping the Nano "unsafe" in a pocket, a bag or reasonable mishandling could cause it to ruin over time. Real world daily use might start to affect the devices "fragility."

For a gym, jogging or just general listening at the beach, I picked up a Shuffle. For iPod video, I'm waiting for the real one to emerge.

Posted by mflat5 in USA on February 9, 2006 at 9:11 AM (PDT)

75

Reviewers: I have a question that I can't find the answer to anywhere on the 1GB Nano.

iTunes enables a feature for the shuffles to automatically transcode the music to a lower bitrate so that you can fit more music when you transfer it to the Shuffle. Is this transcoding option available on the 1GB Nano? It is not available on the 2GB and 3GB versions.

This is a great advantage for the Shuffle, as I can fit a lot more music than I can on a 4GB Nano because I store my music in iTunes in lossless.

Thanks to anyone who can answer this.

Posted by ripples on February 10, 2006 at 10:45 AM (PDT)

76

Apple hits it big again. Some people just are wonderin' wahy did Jobs dropped the best iPod ever? It ain't the best one ever (mini, 4me). And the nano actually is doing a very good job replacint the mini. Jeremy please, tell me what u think about this, cause there are so much people that keep buyin' the mini . (where it is available)

Jeremy ur my idol

Posted by luisy on February 10, 2006 at 2:56 PM (PDT)

77

ripples:
No, unfortunately not. Nor is autofill. The 1GB nano is functionally equivalent, hardware and software, to the 2 and 4GB models.

Posted by Jerrod H. in TX on February 11, 2006 at 11:11 AM (PDT)

78

Why is my 1gb iPod nano screen dim...Doesn't look the same as the others...did i miss something?

Posted by powerseller0067 on February 13, 2006 at 10:25 PM (PDT)

79

i need to ask a Q why is it i was listening to my ipod and i was shaking it (i don't know why but i just felt like it) and i heard somthing raddiling around in thier i don't know what it was but it was friekni me out but it still plays great.if you guys know buy the iPod video that if you turn it on its side so the screen is facing the ground and you turn it over real qiuck you here a click or something raddilng around in thier and thats because the video has a internal hard drive in thire and the ipod thinks its falling so i locks the disks up in the hardrive and anyway it a safty mechinism ang thats good for the video but the nano doesn;t have a hardrive it has a flash disk memory so thats frecky for that to happen to the nano when it doesn't have a hardrive so mabye the flash disk memory is free and rattles around or mabye I just have a problem with mine try yours and if it happens tell me or talk to me or whatever you do well bye


T.Y.L.E.R

Posted by NanobOy8613 on February 14, 2006 at 3:40 PM (PDT)

80

I just purchased a black 1gig ipod nano. I love this thing. It's my first ipod and I see why they're so popular now.

Personally I don't see any problem with this unit. The screen is very sharp and very bright. Just amazing. The controls are wonderful (logical). The sound quality is great with both the included apple earbuds and with my Grado SR60 headphones.

It does certainly pick up smudges and finger prints like no ones business, but anything you use is going to get slighlty worn and damaged over time. So long as it keeps working there shouldn't be any problem.

I chose the 1gig model first off because of price. Even through $50 isn't much of a difference in the long run, I'm a little strapped for cash at the moment and that $50 can go towards some nice accessories for it instead. Like an itrip for my car.

I really don't listen to more then a few playlists at a time anyway. So 1gig is plenty of space.

I have a feeling the nano will be the most useful ipod out there for most people. It's the perfect size to just throw in your pocket (you can barely tell it's there) and it has a lot of options.

Posted by roxics on February 14, 2006 at 6:38 PM (PDT)

Page 4 of 5 pages « First  <  2 3 4 5 >

Recent News

Recent Reviews

Recent Articles

Shop for Accessories: Cases, speakers, chargers, etc.