Griffin SmartDeck Intelligent Cassette Adapter for iPod (Headphone/Dock Connector Versions) | iLounge

Reviews

1

Still showing pre-order on their website, and I've had no confirmation that my order (placed when it was first announced) has moved from pre-order status.

Posted by n9yty on September 29, 2005 at 6:26 PM (PDT)

2

Anyone know if the iPod controls still work when the cassette is plugged in?

Posted by spidey on September 30, 2005 at 8:08 AM (PDT)

3

I've had one of these things on order for months. Now they tell me that Play/Pause won't work with my 3G iPod. So what the hell good is then?

I cancelled my order.

Posted by Mr Strat on September 30, 2005 at 8:08 AM (PDT)

4

Just to clarify: can i plug the smart deck into the extended headphone jack of my 3G and still charge using a dock-connection charger?

Posted by DevonS31 in Westfield, NJ on September 30, 2005 at 8:33 AM (PDT)

5

"Another update after that - date yet to be determined - will let nano (and other iPod) users simultaneously charge their iPods and hear output from SmartDeck."

Emailed Griffin yesterday:

Question:

Hello, I read in a recent review that there are plans to release the SmartDeck in the near future with capabilities to charge the ipod while in use. I was just wondering if there is an approximate time frame as to when this updated product will be released.

Answer:

Unfortunately, we are not allowed to comment on unannounced products or
features.

Posted by monohombre on September 30, 2005 at 9:32 PM (PDT)

6

I love this cassette adaptor. It fulfills every need I have for such a device. My car has a hands free bluetooth phone and a voice activated navigation syste (Acura TL 2005).

I love the way the SmartDeck pauses the player when I take or make a phone call or give instructions to the navigation system.

Another plus is that turning on or off the ignition causes the Ipod to play or pause. No more backtracking an audiobook to find what I last heard.

The sound quality is very good except for a kind of tinny background hum that I hope to learn to tune out.

I am very satisfied!

Posted by auntnancy on October 7, 2005 at 2:01 PM (PDT)

7

ummm... What's a cassette?

Posted by hyperactive in Houston on October 8, 2005 at 9:15 AM (PDT)

8

Howdy,

Does this thing work with the new 5g video ipods? It seems to have a more complicated plug than my new unit has....

Posted by ludite on November 28, 2005 at 2:38 PM (PDT)

9

Well... no joy with my Lexus or the wifes Nissan. It played music from my 5G just fine, but wouldn't change tracks or scan tracks, all it would do is pause. This thing is going back to the Apple store.

Posted by vnman63 on December 14, 2005 at 12:11 AM (PDT)

10

Mixed results with 5g in Toyota 4runner (2003). Sometimes the track advances, other times the same command restarts the track playing at the time. One other problem, and I don't know if this is a Smartdeck issue or not. It starts out sounding great, but as things warm up, sound quality goes south in a hurry, sort of like old 8 tracks when the heads got dirty.... Does this sound like a car stereo problem or a Smartdeck problem?

Posted by ludite on December 14, 2005 at 4:15 PM (PDT)

11

Does not work in a stock 2002 Chevy Tahoe or 2002 Chevy Impala stereo.

Posted by Bob Reck in Baltimore, MD on December 19, 2005 at 9:40 PM (PDT)

12

I just received an iPod for christmas and I want to know how the sound quality of this using the smart deck adapter compared with say the audio quality from a cd. Are they even comparable, or does this made the ipod sound like it is a tape ?

Thank You smile

Posted by bs1175 on December 21, 2005 at 11:23 PM (PDT)

13

Purchased this yesterday hoping it would end all the hiss and static experienced with the I-Trip. So far I am very dissapointed. Planning on returning and swapping to retest but not feeling very hopeful.

Posted by gotmusic? on December 30, 2005 at 6:12 PM (PDT)

14

Does anyone have any experience with the SmartDeck and a 2000 Jetta (w/ Monsoon Audio - dealer upgrade).. I've tried some regular casette adapters and none of them will fit in the tape deck...

Posted by milkmage on December 31, 2005 at 12:26 PM (PDT)

15

Well. I was very excited when i got my long awaited SmartDeck. My ipod's (3rd gen/nano) keeps pausing and skipping songs.. grrr... i guess i'll have to return mine back and wait forever to get a replacement.

Posted by basiq on January 1, 2006 at 8:22 PM (PDT)

16

Anyone have any rattling noises with their SmartDeck? I have 2003 Nissan Murano and it the SmartDeck controls the iPod perfectly, but there is a very loud rattling noise coming from the deck.

Posted by KathysIpod on January 3, 2006 at 10:53 PM (PDT)

17

The people at the Apple store told me that this would specifically work in a 2003 VW Beetle...it doesn't. I sat in the car for about 30 minutes trying to get it to work. Needless to say I've returned it. Does it work in anyoooones car?

Posted by HIPPICIDE on January 4, 2006 at 9:37 PM (PDT)

18

What a piece! When I bought it, I had my doubts...so I walk out of Best Buy with my new adapter, stick it in my 2003 VW Golf Monsoon stereo and voila! Nothing. Very loud noises, grinding, unhappy stereo, no response on stereo buttons, and muffled audio coming out of my sweet new 60gig 5g. I tried changin tape sides, pushin play, stop, patience, anything! Everything! Again, nothing. Then, the display on my stereo starts reading "Error"...freezes. If you own a VW with a Monsoon stereo, don't buy this cheap piece of plastic. I turned around and walked it right back into Best Buy for a full refund, went back to my regular, great-sounding headphone tape adapter.

Posted by pageffect on January 5, 2006 at 8:06 PM (PDT)

19

I bought a Radio Shack brand cassette adapter; after 3 or 4 songs, it sounded like the tape deck was trying to auto-reverse the "tape", couldn't, and ejected it. Just a few seconds play on attempt 2, original behavior on try 3, etc.

I'm glad the SmartDeck works with my iPod Photo, and the good Acura TL 2005 is hopeful; has anyone used it with an Acura TL 1999?

Posted by tonyv on January 8, 2006 at 9:18 AM (PDT)

20

I just bought one. It works as advertised and makes life a lot easier for those of us who need to concentrate on driving rather than fiddling with the iPod or the iTrip, as it lets you control the iPod the same way you navigate an audio cassette. I hope that when Griffin makes the next version (the promised one that will allow you to use the iPod's line out AND recharge the iPod at the same time) comes in a choice of white or black to match the iPod's colour and the car's dashboard colour. My version is the one with the headphone+remote plug. Works like a charm and doesn't give me any difficulties.

My dad's 2003 VW Bug with a monsoon stereo works perfectly just fine with the SmartDeck, but it might have something to do with the fact that mine's the one that plugs into the TOP of the iPod.

Posted by Cube All on January 9, 2006 at 6:51 PM (PDT)

Page 1 of 2 pages  1 2 >

Recent News

Recent Reviews

Recent Articles

Shop for Accessories: Cases, speakers, chargers, etc.