Apple Computer iPod 5G with Video (30GB/60GB) | iLounge

Reviews

1

Great review!

Posted by steehl on October 20, 2005 at 5:54 AM (PDT)

2

Typically outstanding and exhaustive job by iLounge! You guys are really setting the standard...

Posted by bipto in Minneapolis, MN on October 20, 2005 at 5:58 AM (PDT)

3

Great, comprehensive review! I would like to know if the 5G iPod can be synchronized with multiple iTunes libraries, like the 4G iPod. I recently bought an iPod Shuffle and it was a major problem (at least for me) not being able to use it on multiple iTunes libraries on different computers. Thanks.

Posted by Bruf on October 20, 2005 at 6:43 AM (PDT)

4

I'm aware of the TV-out, and the remote control accessory... does anyone know if it's possible to display menus on a TV, and navigate menus, playlists, songs, etc.?

Posted by robreams on October 20, 2005 at 7:48 AM (PDT)

5

Nobody is suggesting watching movies on it, the point is short video clips such as music videos, video podcasts, short films, or (40 min) TV shows.

And for that 2.5" is "good enough". You said so yourself: "we did not believe that we would feel this way, but videos that have been properly optimized for the 320x240 display screen look good."

It's the best music playing device from apple yet that is also adequate for casual video viewing.

Your gripe with the PSP is that its too big, and not portable enough. Seem's kind of schizophrenic.

What the ipod does need now is a better battery. And the key thing; content on itunes. (and a firmware update that add's support to more video formats)

Posted by webby on October 20, 2005 at 7:57 AM (PDT)

6

Great review, having had all gen's 1-4 it is a shame about the loss of the remote port. I need it for use on my motorcycle . The new 5g is beautiful.To bad I can't use it !!!

Posted by Brads214 on October 20, 2005 at 8:02 AM (PDT)

7

People keep complaining about the screen. Work it out....bigger screen = bigger ipod..

Why would you want that?

Its nots a Video iPod, its an iPod that supports video playback.
And that is actaully different

Posted by PS65 on October 20, 2005 at 9:06 AM (PDT)

8

Great reveiw lounge,

the Audio segment is great stuff.

i wish apple would have upgraded the

capacity and battery a little more though.

ah, maybe a little later.

Posted by Apple_iPod on October 20, 2005 at 9:41 AM (PDT)

9

Webby: There is a difference between "good" and "great" and "ideal." Yes, it's good. Not great. And we'd like to be able to choose what sort of video content we'd like to watch on it without the artificial restriction of "pick short clips because that's what it can handle."

PS65: The ways to get a bigger screen onto an existing iPod footprint are these: (1) change the device's orientation permanently or temporarily to horizontal, (2) offload Click Wheel onto a remote control and use entire face of iPod for screen, or (3) integrate Click Wheel into screen with touchscreen surface.

Posted by Jeremy Horwitz in East Amherst, NY, USA on October 20, 2005 at 9:57 AM (PDT)

10

Great review as always Jeremy.

I'm still uncomfortable with the comparisons to the PSP and Vision, although I do see why you guys have been doing it since the release last week. Especially, the PSP.

Posted by morpheus.com on October 20, 2005 at 10:12 AM (PDT)

11

lol the ipod itself is absolutly NOTHING compared to the mp3 player Microsoft is comming out with in 2006. Just wait and see, oh boy oh boy!

Posted by Gamblor on October 20, 2005 at 10:46 AM (PDT)

12

What MP3 player would this be then Gamblor? I'm intrigued... If it really will be better than the iPod, as you said, then I am very, very intrigued. I have a strong feeling that your words are just someone wishing that Microsoft's new player will, this time around, actually be the legendary "iPod killer" and not just another flunk like all the other attempts. We'll see.

Posted by louispavlo in Southampton, UK on October 20, 2005 at 11:45 AM (PDT)

13

Great reveiw Jeremy, I appreciate the forethought shown by having the collapsable menus system i read the whole thing but i understand why some wouldn't so good job. Also is there any indication yet whether the iTalk that will be compatible with the 5G will have the digital gain adjustment expected in a upcoming iteration or if it will be a rushed one first that is the current model but compatible? Gamblor you wouldn't happen to live in Redmond,WA would you?

Posted by JuanoTejano on October 20, 2005 at 12:01 PM (PDT)

14

robreams, I had the same question. Looks like it can't...

http://forums.ilounge.com/showthread.php?s=&threadid=124254

Posted by mpb2000 on October 20, 2005 at 12:02 PM (PDT)

15

If I had designed this iPod, I would have left it the same thickness and about tripled the battery capacity.

Posted by LukeA on October 20, 2005 at 12:17 PM (PDT)

16

Jeremy, nice job! A ton of data, don't know how you do it. Thanks for another great distillation of the changes to the 5G iPod.

It will be most interesting to follow the video saga as it unfolds.

My 5G 60GB is shipping today.

Posted by runningman on October 20, 2005 at 12:52 PM (PDT)

17

There couldn'e BE a "great" video iPod now. It would flop no matter what.

Apple is moving into video in the way that makes sense.

Posted by Nagromme on October 20, 2005 at 12:52 PM (PDT)

18

Hey- they were able to play 720 x 320 24FPS MPEG4 video! That is amazing! That should give great output to a TV set. I bet by cutting to say 640 x XXX, you could minimize artifacting. I don't know the max bitrate you can push through, but with 2-pass encoding I think DVD's could look great in MPEG4 at that resolution...

Posted by madmaxmedia in Los Angeles, CA on October 20, 2005 at 12:58 PM (PDT)

19

"We’d like to be able to choose what sort of video content we’d like to watch on it without the artificial restriction of “pick short clips because that’s what it can handle.? -- Without a movie store deal Apple will not want to release an ipod suitable for playing movies. The current ipod suits the current content they can offer on iTunes.

"The ways to get a bigger screen onto an existing iPod footprint are these: (1) change the device’s orientation permanently or temporarily to horizontal, (2) offload Click Wheel onto a remote control and use entire face of iPod for screen, or (3) integrate Click Wheel into screen with touchscreen surface." -- Jeremy, no offence but those are bad ideas.

A touchscreen will be a lot more expansive to make so the current price points will not be maintained. You will have fingerprints on your screen that you want to view so badly. And lastly, you won't have any feedback like you have now from the clickwheel.

A remote control is not an elegant solution, and a clickwheel is in large part what makes an ipod an ipod.

Making it horizontal like the many mockups that have been flowing around before the 5G's were introduced is the only logical idea you listed.

However, if the current ipods screen is 2.5" and 320x240... you can double it to 5" and 640x480, and that will equal DVD resolution and will be VERY watchable. Good enough for movies. And you still won't have to change the formfactor of the ipods, you can fit a 5" screen on there.

Jeremy, you wrote a great review and of course I understand and want the same things as you. But video is a whole diffrent thing from audio, up till now it has not been proven yet that there exists a market for it. And that is what steve is doing with this ipod, the key to all of this is the content.

His going to sell a few million of the new full sized ipods, look over the stats from the itunes video store and then show them to the movie studios and say: "look guys, here you go this proves it, people want portable video, people will rather have digital distribution, I can make this work like I did with music." Then his going to sign a deal to be able to provide a very broad range of video content, lots of TV, movies... and intro the new, ipod (this time his going to say "video ipod") with itunes 7.

Would you rather he do this right and wait an extra year or come out with something early that's rushed and incomplete?

The real problems with this ipods are the battery life (that needs to go up now that it plays a little video), and the lack of support for other formats.

I think that if you didn't have to convert your videos and would have gotten an hour or two more of video playback you would have given it an A, or maybe an A+ even.

Eugene. (.(JavaScript must be enabled to view this email address) if you want)

Posted by webby on October 20, 2005 at 1:54 PM (PDT)

20

Eugene/Webby,

We know what Apple's goal is with this, and we are not in any way saying that it is a bad strategy. But to answer your question directly:

"Would you rather he do this right and wait an extra year or come out with something early that’s rushed and incomplete?"

The answer is, "do this right." To us, right is a somewhat larger widescreen with higher resolution display capability and higher resolution output capability, with considerably wider format support.

Those three suggestions aren't meant to be equal or ideal, but of the three of them, the horizontal one does make the most sense. Re: the touchscreen, entirely agreed, but have you seen a black nano or 5G yet? Is there a difference any more? grin

It would unquestionably have been a better product if it supported more video formats. Battery life? Just make it user-swappable and we'll be happy (as will everyone else). And a flat A? Needs a better screen. A+? Needs to be $199. grin

Posted by Jeremy Horwitz in East Amherst, NY, USA on October 20, 2005 at 3:20 PM (PDT)

Page 1 of 7 pages  1 2 3 >  Last »

Recent News

Recent Reviews

Recent Articles

Shop for Accessories: Cases, speakers, chargers, etc.