Apple Computer iPod 5G with Video (30GB/60GB) | iLounge

Reviews

101

I just bought the 60GB last night to replace my 4th gen iPod (no photo). Overall it's a nice upgrade. More space, color, photo viewer, video player, and extended battery life. But I also have a nice list of disappointments. As mentioned in the Cons...

(Dual G5 2.0GHz / 1.5GB ram)
- no more firewire support: took almost an hour to transfer 32GB of music. I feel usb 2.0 is a lot slower than firewire

- no power adapter included

- album cover is saved for EVERY song not every album. (ie. 1 album with 10 songs will have 10 of the same album covers = takes up space - no worries if you don't have a lot of music files)

- docking station not included

Hopefully this helps anyone who is borderline wanting to upgrade

Posted by w1n78 on November 10, 2005 at 4:19 PM (PDT)

102

Amazing review, I've read other reviews that were great, but yours is so detailed it borders on creepy. I'm definatly getting a 5G iPod, even if you said it was crap I need to replace my poor, outdated mini. I'm also disapointed with the video, I was hoping for a truly portable video iPod, but it sounds pretty limited. Not bad for a first try though, I'm sure the 6G and 7G will make huge strides in the video aspect and eventually the iPod's will be amazing video players. I really want iTunes to become a conversion tool but as long as I can get Family Guy onto my iPod with decent quality I'll be happy. Keep up the good work guys.

Posted by PimpyMicPimp on November 12, 2005 at 4:16 AM (PDT)

103

Hey I just got my new 5G iPod to replace my 4G B&W.

I think the video is really good and I have put season three of Alias on it along with my iMovies of my holidays and a gazilian video clips. There is nothing really that I am dissapointed with the video. I don't really mind converting my video to h.264 or MPEG 4 and it looks great on the iPod. I watched 3 episodes of Alias in a row and the battery held out and my eyes did not get tired. And even still if my eyes did get tired, video looks great on a TV (Depending on the bit rate).

I love this thing and I think it is the best iPod yet. I must say though, a 60Gb is really worth it over the 30Gb.

Rock on Apple! Keep 'em comming!

Cheers,
Hayden

Posted by ihayden on November 15, 2005 at 1:17 AM (PDT)

104

After putting it off for a few years, I finally took the plunge and bought my first iPod, a black 5G (it matches my cat.) I couldn't be happier. I'd contemplated it for a couple weeks (and that was also partly due to having to wait for a paycheck), but even after two weeks of deep pondering, I still decided it was the best player for me. I'd looked at the Archos jukeboxes, which were admittedly nice, but in the end I still went with the iPod. Having video is nice, but I was still primarily in the market for a music player. The 5G fit the bill perfectly.

For existing owners: Yes, the lack of support for older accessories may be a turn-off, depending on how attached you are to your current toys. For first-time iPod owners, though, it shouldn't be a cause for concern. I think consolidating everything into one port is a good idea (granted, they probably should've done that to begin with, but that's how technology is sometimes for better or worse.) I'd even considered the PSP, but considering that I'm not a big gamer (and again, video being secondary) I passed. I also don't like the PSP's proprietary memory format, as well as the cost itself of the MemorySticks. And what really killed it for me was that the PSP uses proprietary UMD discs for movies, which wouldn't be so bad if the PSP had video out capabilities. I think that's the one really big mistake on Sony's part with the PSP's design.

At any rate, I've fallen in love with my 5G (and nobody can deny the sexiness of the black version!) I've used Videora's iPod conversion tool and have had pretty good results so far, with realitively minor tweaking here and there. In fact, I was watching Chappelle's "Rick James" episode on my iPod earlier today during my lunch break. My only gripe is that it didn't come with a "wall wart" for away-from-computer charging, but I leave it plugged into my PC at night and it's ready to go with me in the morning (I generally use my PC/iTunes as my stereo at home, so the iPod doesn't get much use inside the house anyways.) Besides that, I think the new iPod is the best player in it's price range, bar none.

Posted by mothwingdust on November 16, 2005 at 1:10 AM (PDT)

105

i'd like to add spmething that i'm not sure if anyone else had picked up (and i really can't be bothered to read all that ^^^^^^, you all write to much) but with the video issue and not having enough potions for formats, if you read the ipod spesc apple say that the firmware is updatable so it can support further formats in the future: "Upgradable firmware enables support for future video formats" (just in case you didn't believe me) i hope that helps with the not bagging of the iPod, and i really hope someone does a story on what Apple might hold for the future of the iPod.

Cya, Al.

Posted by axman6 on November 16, 2005 at 4:11 AM (PDT)

106

Hello everyone !! , just wanted to say thank you for your help on the new Ipod with video. I recently purchased the video ipod 30 gigs and I must say I had problems converting a bunch of avi files with the program that it came with. But with a alittle research I found out a bunch of programs in which you can convert them to " MP4 " format. Anyone who doesnt know that Mp4 is a type of format in which the ipod will accept. Just go to google and type " Convert avi to MP4 " and you will get lots of programs to try out. Now I have 3 divx movies, 45 music videos, I even converted a few quicktime videos "Mov" that I recorded with my digital camera to my ipod. Now my question is how do I connect it to my tv ?I must need a special cable to do that. The help will be appreciate it. thnx again for the info ! peace !

Posted by deepthought2005 on November 20, 2005 at 7:24 AM (PDT)

107

Oh , I forgot another thing. How do you add a photo folder ? For some reason I deleted it. Another question... How do I add a note folder ? thnx

Posted by deepthought2005 on November 20, 2005 at 7:29 AM (PDT)

108

This is a useful piece of software to convert your vids into ipod format.

http://www.videora.com/en-us/Converter/iPod/

Posted by noone on November 25, 2005 at 6:06 PM (PDT)

109

Have 30gig video ipod am watching blade runner converted with Total Video Converter
converted this movie as .mov but sound keeps going & will return when i go to menu then back to movie picture quality is good.have converted a few music vids but the best quality was the vid downloaded from apple store.

Posted by zedmano on November 27, 2005 at 8:00 AM (PDT)

110

You can even get a $30 discount at the Apple store if you declare yourself as a student or faculty (they never ask my student id, and just asked my university name) The clerk told me this offer is only valid for video pods (and may be time sensitive offer, do check it out). So take advantage of this [secret] offer soon during the holidays.

Posted by TheEye on December 7, 2005 at 9:27 AM (PDT)

111

Im still considering if i should splash the cash on the current ipod video ... or should i just wait a few months later to see if there are new ipods ... ipod video "shocked" nano buyers ... video release for around a month later after the release of nano !? many nano holders went like "what a bummer.. should have waited" and stuff hmmm...

Posted by broodlet on December 14, 2005 at 12:17 AM (PDT)

112

dose anyone know if the firewire wall charger works with 5G?

Posted by bmcgrew on December 15, 2005 at 8:14 PM (PDT)

113

I might as well be picking one of these up in the future. I mean, it is just what I am looking for really.

Posted by Pghmyn on December 19, 2005 at 5:27 PM (PDT)

114

Is THere any way fricken possible to download a movie. Because I met this guy at wallmart that said you can use vidora and dvdencripter To over ride the dvd junk. Which would make it possible to watch movies if I could find these 2 programs. He also said you can dowlaod these 2 programs for free. BTW i really like your site it has been very helpfull except for with this one thing

Overall Review = Very Good Love It

Posted by slickc on December 26, 2005 at 9:30 PM (PDT)

115

I just got the 30G iPod for Christmas and (as a first time owner) I love it. I downloaded my music and photos with ease and had plenty of room to spare.

I've read a lot of differing opinions about the video aspects of the iPod and I tried myself to download a DVD using Videora (I'm on a PC). What I end up with is a video, soundtrack but no speech. I've tried downloading several times in different formats (H264 vs. MP4 @ 320x240 in multiple fps and audio combinations), I did try the default setting with no better results.

If anyone has had any success/ideas, please let me know.

Frattman

Posted by Frattman on December 28, 2005 at 10:06 AM (PDT)

116

What does the reliability of the 30GB look like? The 40GB click wheel iPod I bought for my husband for Christmas last year died (hard drive fried) 360 days after he opened the box but one year and 3 weeks past when I bought it. Appeals to an Apple Store and the "Apple Cares" (how's that for an oxymoron?) phone line fell on deaf ears. They were unwilling to make any exception or provide discounts on a replacement, "...our warranty clearly states...from the date of purchase...". While this experience would keep me from ever buying another Apple product, he has his heart set on another iPod.

Posted by greenuser on December 30, 2005 at 12:28 PM (PDT)

117

Two things:

1. Some of you are acting like iLounge hates this iPod. They gave it an A-, so please relax a little bit. Everyone still thinks this is a good iPod.

2. This said, Apple is not marketing a portable video player with an iPod logo on it. Who ever said that video was suddenly the focus of the new iPod? Sure, video is new, so it's getting a lot of attention, but the iPod's main feature continues to be audio playback. Thus, there is no need to get all upset about the iPod's video performance because Apple is not trying to rival Creative's or Sony's video devices (yet). I believe that audio will always be the focus of the iPod line, but I do agree with those who are saying that Apple is going to tighten its grip on the video business and that, logically, they are taking baby steps first with the 5G.

Posted by ajkeh on December 31, 2005 at 9:38 AM (PDT)

118

I have waited... and now I finally own My first iPod [60gb Black]

What a wonderful tool for a (Sound Guy)just plug it into the soundboard and everything is with you!

**I dislike how easy the scratches appear!

Posted by Lordsbassman in Corn Fields of Illinois on January 2, 2006 at 6:07 AM (PDT)

119

After reading your review, I know I will definetly be buying this item! Only problem is that most stores in Winnipeg are sold out...

Posted by imcanadian1 on January 3, 2006 at 4:57 PM (PDT)

120

Very informative review. Apple's decision not to support the use of top-mounted peripherals means I will not be updating to a 5G. There is no way I am going to purchase a new radio transmitter, remote control and microphone. Apple blew it this time.

Posted by wbulldog on January 4, 2006 at 1:59 AM (PDT)

Page 6 of 7 pages « First  <  4 5 6 7 >

Recent News

Recent Reviews

Recent Articles

Shop for Accessories: Cases, speakers, chargers, etc.