Apple Computer iPod 5G with Video (30GB/60GB) | iLounge

Reviews

106

Hello everyone !! , just wanted to say thank you for your help on the new Ipod with video. I recently purchased the video ipod 30 gigs and I must say I had problems converting a bunch of avi files with the program that it came with. But with a alittle research I found out a bunch of programs in which you can convert them to " MP4 " format. Anyone who doesnt know that Mp4 is a type of format in which the ipod will accept. Just go to google and type " Convert avi to MP4 " and you will get lots of programs to try out. Now I have 3 divx movies, 45 music videos, I even converted a few quicktime videos "Mov" that I recorded with my digital camera to my ipod. Now my question is how do I connect it to my tv ?I must need a special cable to do that. The help will be appreciate it. thnx again for the info ! peace !

Posted by deepthought2005 on November 20, 2005 at 7:24 AM (PDT)

107

Oh , I forgot another thing. How do you add a photo folder ? For some reason I deleted it. Another question... How do I add a note folder ? thnx

Posted by deepthought2005 on November 20, 2005 at 7:29 AM (PDT)

108

This is a useful piece of software to convert your vids into ipod format.

http://www.videora.com/en-us/Converter/iPod/

Posted by noone on November 25, 2005 at 6:06 PM (PDT)

109

Have 30gig video ipod am watching blade runner converted with Total Video Converter
converted this movie as .mov but sound keeps going & will return when i go to menu then back to movie picture quality is good.have converted a few music vids but the best quality was the vid downloaded from apple store.

Posted by zedmano on November 27, 2005 at 8:00 AM (PDT)

110

You can even get a $30 discount at the Apple store if you declare yourself as a student or faculty (they never ask my student id, and just asked my university name) The clerk told me this offer is only valid for video pods (and may be time sensitive offer, do check it out). So take advantage of this [secret] offer soon during the holidays.

Posted by TheEye on December 7, 2005 at 9:27 AM (PDT)

111

Im still considering if i should splash the cash on the current ipod video ... or should i just wait a few months later to see if there are new ipods ... ipod video "shocked" nano buyers ... video release for around a month later after the release of nano !? many nano holders went like "what a bummer.. should have waited" and stuff hmmm...

Posted by broodlet on December 14, 2005 at 12:17 AM (PDT)

112

dose anyone know if the firewire wall charger works with 5G?

Posted by bmcgrew on December 15, 2005 at 8:14 PM (PDT)

113

I might as well be picking one of these up in the future. I mean, it is just what I am looking for really.

Posted by Pghmyn on December 19, 2005 at 5:27 PM (PDT)

114

Is THere any way fricken possible to download a movie. Because I met this guy at wallmart that said you can use vidora and dvdencripter To over ride the dvd junk. Which would make it possible to watch movies if I could find these 2 programs. He also said you can dowlaod these 2 programs for free. BTW i really like your site it has been very helpfull except for with this one thing

Overall Review = Very Good Love It

Posted by slickc on December 26, 2005 at 9:30 PM (PDT)

115

I just got the 30G iPod for Christmas and (as a first time owner) I love it. I downloaded my music and photos with ease and had plenty of room to spare.

I've read a lot of differing opinions about the video aspects of the iPod and I tried myself to download a DVD using Videora (I'm on a PC). What I end up with is a video, soundtrack but no speech. I've tried downloading several times in different formats (H264 vs. MP4 @ 320x240 in multiple fps and audio combinations), I did try the default setting with no better results.

If anyone has had any success/ideas, please let me know.

Frattman

Posted by Frattman on December 28, 2005 at 10:06 AM (PDT)

116

What does the reliability of the 30GB look like? The 40GB click wheel iPod I bought for my husband for Christmas last year died (hard drive fried) 360 days after he opened the box but one year and 3 weeks past when I bought it. Appeals to an Apple Store and the "Apple Cares" (how's that for an oxymoron?) phone line fell on deaf ears. They were unwilling to make any exception or provide discounts on a replacement, "...our warranty clearly states...from the date of purchase...". While this experience would keep me from ever buying another Apple product, he has his heart set on another iPod.

Posted by greenuser on December 30, 2005 at 12:28 PM (PDT)

117

Two things:

1. Some of you are acting like iLounge hates this iPod. They gave it an A-, so please relax a little bit. Everyone still thinks this is a good iPod.

2. This said, Apple is not marketing a portable video player with an iPod logo on it. Who ever said that video was suddenly the focus of the new iPod? Sure, video is new, so it's getting a lot of attention, but the iPod's main feature continues to be audio playback. Thus, there is no need to get all upset about the iPod's video performance because Apple is not trying to rival Creative's or Sony's video devices (yet). I believe that audio will always be the focus of the iPod line, but I do agree with those who are saying that Apple is going to tighten its grip on the video business and that, logically, they are taking baby steps first with the 5G.

Posted by ajkeh on December 31, 2005 at 9:38 AM (PDT)

118

I have waited... and now I finally own My first iPod [60gb Black]

What a wonderful tool for a (Sound Guy)just plug it into the soundboard and everything is with you!

**I dislike how easy the scratches appear!

Posted by Lordsbassman in Corn Fields of Illinois on January 2, 2006 at 6:07 AM (PDT)

119

After reading your review, I know I will definetly be buying this item! Only problem is that most stores in Winnipeg are sold out...

Posted by imcanadian1 on January 3, 2006 at 4:57 PM (PDT)

120

Very informative review. Apple's decision not to support the use of top-mounted peripherals means I will not be updating to a 5G. There is no way I am going to purchase a new radio transmitter, remote control and microphone. Apple blew it this time.

Posted by wbulldog on January 4, 2006 at 1:59 AM (PDT)

121

An excellent review and all around a great site! I had been waiting for some time to get an MP3 player, and when I finally got the ok from the wife to spend the money, I had a lot of research to do. I started out with the 5G iPod and was quickly coerced by others to look elsewhere. I was focused on Creative for a while, but was still thinking more about this iPod. When I found your site and read this review, I was sold!! Went on-line that night and ordered my black 5G 60 gig iPod vid, and it arrives this afternoon. I was also able to talk the wife into a new mobo for the USB 2 support (had the current one for years and only supports USB 1.1). While I was at it, I also picked up another gig of RAM. So this damn site is responsibile for me purchasing a very expensive iPod, as well as a new mobo and 2 gigs of RAM. My wife hates you, but you're all on my Christmas card list!

Thank you!!

Paul

Posted by The_Rev on January 4, 2006 at 9:10 AM (PDT)

122

Nice review!

You mentioned it takeing 1-5 times the length of the original movie file to convert. Sounds quite weird since I use Xilisoft videoconverter and it takes only half of the length of the file.
E.g. 10 minutes film => after 5 minutes it's converted. Don't know if you used Mac mini when converting but my pc did it that fast.

Thanks for the review anyway smile

Posted by maxalaatikko on January 8, 2006 at 2:26 PM (PDT)

123

Still deciiding wether to get the ipod nano or the video,ive got a psp so i can watch portable movies on that but the memory sticks are very expensive for the capacity you get.The video is more efishant for the price compared with the nano $350nz and video $500nz ,

Posted by chunkylover53 on January 18, 2006 at 2:39 PM (PDT)

124

Movies - I just bought the Cucusoft Converter Suite and found it really, really easy to use. It converts right from your DVD's, and it will also convert from AVI, MPG, etc. It is a bit spendy at $40, but I think it is well worth it!

BATTERY BACKUP - There were really good reviews on BTI Battery Tech. IPOD Battery III here last year. I found an old/new stock of it. It says it will work on 3rd and 4th generation iPod and iPod Mini. Would this work for the new iPod Video? (I have the 60)

Thanks!

Posted by duck995 on January 22, 2006 at 1:47 AM (PDT)

125

does anyone else have a real short battery life? i'm in love with my 30 gig otherwise

Posted by katiezm on January 25, 2006 at 9:10 PM (PDT)

Page 6 of 7 pages « First  <  4 5 6 7 >

Recent News

Recent Reviews

Recent Articles

Shop for Accessories: Cases, speakers, chargers, etc.