Apple Computer iPod 5G with Video (30GB/60GB) | iLounge

Reviews

126

i got my 60gig ipod last night. i was using a 30gig photo that i was constantly needing to delete songs from in order to put new ones on. even with 60, my music collection doesnt fit. still, im much happier with this new model. i had some problems while updating this ipod. when my ipod was approximately 50% of the way updated, it suddenly disconnected itself and then reconnected itself and started updating all over from scratch. so, it took several hours to get most of my music library onto it. in the end it updated just fine.
i downloaded all the janes addiction videos off itunes and was very impressed and excited by this and the obvious possibilities for the future. i think there is no doubt that the content on itunes will improve in the near future.
i did find myself examining the box it came in, looking for the wall charger. i thought a mistake had been made at the packaging center or something until i read the packed contents on the box. oh well. luckily i have my 30 gig wall charger. i can see how this could be very upsetting to people who dont already have a wall charger. this is ridiculous. i also needed to purchase a new itrips with the built-in charger for $69. oh well. at least my new itrips seems to sound better than the older one i have. for what the ipod is, i cant understand how anyone can really complain about it. im not a rich guy, but its only $399. its a hell of an entertaining item for that price. im totally thrilled with it.

Posted by srandallf on February 2, 2006 at 7:46 AM (PDT)

127

I think I will stick with my 4G ipod cause wats the need for video and the 5g ipod lose battery faster than the 4g so Im sticking with my 4g but the review was great tho.

Posted by Ray447ipod on February 14, 2006 at 12:33 AM (PDT)

128

nice review I got a 30 GB black one know how to save battery now

Posted by Ray447ipod on February 17, 2006 at 9:45 PM (PDT)

129

I got my Video iPod now for 4 months. I like everythings about it but the scratches! I brough iSkin Cover for it and it still scratches... The rubber that touches the iPod will scratch! I clean it with a soft CLEAN cloth it will also scratch it! I can't beleive this is the 5th Generation and Apple still couldn't get it right! Most people bring their iPOD outdoor, I could only guess how their $400 iPOD will looks just after couple of day use!

I brough icleaner, and I am almost finish using the hold bottle only after 4 months... and I put my iPOD in the case! You blow air on top of this iPOD and it will scratch! I got a $100 cell phone that the screen will out perform the iPOD! GOD!

Posted by clementl on March 5, 2006 at 11:31 AM (PDT)

130

I recently purchased a 30G Video Ipod from Apple, and my experience with the battery life is totally at odds with yours. My battery is usually drained after 5 or 6 hours of audio playing. I ran the battery test prescribed on Apple's web site (pretty non-"real world," as it assumes you'll play the same album over and over again and never use backlighting or the EQ), and still got only 8 hours, far less than Apple's claimed 14 hours. I sent it back for replacement and Apple refused to do anything. Their tech support people said that as long as they got 50% or more of the "marketed" battery life on their test, the device "meets expectations." In other words, Apple is completely unwilling to stand by its claims of battery life. That makes the claim, quite simply, an outright lie. I am fast coming to the conclusion that Apple is a company with great products (on paper, anyway) but somewhat shady business practices.

Posted by disappointedwapple on March 8, 2006 at 4:31 PM (PDT)

131

Battery life claims always vary, and depend on many factors. Are you shuffling? That shortens it. Is the light on AT ALL during the playtime? That shortens it. Videos? That shortens it. Is the EQ on? That shortens it. Is the sound check on? That shortens it. This is not just Apple, but EVERY consumer electronics device that states the absolute maximum battery life of their product, under optimal conditions.

Posted by Wilder_K_Wight on September 16, 2006 at 7:31 PM (PDT)

132

ok i like the u2 ipods but you should have another celebrity to come out with there own i pod and make it another color like blue,purple,orange,bluegreen, navy green all those colors.

Posted by tone from chi on October 15, 2006 at 6:41 PM (PDT)

133

wat is the best protective case for the 5th generation ipod video(color)

Posted by mrcanadian on December 26, 2006 at 10:02 PM (PDT)

134

I would have to say I love this iPod BUT i think it feels a bit too sleek in the hands and i think that that the 4g iPod was better and easier in the hands....i also really hate the center button. It feels wobbly and it isn't raised like the previous models. I probly sound a bit picky but it really annoys me.

overall though, this is a great do-it-all mp3 player.

p.s HAS ANYONE ELSE NOTICED THAT THE DOCK CONNECTOR ON THE BOTTOM OF THE CREATIVE ZEN VISION:M IS THE SAME AS THE iPod's?

does anyone know why

Posted by tinny on June 23, 2007 at 1:58 AM (PDT)

Page 7 of 7 pages « First  <  5 6 7

Recent News

Recent Reviews

Recent Articles

Shop for Accessories: Cases, speakers, chargers, etc.