Apple Computer iPod 5G with Video (30GB/60GB) | iLounge

Reviews

61

My wife just told me it arrived this mornig. I´m quite excited about it, after everythig I read I think this ipod has everything I need. I think I see it from the good point of view, cose what i want is a great audio player, that records music as a big plus, and that on top has a good enough color screen that will allow me to see pictures and videos from time to time (maybe 5% of the time at most), I wouldn´t want an bigger screen at the expense of bigger unit size or cost. So better audio player + thinner&lighter; + audio recording + longer lasting batery + bigger and more detailed screen for the same price = are you kidding???? it looks unbelievable if only we didn´t know is true.
The only negative point (not a small one)for me is that the took out the wall charger, c´ammon guys aren´t you selling a portable player ??, but if you are supose to take the computer along with you for the weekend at the beach or mountain, where is the portability anymore???.
I join the request for a AQ comparison between Shuffle and 5th gen Ipod.
And thanks for the great review Ilonge

Posted by felobom on October 24, 2005 at 5:13 AM (PDT)

62

Apple are getting there,
My ideal device is a Archos AV 500 with PDA compatabilities, but built by Apple.
They could have a dual screen iPod, by using the back as a video screen, but for now i'll stick with my 3G.
Keep up the good work iLounge,
PN

Posted by PN on October 24, 2005 at 7:41 AM (PDT)

63

CountessCoolout, I got mine Friday last. used Videora to convert movies. The default Mpeg4/768k/128k setting worked fine. no luck with h264 coz it wont transfer to ipod. And i cant convert wmv files.
Everything was perfect with it, except I got two white dead pixels on the ipod's screen. Apple said they dont cover less than 3 pixels. I found an article saying that more than 1 white pixel should be covered. Told them. Went to leave it at an AppleCare centre, who didnt even know that 5g was out here in singapore. They said they cant replace it coz they dont hav it in stock. They took it and said they get me one as soon as they get it. But the online store had it !@#$% So they'll either get me one someday, or will get me mine back all scratched!!! :s
I'll be hating Apple till they get me a new iPOD. Although I got to test it one day n nite only, any questions plz ask.

Posted by beatoven on October 24, 2005 at 10:36 AM (PDT)

64

Just got my new Ipod Video today (black). I have been holding out, and am glad I did. I cannot say enough good things about this thing. In a word.... awesome. Simply amazing. I hooked this thing up to my home stereo using the (not included) AV cables and was amazed. The only thing that I have noticed thus far, is that with even limited play, the battery power is not going to last anywhere near the 15 hours suggested by Apple. I'm guessing more like 7 hours. But that's ok. Video quality when viewed on a 50Inch widescreen t.v., while obviously from a computer, is much better than I expected. In fact, quite tolerable.
A word of caution, the Griffin Itrip FM transmitters WILL NOT WORK with the new Ipods. Found that one out the hard way, even when Apple's web site sold me something "completely comapatible". Those are the only complaints. This things is the coolest gadget out there. Nothing else can touch it. Really amazing device.

Posted by dzignguy on October 24, 2005 at 4:32 PM (PDT)

65

Dzignguy you said that your Ipod will only last for 7 hours only seems like it becuase the battery metter is off.
I just recived my IPOD on sunday and this is my third I have owned, 3rd gen 20gb, 4th gen 20gb, and now I own this white 30gb Ipod video. It is the cooliest thing for $300. In pictures it is ugly but you need to see it and then you can judge. It is very light and plays videos perfecly. I give it 4.5 stars

Posted by AC1Rider on October 24, 2005 at 6:03 PM (PDT)

66

I saw the new iPods in the Apple store in SF today, and was not at all impressed.

I bought a 20 GB iPod for my son in February. It came with a seperate battery charger, via Firewire, and an additional USB cable.

The new pod does no longer have the charger, so if you want that, that is an additional $29.00. Cha ching for Apple

If you want to keep or play your own videos on it or via a tv, you have to also buy Apple's Quicktime Pro, because the new iPod only plays Apple's proprietary formats Mpeg 4 and H.264 $29.99. Cha ching for Apple

And by the way, QT Pro converts video files to these two formats at a snails pace. I converted a 4 GB 20 minute AVI file to mpeg 4 in about 30 minutes. TMPGEnc does an encoding from thew same file to MPEG 2 in just a few minutes.

Wanna play your video back on a tv. You have to get an iPod AV cable. $19.00 Cha ching for Apple

Furthermore, even though the new iPod is really a miniature tv, there is no way to adjust the brightness or the contrast of the screen. the demos they had on the pods in the Apple store were all extremely dark, with no way to adjust them.

Oops, I seems that I just ran out of space, and I wan'st doen yet. Well, maybe I can complete what I had to say in an additional post.

Posted by zews on October 24, 2005 at 11:31 PM (PDT)

67

The bottom line is, that even though Apple has produced a superior new audio player, they have not really given us anything new as far as video playback is concerned.

And if we want to use these "new" features fully, we have to shell out an additional $80.00 for something that give us only mediocre results.

I am certain that Apple will sell millions of these new iPods over the next few months on the strength of the audio quality alone, but please do not try to convince me, that the world is going to watch video on or through this toy.

This video player is clearly not ready for prime time, at least not until they have upgraded it to allow for playback of well accepted standards of video formats.

And they should at least include a free servicable video converter software package, if they insist that we can only play back their proprietary formats. And that does not include the current QT Pro, which is just much too slow with too few option for anyone in their right mind to want to use it, other than occasionaly.

Posted by zews on October 24, 2005 at 11:38 PM (PDT)

68

hi!

about the formats: as i am an apple user , i dont need to care about how many formats apple support , because most of my movies and videos are in .mov or .mpeg , some in .avi , but they can be transfered with a click..i dont know how is it going on Pcs

about battery life..: i think the coolest thing in this new ipod is that it is thin! if i imagne that they make it in the same thickness as the 4G , but make it wider than it , that would be a monstrum.. and you would say , that "they could have been make it thinner!

my biggest problem is that now , when i am selling the familie's ipods(2 peaces , 2 40gigs) , i need to incude all assesories with it , exept the ipod socks , because they are not compatible..we have docks , iTrips , etc..:(


but howewer , we need to notice , that ipod is an ipod , not a portiple video player..this is a cool feature , but nothng more..unfortunetly i dont have an ipod yet , beacause i live in central europe , and they will start to sell it in two mounth , so i have to wait for my friend to come home today from the US with my new ipod)

I cant imagne how am looking forward the evening , when my friend arrives..

Andrea from Hungary(.(JavaScript must be enabled to view this email address))

P.S.: how is it going on in the US? i heard that there are huge ques in apple stores with people buying more than one ipod:D

bye

Posted by Anjou89 on October 25, 2005 at 8:47 AM (PDT)

69

yo!
i just got the ipod! it rocks!!!
it looks great very sexy like a ferrari.
the screen is not that small for the videos it is not true, i think it is very nice!

give it a go!
its great!

Posted by arsenij on October 25, 2005 at 3:45 PM (PDT)

70

Anyone know when the iPod is hitting Australia? I really want one but I can't get it yet! So close yet so far away!

Anyone know?

Posted by ihayden on October 26, 2005 at 1:16 AM (PDT)

71

That's incredible..yes , arsenij is right! videos look sooo great on it!

i got it yesterday , but i was not really able to use it:)my friends attacked it like animals:D

i only have one problem: why could it be that iTunes say that some of my movies cant play on ipod , when they are in .mov format?

Could someone pls drop me a mail?

thank yoe so much?

P.S.: Australia????that is a modern country , that will be there soon..but Hungary.........

Posted by Anjou89 on October 26, 2005 at 7:59 AM (PDT)

72

Nice review. So we can't use the Griffin Airclick or any other remote control with it? Is there any way to use a remote? I was hoping to buy some Creature speakers and remote so I can ditch the stereo system!

Posted by mosschops on October 26, 2005 at 9:09 AM (PDT)

73

does it play all video's that play on itunes?

Posted by William M. on October 26, 2005 at 1:40 PM (PDT)

74

hey Anjou89,
i had the same problem, but i have not tryed to solve it but i think it is to do something with the size of the video (240x300) or something like it.
i don't know why Australia has not got it, i czech republik has not go it too yet.
i think it is to do something with shipping to the country from California and also with buying right to sell it in that country.
Who got the new ipod will know what I am talking about: you know the clear sticker which was on the front of the ipod when you got it?
Is there the same kind of skin for the ipod?
I think its is what the ipod users need.
Please tell me if you know.
Thx
And enjoy the video revolution after MP3 revolution.

Plus anjou89 I know how you feel about your friends getting it, when I brought it to my college my girlfriend went around the classes and showed everyone she gave it to me after 4 hours and I MISSED IT!
I think that the black colour made the BAG it looks very sexy as being black colour ipod.
Also the video is seen better on black then of white background? What do you think?

Posted by arsenij on October 26, 2005 at 2:48 PM (PDT)

75

William M:

No it doesn't... only H.264, 320x240 and MP4, 480x480.

Posted by ihayden on October 26, 2005 at 4:58 PM (PDT)

76

what converters work so u can get your wmv. mpeg 1 and avi. onto an iPod

Posted by William M. on October 27, 2005 at 7:34 AM (PDT)

77

Is it just my 5g iPod, or is it everybody's... when scrolling through the menu's, especially when playing a song, my new iPod doesnt scroll as smooth, or as quickly as my old 4g color one. Its kinda noticeable... is everyone's like this?

Posted by WldBluYonder21 on October 27, 2005 at 8:01 AM (PDT)

78

Hi arsennij!

Ya misunderstood me! i've got an ipod..!!!!my friend brought it for me from New York...he lives in New York , and came here for vecation..smile right in time:)
they say that it will available in obout one-two mounth...

others: those videos are in mpeg and mpg..some cleverer than me says that , these files are in that kind of formatt tthat the sound is mixed on it , or i dont know , ant that is why if i convert them into for ex .mov , they dont have sound..thats bad...i donno what to do..

bye

Posted by Anjou89 on October 27, 2005 at 8:41 AM (PDT)

79

Where's the Bluetooth?

Posted by AVGeek on October 27, 2005 at 4:39 PM (PDT)

80

Under "cons" this review said that it lacked free software to convert your existing videos, which is untrue. ffmpegx works wonderfully.
http://homepage.mac.com/major4/ is where more information and a download can be found.
Cheers

Posted by laukkanen on October 27, 2005 at 8:30 PM (PDT)

Page 4 of 7 pages « First  <  2 3 4 5 6 >  Last »

Recent News

Recent Reviews

Recent Articles

Shop for Accessories: Cases, speakers, chargers, etc.