iSkin Duo for iPod nano | iLounge

Reviews

41

I just received a black nano and have been thinking about getting an iSkin case based on positive experiences our family has had with iSkin products.

My challenge is choosing the color. The case I really wanted is Arctic Frost, thinking the black would either look like it's glowing inside or it would be covered up (either is fine, just don't want it to look stupid).

It's really hard to tell from the iSkin website whether the purple case or the blue and white case would look good over the black Nano. Also wondering whether the purple and the blue are similar in tone to the cases issued for the earlier generations of iPods.

Would appreciate anyone's comments. I haven't taken the nano out of the packaging yet -- believe me that's painful -- and am trying not to until I have the case since I know about the "scratching" problem.

Thank you to anyone who has one of these colors of cases or a black nano and has any suggestions on good combinations. I'm not a fan of orange or I would go for the carbon blast.......

Posted by hoomalimali on December 31, 2005 at 6:53 PM (PDT)

42

hoomalimali,
I got the black ipodnano for xmas and i bought the sonic boom colour for the cases and it looks great.

Posted by ipodnano4ever on January 1, 2006 at 7:01 PM (PDT)

43

ok I have the black nano, will the Artic frost look nice with it.

Posted by babydoll on January 5, 2006 at 12:13 PM (PDT)

44

I have a black nano, and yes, the arctic frost will look pretty good on the black. The "clear" inner layer appears to actually be frosted. The black shows through, but it's a tiny bit clouded. Here is a link to see a picture of what it looks like:
http://www.iskin.com/store/I2shop_duonano.tpl
The picture on the top that says "nano's soulmate" shows a picture of a guy holding a nano in an arctic frost skin. You can tell it's a black nano because the click wheel appears gray-sh black, wheraes in the stock photo it is white/clear. Hope this helped ( :

Posted by nixiecoolgirl on January 5, 2006 at 2:52 PM (PDT)

45

Thanks ipodnano4ever and nixiecoolgirl!! I'm gonna order my case today.

Only negative I see with the iSkin product is that there aren't enough pictures on the website to really tell how the combinations look. (Check out the purple and the sonic boom pictures to see what I mean.)

Posted by hoomalimali on January 5, 2006 at 6:57 PM (PDT)

46

hoomalimali, no problem ( : I like 2 help. i agree w/ you. I thought my blush rush case would be hot pink but instead it is the color of Dubble Bubble gum with a bit more pink added. It is not as dark as I thought it would be. There aren't enough pictures at iSkin and the pictures they do have don't portray the real colors as well as id've liked.

Posted by nixiecoolgirl on January 8, 2006 at 9:19 AM (PDT)

47

I have ordered one of these cases from iskin.com, and it should be here soon...

I read that someone said that it wont"Protect" as good as good as a hard case if dropped or "squashed". Well, i figure that if you drop and iPod in a concrete box, the iPod would recieve the full force of the impact on the hard side, while if in a rubber or silicone case, the iPod would just, for lack of a better word, "Squish" againt the side, causing little or no damage. As for squashing, if you sit on it, it is durable enough to w/stand it. Overall, i would rate this case aa everything that i was looking for.

By the way, it comes in awsome red/black color.

Posted by thewhitestripes on January 9, 2006 at 6:12 PM (PDT)

48

Ya, i too ordered it. I ordered it last night (01-08-05) and now imm thinking about canceling the order, which i am on a tight schedule. Does the case cover or doesnt cover the screen of the nano? Can soembody tell me before Before it is the 10th of this month. I will need to know, so i can cancel my order. My aim is aznnweird, or you can email me. .(JavaScript must be enabled to view this email address). Btw how come teh reviewer doesnt reply anymore

Posted by Tender on January 9, 2006 at 6:17 PM (PDT)

49

Uhm another thing.. on the case the scroll button thing is braised.... on the nano the button isnt braised....how are u suppose to click?!

Posted by Tender on January 9, 2006 at 7:03 PM (PDT)

50

The black/red DOES come w/ screen cover. aother reason i got it is to COVER UP scratches that already happened.

Posted by thewhitestripes on January 9, 2006 at 7:28 PM (PDT)

51

Oh sorry for miswording what i ment. i was refering to how the case covers anypart of the nano screen, by blocking some of the stuff thats on the screen

Posted by Tender on January 9, 2006 at 9:06 PM (PDT)

52

it happened on the old ones, but it may not on the newer ones, though it might, i am really not sure, but even if it is, it is not really a big deal, seeing as you can still somewhat see it.

Posted by thewhitestripes on January 10, 2006 at 5:53 AM (PDT)

53

Oh well, i just canceled the order of it, if i wanted i could jst go to the apple store n getit anyways. without shipping fee

Posted by Tender on January 10, 2006 at 7:02 PM (PDT)

54

Where is "The Apple store"? is it a chain, or an electronics store that jut carries apple stuf? cus where i live, you cant get cases like this in stores, only on the internet. I live right near Orlando FL, and if anyone could tell me where the closest one is, or if it is just a section in an electronics store, like Best Buy or sumthin, it would be great, cus i would not like to pay shippin.

Posted by thewhitestripes on January 11, 2006 at 1:09 PM (PDT)

55

The iSkin duo itself does not interfere at all with my ipod nano's screen. It comes with a screen protector. If you are CAREFUL, the screen protecter will not interfere with the nano's screen either. However, the screen protector reduces the screen's quality and smooshes words/numbers on the top and bottom of the screen depending on the angle you hold it. To Tender - I'm not exactly sure what you mean by "braised", but the click wheel protector on the inner layer skin works fine and so does the click wheel cap, even though it reduces a bit of sensitivity (it still works, though). i'm very happy with my iSkin. It does not cover the nano's screen. Why not go to the Apple Store and get it ( : It is a great case. To thewhitestripes, The Apple Store is a chain of stores owned by Apple. Find out more at this link: http://www.apple.com/buy You should be able to find some answers there ( : Hope this helped ( :

Posted by nixiecoolgirl on January 11, 2006 at 2:18 PM (PDT)

56

Are the new 4 cases going to have bigger screens?

Posted by DDSD on January 12, 2006 at 7:23 PM (PDT)

57

"fenningenarius" or anyone who has a duo:

IS the screen so small that you cant see the battery meter at all? I have a case for my nano that cuts the track timing numbers off slightly.

Posted by DDSD on January 12, 2006 at 7:25 PM (PDT)

58

I got one of these and love it. I wasn't thrilled with the color selection at the local Apple Store (Carbon Blast) but now that I don't have to worry about hurting the thing, it doesn't matter!

I hope they come out with one soon that will cover the Nano and the Griffin ITrip FM Transmitter sled - my next purchase!

Posted by TXSmitty on January 14, 2006 at 8:17 AM (PDT)

59

Rearding some comments I've read:

Screen: If you look at the screen straight on (90 degree angle) some of the stuff around the edge is distorted by the edge of the window but still visible. Changing the viewing angle by tilting slightly provides a clear view. I wouldn't let this prevent anyone from buying this!

Clip: I was able to remove the nubs for the clip by sliding them out the side slots in the outer skin without removing the outer skin. Could easily slide back in as well.

Lint: Even with a dark outer skin, I haven't noticed a lot of lint collection. Been in and out of my pockets for over two weeks now.

Posted by TXSmitty on January 14, 2006 at 8:25 AM (PDT)

60

I just recieved my case a few days ago, and after getting the duo for shuffle, i am very impressed. For the black and red color, lint shows up very well, but that doesn't matter. One thing though, the nubs are kind of hard to get in and out from the sides. It a pain to put them in and taKe them out every other night when i run, so i just leave the clip. i would raTE this 10 of 10.

Posted by thewhitestripes on January 14, 2006 at 8:53 AM (PDT)

Page 3 of 5 pages  <  1 2 3 4 5 >

Recent News

Recent Reviews

Recent Articles

Shop for Accessories: Cases, speakers, chargers, etc.