Speck Products ToughSkin for iPod nano and 5G | iLounge

Reviews

1

Why does iLounge always show black iPods in the white/clear case, and white iPods in the black case? I mean, yeah it's great to see how the white iPod looks in black. But wouldn't most black iPod owners want the black case, and want to see how that combination looks?

Posted by Magic Rabbits in Aberdeen, Scotland on November 18, 2005 at 2:05 AM (PDT)

2

I wish the 5g iPod case was specially made for the 30 and 60 gig. Apple went through all the trouble to make the 30 and 60 so thin, I wish this case maker woulda gone through the same trouble.

Posted by WldBluYonder21 on November 18, 2005 at 7:49 AM (PDT)

3

imo, those cases are mighty ugly

Posted by webHead in Vancouver, British Columbia on November 18, 2005 at 3:07 PM (PDT)

4

We try to do something a bit different from what you can get on the manufacturer's website. But we'll bear in mind the suggestion for the future, thanks.

Posted by Jeremy Horwitz in East Amherst, NY, USA on November 18, 2005 at 5:19 PM (PDT)

5

Is this thing a dust magnet?

Posted by onelasttime on November 18, 2005 at 9:42 PM (PDT)

6

In my humble opionion, those cases are pretty ugly. I think this of most cases though, so no shock there. What I want is a nice looking leather case that has decent protection. I don't need a plastic case that can survive a nuclear blast, I just want a sexy leather case that will prevent dings and scratches when the iPod is in my pocket, which is 95% of the time.

Posted by PimpyMicPimp on November 18, 2005 at 11:25 PM (PDT)

7

They just look like ice packs :/

Posted by james24 in England on November 19, 2005 at 12:51 PM (PDT)

8

I have a ToughSkin for my 4G 30GB iPod Photo, and I wouldn't buy one of these. They need to bring back the flip-down click wheel protector.

Posted by Mike W in Silicon Valley, CA on November 20, 2005 at 8:51 AM (PDT)

9

Fuggin ugly.

And for the record, I have a white ipod and would buy a black case, or any other opaque case. These transparent ones are a little too reminiscent of those cheap condoms they pass out free on college campuses.

Posted by dasmegabyte on November 21, 2005 at 1:57 PM (PDT)

10

have you guys check out the http://www.vajacases.com, they make really nice looking cases, and they are leather with all sorts of color to pick from.

Posted by derek168 on November 22, 2005 at 8:55 AM (PDT)

11

Got a white one in the mail today even though i ordered a clear one. White on white looks nice. The only problem I have is that I have to remove the case to connect it to my DLO Home Dock. This is my first Ipod so i'm not sure if that's a normal thing. $34.95 & $6 shipping is a little pricey if you can pick one up for less i'd say pick one up. I'm happy because i finally took off that piece of plastic after a month so it wouldn't get scratched.

Posted by themariotest on November 22, 2005 at 2:42 PM (PDT)

12

I'm hopefully getting a black 30GB iPod for Christmas and looking to buy a nice protective case for it to prevent scratches.

Could somebody please tell me the dimensions of the iPod in the ToughSkin?

Also, any links to high resolution pictures with the black 30GB iPod in the ToughSkin would be much appreciated.

Thanks.

Posted by wicker_man666 on December 22, 2005 at 4:48 PM (PDT)

13

wicker_man666

The dimmensions of the ToughSkin go as follows
Thickness: Slightly over 3/4"
Width: About 2 5/8"
Length: about 4 5/16"

The Case is great though. As far as protection goes i dont think it can get much better. Its very durable and the hard screen protector is very nice. Not only that but its a very clean look. All in all you cant get more protection than something to cover the click wheel

I dont have any pictures with the black ipod but here are some good pics of mine.

Side 1
Side 2
Front/Top
Front/Bottom
Top 1
Top 2

Also, i did not buy mine of the website. I had went to my locol RadioShack and bought it there. It was only $30.00 plus tax which made it alot cheaper.

Posted by thummel1 on December 24, 2005 at 11:49 AM (PDT)

14

Can the itrip be used with this tough skin?

Posted by Mr. DLT on December 28, 2005 at 1:35 PM (PDT)

15

Just got one of these for my black 5G 30 gig iPod. I like it. Believe it or not but it does not look or feel all that ugly in person. Click wheel protection would be nice, but it's not the end of the world... wheel protectors aren't hard to find and they're very cheap. The screen protector seems to get scratched easily; that's my only big complaint. $35.00 at the Apple store, a bit pricey but could easily be worth it.

Posted by ajkeh on December 30, 2005 at 7:37 PM (PDT)

16

wow this case is good protection wise but it still makes the 30 gig ipod feel extremely big the ipod itself is half of the case and the screen protector scratched my ipod's screen , also the case left marks on my black ipod's body ........good luck if you buy it

Posted by hell's mortician on January 1, 2006 at 5:01 PM (PDT)

17

This is an appauling case! The ipod nano version is garbage and don't even think once about thinking of getting the nano version!

However the ipod video version is significantly better.

Feh! The screen protector sucks! If you don't have a protective film on the entire fron part of your nano --I garuntee you it'll scratch it terribly. Getting it in and out is difficult and the material doesn't rub well again clothing (So foroget putting it in your pocket)

The belt clip is an absolute joke. It swings around and sticks out far too much. And it makes the Nano 6 times bigger.

I'm thankful that my friend gave me one of her apple tubes. Since I have protective film and it, the tube makes it far more durable and smoother.

DO NOT GET THIS PRODUCT.

D:!

Posted by :3 on January 5, 2006 at 9:36 PM (PDT)

18

I just got a black ToughSkin for my black 30GB iPod. Apparently, these are pretty popular because they sell out fairly quickly at the Apple Store.

I'm an iPod newbie so don't have any prior experience, expectations, or preconceived notions. I actually like the look of this case because it is "ruggedized," but there's no accounting for taste. I like the idea of the "floating" screen protector and we'll see how well it works and holds up. I do find that I'm having to clean the screen protector relatively often (I use an extra Oakley soft case). I don't mind having the click wheel exposed and don't know how big a deal that is. All in all it works for me and I'm a happy camper. YMMV.

Posted by chuxter on January 12, 2006 at 7:21 AM (PDT)

19

I bought a white 30bg 5G early December 2005 and bought a black ToughSkin a few days ago. During the period without a case, my iPod got some very noticable scratches, which is my fault, and I bought this case because of it's "toughness" and ruggedness. I really liked the nice plastic screen protector. So I'm really liking it so far. Probably the only real problem with it is that it does add to the bulk of the iPod, and I've got plenty of comments from my friends who happen to be Nano owners of "how huge it is!!" But I don't mind because my iPod deserves the best protection.

Posted by andoman123 on February 28, 2006 at 6:45 PM (PDT)

20

Contrary to most of the other comments, I do like this case, but the “bulkiness� of the i-Pod doesn’t bother me. I need protection for when I drop my i-Pod and this case gives you that. I also need the i-Pod to “stick� on my dashboard of my vehicles, which this case does both very well.

Posted by JPBudda on March 14, 2006 at 7:26 AM (PDT)

Page 1 of 2 pages  1 2 >

Recent News

Recent Reviews

Recent Articles

Shop for Accessories: Cases, speakers, chargers, etc.