TEN Technology flexibleDock Adjustable Car Dock and Charger for iPod | iLounge

Reviews

21

I just installed my flexibleDock. Works great and holds secure in my lighter socket. Just to be sure I don't put any undue stress on the socket, once I had everything positioned where I wanted it, I put a small piece of velcro on the back of the dock and on the dash to help secute it at the top, hopefully taking some of the weight of the whole setup off of the lighter socket.

Posted by GC Rider in Wichita, KS on December 30, 2005 at 8:49 AM (PDT)

22

Will the flexibleDock work with a 30GB 5G iPod with an XtremeMac MicroShield on it?

Posted by c3max on January 5, 2006 at 9:56 AM (PDT)

23

I bought the flex for my 3gen pod to use in a Ford Windstar
and I just love it. Its very secure and my pod is just perfectly situated where its easy and a safe to manage. I have tried 2 prior solutions before this and nothing comes close the flex.
Thank you Ten

Posted by Alberto Crespo on January 10, 2006 at 11:29 PM (PDT)

24

This product worked great the first day I had it. After that, the aux input on the dock crapped out like others have complained about. At first it just played through the right speakers, then couldnt make a very good connection at all, and now doesnt work at all. Positive it isnt the aux cable Im using. Very dissapointed.

Posted by sectachrome on January 18, 2006 at 10:15 PM (PDT)

25

I just bought the flexible dock for my ipod 5G 30gig and overall I really like it and would recommend it but here are some details for all you potential buyers out there:

<u>Cons:</u>

I was hoping this review was just being overly protective about the ipod not really fitting with a case on it, but the review was correct. For some reason the tiny extra bit of thickness my very thin case adds makes it so the dock cant lock in properly and the ipod will fall out. However, I easily solved this dilemma by taking an exacto knife and making a small cut along the back of the case so that it can be pulled off slightly and tilted forward like some other case I saw. This solved my case problem because I surely didn't want to leave my ipod susceptible to scratches while being toted in my purse or have to remove the whole thing every time to listen to it in my car. You can find a picture of my solution up right here: http://www.pazie.com/Image-013.jpg

Another problem I have with it is all the websites (including this one) say it is compatible with the 5G. However, none of the back parts that were shipped with mine were labeled for the 5G and on the packaging it didn't say it was compatible. This doesn't really bother me because the extra thickness in the back from my case supports the ipod. All I can guess is that I was shipped an older model or something. Who knows.

I have noticed a good amount of strain being put on my lighter plug and it seems to being moving a little so the set-up is only about 97% stable. My lighter socket came out once before (it was easy to fix) so it isn't really a problem with the dock, I'd say its more a problem with my car but the unit does put a lot of stress on the socket.

Lastly, my dock took FOREVER to get here. I ordered it from Apple (because I couldn't find it at any physical stores, Apple or otherwise) and from the ordering date, it took almost a month to arrive here.

<u>Pros:</u>

It looks awesome. The color is perfect; it matches almost perfectly with the color of my interior and blends right in. It's very low profile. I plugged in my Belkin Tunecast II (located in my ashtray that I don't use) and there only one small tiny bit of cord showing.

It sounds a lot better than when I plugged the Tunecast directly into the headphones jack. The music quality is better and when I put the sound setting on high, I can get the stereo to go a lot louder (always a plus for me).

The dock holds the ipod really securely. For those of you worrying your ipod is going to fall off its "perch": you would have to be doing some serious off-roading for this thing to lose hold of your ipod. About dock connector stress - I guess I'll find out later.

<u>Final Verdict:</u>

Like I said before this thing is pretty cool and definitely recommended. I bought my boyfriend an expensive ipod adapter that connects directly to his stereo, and I would definitely say that my solution has caused me A LOT less trouble. I don't plan to use an FM transmitter forever; I'm searching for some sort of adapter to go from my CD-changer port (13P DIN) to an AUX-out that I can plug into the flexible dock – so anyone who has advice on that would be a great help!

You can find a picture of my set up right here: http://www.pazie.com/Image-014.jpg

Posted by lsreid on January 31, 2006 at 6:16 PM (PDT)

26

Has anyone used this with a Honda Civic 96-98? I'm concerned because the outlet is tucked under the radio/temperature controls. Is the six inch arm long enough get out from under there and be able to use the iPod without road danger?

Posted by Noah S. on March 27, 2006 at 1:16 PM (PDT)

27

Hi there,
I have a BMW Z4 which has an ashtray and lighter with the socket pointing straight up. I am trying to figure out if this product will allow me to mount the iPod straight up above the socket or wether the design will block this. Does anybody have any experience of this? Many thanks

Posted by mwphoto on April 8, 2006 at 11:06 PM (PDT)

28

I just tried my new FlexibleDock in my car and I was extremely dissapointed to find that the audio out jack does not work. As another user described above, audio is only present on one channel - the left. I used multiple cables to troubleshoot, and confirmed that it is indeed the mini jack on the FlexibleDock that doesn't work. It's too bad because the rest of it looks very well built. I tried to take it apart to look at and fix, but it's too hard to separate the plastic. I'll be returning this piece of crap tomorrow.

Posted by muthguy on April 11, 2006 at 9:12 PM (PDT)

29

You should call TEN about your defective flexibleDock. Their customer service is usually pretty good.

Posted by SKinPA on April 13, 2006 at 6:19 PM (PDT)

30

Just been trying out my just-arrived FlexibleDock on my wife's 1996 Civic (which I happen to be driving today).

Noah S: No, the FlexibleDock is not long enough. An eight inch arm (like the previous version had) would probably be perfect for the 96 Civic. As it is, I could not find a good position for it where you could see the screen. I have a RadioShack cig lighter extension that I may press into service here, probabaly attaching it somehow to the left side of the center column housing the shifter. Means more junk in the car though.

Too bad, as I was hoping to move the FlexibleDock between her and my (Toyota pickup) vehicles. But it should work fine in the pickup, and I'm sure looking forward to having it there.

The FlexibleDock understandibly is designed for a tight fit in the lighter socket, and does take a little force to push in. When I rotated it in the lighter socket to try out different positions, the metal socket itself rotated in the plastic dash opening it is mounted in. The lighter socket, after all my fiddling, is now a little loose, but can probably be tighted up easily enough (it not too hard to get behind that part of the dash in the 96 Civic).

Audio quality with a cassette adapter seems very good. No audio problems as some have reported. In my setup, the louder position on the switch gives a signal comparible to the radio in volume.

I confirm previous commenters that the included shim instructions do not mention the 5G, and none of the supplied shims fits the 5G 60gig iPod exactly right. #5 is too thin, next one up (#1) is too thick. I'll probably add a little tape to #5. The 5G has been out long enough, this should not be an issue...

I can't wait to jump in my truck, and simply click the iPod into place on the Dock--no separate cables to attach, no need to crank up the iPod volume so the headphone jack gives a strong signal to the cassette adapter, etc etc. Too bad it won't happen easily with the 96 Civic.

Posted by nolamike on April 25, 2006 at 1:58 PM (PDT)

31

I'm following up on my April 11th post... both the manufacturer (TEN Technolgy) and the vendor who I purchased it from (DR. BOTT) were VERY helpful in making sure that I was promptly shipped a working replacement for my defective unit. The new one works fantastic! It securely holds my 3rd Gen. 40GB iPod without any obvious stress to the iPod and the audio is as clear as can be for AAC audio at 128 kbps. I am very happy with the build quality and audio quality of this product. My Rating: A

Posted by muthguy on April 28, 2006 at 6:54 PM (PDT)

32

Can anyone recommend a case (preferrably hard plasatic) that can be left on the iPod while on the dock? I use an Agent18 right now and it comes out too far on the sides for it to work. I have a 30gig 5th Gen.

As for 5th Gen iPods not having a shim, the FAQ on the TEN website says which one to use.

Posted by ArttyG12 on May 2, 2006 at 10:38 AM (PDT)

33

Right so just received my FlexibleDock and wouldn't you know it - audio only plays through the right channel! Not being one to incur more shipping charges I decided to open the thing up and have a look for myself. As expected the tip of the plug from my cable (MonsterCable) wasn't making *any* connection with the FlexibleDock - nor could it in any way given the poor design of the internal components.
So plan B has been to cut the audio wires from the circuit board and solder on a new bulkhead (attached to 6 inches of wire). Now the plugs are all nicely hidden behind the dash!
ilounge really need to amend this review given the poor quality of this product!

Posted by dangerousTrout on May 16, 2006 at 1:28 PM (PDT)

34

I own a 2002 Thunderbird with a 6-CD changer. I installed a direct-input device to the back of the stereo. The iPod works beautifully through my car audio system when I connect it without the FlexibleDock.

However, when I connect my iPod to the FlexibleDock and use the input/output port at the bottom of the FlexibleDock (at the cigarette lighter), I have the same problem that wsalopek posted on December 22, 2005:

"2) I hear a LOT of (what I'd call LOUD) hard drive noise and other CONTINUOUS static coming thru the speakers in my car, even with my car OFF and sitting still in the driveway...I'd only imagine the static will increase as I move down the road and the cig lighter plug jiggles around a bit in the cig lighter socket."

I can confirm that when I rev the engine, the noise increases. But the noise remains whether the car is parked, idling, or moving. Moreover, the switch at the base of the FlexibleDock does nothing to dampen the noise. (It does, however, dampen the sound from the iPod.)

Call the noise "loud" or "medium" or "soft," the noise substantially degrades the audio sound quality of my iPod. When I disconnect the iPod from the FlexibleDock and plug the input/output cable directly to the iPod, the noise disappears.

At the suggestion of car audio techs, I tried a ground loop isolator. It did not solve the problem.

Has anyone solved this engine noise problem?

Posted by PoetAtLaw on February 3, 2007 at 10:37 AM (PDT)

Page 2 of 2 pages  <  1 2

Recent News

Recent Reviews

Recent Articles

Shop for Accessories: Cases, speakers, chargers, etc.