Griffin Technology EarThumps Earphones for Mobile Devices | iLounge

Reviews

1

I'm on the fence for these ones, I need new headphones and I'm saving up for some Mid-end (I consider that $150) earphones so I need an interm solution. I like Griffin, and these are cheap enough, so I just may pick them up.

Posted by PimpyMicPimp on December 6, 2005 at 5:44 PM (PDT)

2

Pimpy, not a bad choice, but if I were you I would go for the Sony MDR-EX51s, which are also 20 bucks on amazon (and you don't need to pay shipping if you spend more than 25 bucks).

Posted by catboy17 on December 6, 2005 at 6:54 PM (PDT)

3

I've ordered two pairs (one for me one for my housemate), and I was fully aware of all of the points Jeremy makes in the review would be true. They seem to be in the same bracket as the Logitech Stealth headphones I'm currently using with my nano, but I liked the look of them sufficiently to give them a go. And with getting them brought back to me from the States by a friend who is holidaying over there at the mo, they are resonably price to allow the experiment!

I agree with catboy17 - If you can get the EX51's for $20 I say go for it PimpyMicPimp. They still hold the best performing/resonably priced headphones for me. My EX71's weren't as good due to treble issues...

Posted by Piarco75 on December 7, 2005 at 4:33 AM (PDT)

4

Thanks guys, I just may do that.

Posted by PimpyMicPimp on December 8, 2005 at 9:55 PM (PDT)

5

Pimpy,
Amazon has the top rated EX81's for $30, so I would go with them if I were you. I plan to get a pair myself.

Posted by danny_w on December 9, 2005 at 8:34 AM (PDT)

6

Ms/Mr McPimp,

I would NOT recommend the EX81's. Yes they are fantastic for their price - for the first couple of weeks. Then the shoddily built cable covering (shame Sony!) starts peeling off and exposing the wires.

They are not fantastic after that. Very, very disappointing to have something you like so much, go so wrong, so obviously.

I recently bought the ezGears ezEars, but if I had known to wait a little while, I would have bought these EarThumps.

BTW this Sony problem is not just personal experience - it has happened to many iLoungers.

Posted by Fleur in Sydney, Australia on December 10, 2005 at 8:32 AM (PDT)

7

Fleur,then contact Sony. I haven't had any problems (with my ex51, 71, or 81, in fact) and, though I certainly recognize it is a problem for many people, I believe that Sony will send you working ones if you let tech support know that yours have a problem. I find that to be a better solution than complaining on a forum, but perhaps I'm incorrect in thinking that Sony will replace them. In terms of ex-81 vs. 51, I prefer 51 simply because I prefer the bud design to the around the ear design. I found that with the 81s I had a lot more fiddling to do, but many people like those so it's really a personal decision.

Posted by catboy17 on December 21, 2005 at 5:30 PM (PDT)

8

As the name suggests, the Earthumps are quite bass-heavy and are lacking in definition higher up in the range, although the bass seems very tight. Overall the sound quality isn't quite as good as Sony's MDR-EX71 but, given the price difference between these two products here in New Zealand, I would consider the Earthumps to be much better value. It is also worth noting that the Earthumps do not have the silly uneven cable, or cable insulation that is vulnerable to shearing, which are common critisms of the EX71s.

The only significant disappointment is that I am of the opinion that the ear inserts that Griffin bundle with the Earthumps are far too big. I find that the smallest one fits me reasonably well, but many people will find even the smallest insert to be too large to acheive a comfortable fit.

Anyone who has experienced decent quality in-ear monitors will find the Earthumps to be woefully inadequete, but those of us who are not audiophiles should be very pleased with them. At $20, they're a fantastic bargain.

Posted by alasta22 on March 4, 2006 at 5:14 PM (PDT)

Recent News

Recent Reviews

Recent Articles

Shop for Accessories: Cases, speakers, chargers, etc.