Miniot iWood nano | iLounge

Reviews

1

This review is lacking:

How well built is the hinge? If you bend it all the way back, will it compress the wood?

How well does it stay shut? What if it is dropped--will it pop open with a single magnet?

Is the wood so thin that squeezing it will compress the Nano?

Let's get some more detail here!

Posted by mattk on December 8, 2005 at 6:07 PM (PDT)

2

Jeremy, the link Miniot.com isn't working.
(Well maybe its just me.)
btw, they're making iWood video, they say...

Posted by kumdh on December 9, 2005 at 9:12 AM (PDT)

3

Mattk: The hinge is well-built. If you "bend it all the way back," it won't damage the case. If you abuse it, you can break it.

It stays shut wonderfully. The magnet doesn't pop when it's dropped normally.

No, the wood is not so thin that it will compress the nano.

Kumdh: It works here.

Posted by Jeremy Horwitz in East Amherst, NY, USA on December 9, 2005 at 2:12 PM (PDT)

4

Jeremy: Thank you very much for the follow-up.
I continue to visit this site daily.

Another question: what type of wood was the case in your review (I'm guessing it is either walnut or mahogony)

Matt

Posted by mattk on December 9, 2005 at 2:30 PM (PDT)

5

Save some trees for cryin' out loud!

Posted by cellphonejunkie on December 13, 2005 at 1:22 PM (PDT)

6

Can you clarify the spec to the internal finish of the wood, and how well the nano fits this case, since if the internal surface is not perfectly smooth or sanded down and the ipod has a little room inside to jiggle, then the ipod would be scratched quite badly

Posted by asymptotic on December 24, 2005 at 11:22 AM (PDT)

7

I too would like to know if there is going to any movement inside the case as I would worry there might be some scratching.

BTW...wood is a renewable resource...less impact than mining or oil I'd venture.

Posted by fuzzydog on December 29, 2005 at 10:15 PM (PDT)

8

I have now bought the iwood and I would recommend it. My friends who were sceptical of a wood case when they first heard of it have all changed their minds and fell in love with it as soon as they saw it(especially the girls)

There is sufficient space inside so the front face of the nano does not touch the lid when it's closed. The case is thick enough so it doesn't bend or distort, but comparing to my friend's transparent case for her nano it's only a mere fraction bigger.

The bottom of the case (where most of the body of the nano sits)is almost the exact size of the nano so it grips it well, the ipod wound't fall out even if I shake the case violently. The finish is quite smooth so it's unlikely there will be any scratches to the nano, if you are worried buy those sticky plastic films for extra protection for the nano which I have done. They no longer offer small headphone opening as an option.

Posted by asymptotic on January 28, 2006 at 4:08 AM (PDT)

9

Beware, I tried to return my iwood nano in december, shipped it, never heard from them, and I sent multiple emails to them, from 3 different emails includind my order information, using the email on their website.
Just be carefull to make the right choice, the purchase and what follows immediatly might be your only chance to contact them. This is not flaming, my order was 721 and they never bothered answering to any of the email I sent them about my return
Lionel

Posted by lionel on March 15, 2006 at 1:51 PM (PDT)

10

The communication and refund problem I mentioned in my post 6 days ago has been since entirely solved by them and in a very professional and courteous way and to my complete satisfaction.
Lionel

Posted by lionel on March 21, 2006 at 1:04 AM (PDT)

Recent News

Recent Reviews

Recent Articles

Shop for Accessories: Cases, speakers, chargers, etc.