iSkin eVo3 for iPod 5G (with video) | iLounge

Reviews

21

Update: My order went from "Ready to Ship" to "Out of Stock". So much for the Christmas present (and any future business with iSkin).

Just a caveat to all...

Posted by spiffy jim on December 21, 2005 at 4:20 PM (PDT)

22

I ordered my iSkin on December 11th and got it in yesterday December 20th- there were no shipping problems and it was actually pretty speedy. I got the black one but I have yet to open it since its a Christmas present.

Posted by thelastsession on December 21, 2005 at 5:22 PM (PDT)

23

yeah, mine has done the exact same thing as spiffy jim's. i ordered 2, both with headphones. and one was my mom's christmas present. and i ordered them the day it came out. ughhh. and the worst part is that i actually do need the headphones, now that the apple ones that came with my ipod are messed up (the left earbud doesn't work). and they didn't even email me about any of this. aaaaaaaaaargh.

Posted by lightswitch rave on December 21, 2005 at 8:14 PM (PDT)

24

I was having the same problem with the "out of stock" business but I had a chat with customer service concerning the order. I was cordial, but expressed my concern over the evo3 being a gift, etc, etc. I was promised it would be resolved, and sure enough I checked just now and apparently they overnighted the thing to me. Nice.

Posted by MacCarpenter on December 21, 2005 at 9:40 PM (PDT)

25

Oh, and I forgot to mention that I pre-ordered around noon on Dec. 8th, the launch day, so I think I had a right to be upset, given that other people were getting theirs even though they ordered long after me.

Posted by MacCarpenter on December 21, 2005 at 9:41 PM (PDT)

26

I just received my blue evo3 for my 60 gig. I am very dissappointed. Out of the box the Visor had 2 scratches on the inside of the top left portion of the screen. It also had a few more smaller but noticeable scratches on the screen portion as well. I have contacted iskin via e-mail. Given the customer servce track record I'm not too happy. I like the case but the QA stinks! Also noticed a lot of "wet spots" around the click wheel due to the silicone contacting the black ipod (I can live with that but not the schratches out of the box).

Posted by bleedblue63 on December 22, 2005 at 6:46 AM (PDT)

27

Same thing that happened to most of ya'll happened to me. I ordered my pink eVo3 case on the 17th and when I tracked down my order yesterday they said that it was out of stock. Now they didn't tell me that when I ordered it which I think was VERY unprofessional. And they didn't respond to my e-mail, and they already charged my credit card. Now I was wondering if any one knows if iSkin has a contact number so I can call them and tell them my situation, cause I plan to get this seddled.

Posted by PulcherPuella on December 22, 2005 at 7:59 AM (PDT)

28

Ordered an iskin for a 60gig video. Ordered the 8th of dec. Have been writing to customer service for a week to see where the heck it was. Called customer service (calling canada on a cell phone is big $$ from here)They are FINALLY shipping me my product today, overnight. I suggest calling corporate with concerns rather than using the e-mail, I have yet to get a response to my many e-mails requesting updates or SOMETHING! But yeah, seems like a good product smile

Posted by petey361 on December 22, 2005 at 8:57 AM (PDT)

29

Yeah, what is the phone number? WHen I try the one on the Corporate page, it says my call cannot be completed as dialed, and I can't find any other numbers.

Posted by lightswitch rave on December 22, 2005 at 12:29 PM (PDT)

30

OK, I tried on my cellphone and it worked. I waited over 8 minutes and was still on hold, and my cell phone's battery was really low so I gave up. I'll try later I guess.

Posted by lightswitch rave on December 22, 2005 at 12:40 PM (PDT)

31

All right, I tried again on our regular phone (turns out I forgot to dial the long distance number) and the red and blue iskins and red headphones were out of stock. The guy I spoke to said that they were getting another shipment early next week or this weekend or whatever and would ship my order overnight when the shipment arrived. He was nice about it so even though I AM a little annoyed (since people have posted on here saying they ordered after i did and had gotten theirs/were getting theirs shipped). So I probably won't get my iskin until I've left for maryland but whatever. I thought I'd post in case anybody else had problems- so you don't have to wait forever on the customer service line. Probably the same thing happened.

Now my bagel is cold :(

Posted by lightswitch rave on December 22, 2005 at 1:24 PM (PDT)

32

Just got mine today. I got the black one for my black 5G 30gb. When i first saw it i thought it looked pretty freakin awesome. but now that i've got it put on, it is a completely different experience. It changes the natural look of your ipod. so if you've grown accustomed to looking at it's natural design (shiny awesome exterior with white accents, very compact design, looks great in it's dock next to your deskphone) then you might be disappointed. i haven't even touched on the lint factor yet. i'm not saying i don't like the case, it's just going to take some getting used to. and judging by the review, it's gonna be a bit difficult to take it in and out of it's universal dock. overall, it's a great case for protecting your iPod. but it changes the whole experience easthetically. and that can be annoying to freakish iPod people.

Posted by smiling skull on December 22, 2005 at 2:01 PM (PDT)

33

**NOTICE**

Great review! In these comments there is lots of asinine jabber about the last iSkin for 5G, so here is the skinny in a nutshell:

- The on-hold switch being coverred takes some getting used to, but is in fact, genius. No worries about liquid getting in there now!
- The look and feel of it is fantastic. The people moaning about it "changing natural the look" are just whining about nothing. No other cover is as low profile and offers as much protection. The black case looks slick as hell.
- The belt clip is even more worthless than the one on the 4G. The back disc won't stick to the chasis because it has "do not remove" embossed on it, so it is loosey-goosey and you'll no doubt tear the rubber with it on. When you remove the back disk there is this weird gap on the back, but it probably ventilates better now, and does not appear to affect how well the iSkin protects.
- The sheath for the jog dial works beautifully. No more worries about liquids getting in their either.
- The only vulnerabiltiy is the headphone jack, but as long as they are plugged in you should be okay.
- Be sure the polycarb window and rubber is absolutely free of hairs or particles are it won't make that clean seal that looks oh-so fresh when you get it all together.

I'd give it at 8.5/10

Posted by hinder90 in San Francisco, CA on December 22, 2005 at 3:16 PM (PDT)

34

I love mine - just got it today (Blaze/Red)! I also pre-ordered or ordered the day they came out and it just arrived on 12/22. Same thing with the "in queue" and "ready to ship" stuff.

My only issue - I use my iPod every day @ work with the Altec Lansing speaker set up. I always took my 3G in and out of the iSkin a few times a day to put it in the Altec speakers and then to put it back in for the drive home. This new case (while great) will probably make that MUCH harder. I had a little trouble getting it on (maybe I'm klutzy), but it still only took 5 minutes and a reading of the instructions. Hopefully with practice I will get better and it won't be a big deal. The new screen cover is awesome but that makes it harder to get it in/out. If you're never really taking it out, you'll probably love it.

I also find the hold switch difficult, but have been able to make it work by pushing it pretty hard.

And yes, the brand new iTrip fits in the dock connector but I noticed it was a little loose, probably because the dock connector cover flap pushes on the iTrip a little bit. It still worked fine once I made sure the iTrip was pushed in firmly.

Griffin is shipping the new iTrip/RoadTrip (whatever they're calling it) that's the transmitter/charger all in one unit, but only in black. Mine's on the way.

Posted by vmc on December 22, 2005 at 9:20 PM (PDT)

35

Gotta say, ordered my skin (red/Blaze) on the 12th and it arrived on the 20th. Very impressed with the service (which seems to be at odds with some of the others here) but this case is such a good design.

My one issue is the terrible clip. The interior locating disc floats around the back of the iPod, so when you twist it, it pulls the skin, then there's the tiny, tiny, tiny pins that hold the clip to the skin, becuase of the design, it's actually held on by six slithers of plastic (three on each pin) which i for one put no faith in at all. The brochure states that the clip is for "casual" use only (whatever that is).

For the money, i would expect a better designed clip... indeed i have actually reverted to using my old "Metal" clip from the Evo2 which has always seemed to be a better design (with three holding pins) and best of all... it's soft backing actually grips the back of the iPod.

Congratulations to iSkin on a wonderfully designed and thought out product... just whish they'd paid more attention to the clip

Posted by equalizer on December 22, 2005 at 9:48 PM (PDT)

36

Hi,
i am super interested in this case! looks so irrisitable for my ipod... but i am living in Malaysia and i am having a hard time finding it.To ship it here is equal to the price of another case.. sob sob.. so does anyone know where i can get this in Malaysia or... in singapore at worst.. thanx

Posted by geejun2 on December 23, 2005 at 8:30 AM (PDT)

37

so the iskin number to call if you have a problem is the corporate number (the one you get when you click on the corporate link at iskin.com)?

Posted by PulcherPuella on December 23, 2005 at 8:46 AM (PDT)

38

I took a look at this product on the recommondation of a friend and put in an order on 12/20, just waiting for it to come in now (out of stock right nowaccording to the website).

Black seems to be one of the most popular colors at this point. I was considering the blue, but since I'm getting a black iPod 5G, I wanted to stick with black.

Charged it through PayPal using my credit card as payment, so I have two layers of buyer protection should iSkin not deliver in what I would consider to be a reasonable amount of time.

Posted by dragynphyre on December 23, 2005 at 11:33 AM (PDT)

39

Ordered mine on the 13th and its been in the "Ready to Ship" phase for about a week! Anybody know how they ship them to the UK? I also notice the site says "Shipping resumes Jan 03, 2006"... might be a long wait for mine then!

Posted by rendez2k on December 23, 2005 at 12:45 PM (PDT)

40

I orderd two cases on the 8th. I finally recieved a package from iskin today! Only to find that they sent me the wrong items. I recieved one case and a set of earphones that I did not order. Anybody else have this problem? I dont mean to be a jerk but this is unacceptible. Not only did the 3-6 day shipping take 15-days, but I didnt even get what I paid for.

Posted by jMuss on December 23, 2005 at 4:47 PM (PDT)

Page 2 of 11 pages  <  1 2 3 4 >  Last »

Recent News

Recent Reviews

Recent Articles

Shop for Accessories: Cases, speakers, chargers, etc.