iSkin eVo3 for iPod 5G (with video) | iLounge

Reviews

51

I was wondering how thick the 5G becomes when wearing this skin? Thanks

Posted by DylanL on December 26, 2005 at 2:31 AM (PDT)

52

I finally got my evo3 and the wait was worth it! I believe that this product should have gotten an A instead of the A-... This skin looks soooo good in person than looking at it through pictures. You can still use the hold button unlike what others have said. Everything on the ipod is protected and the screen is so clear also. A PERFECT case!

Posted by GeoDesic in CA, USA on December 26, 2005 at 3:03 AM (PDT)

53

Is the white version of this case actually white, or is it clear? Basically if I have a black iPod, will it be completely white or will the black show through? Also, how much thicker and bulkier does this case make the ipod?

Posted by Duto8672 on December 26, 2005 at 3:13 PM (PDT)

54

Duto,

It is clear and you will be able to see the black through it.

grin

Posted by marvalbert on December 27, 2005 at 12:43 AM (PDT)

55

Dylan,

The skin, although very durable, is extremely thin. You can hardly notice it and it does not increase the size of the iPod by more than a few millimeters.

Posted by marvalbert on December 27, 2005 at 12:45 AM (PDT)

56

Thank you marvalbert for your reply.

I have another quick question for anyone that has one of these cases. Is it possible to somehow modify the belt clip to be an armband? Like breaking off the clip peice and somehow wedging an armband in there.

Posted by DylanL on December 27, 2005 at 2:08 AM (PDT)

57

I have a question for anybody who can answer it.
I am really fed up with the customer service of iSkin, is there a number I could call, and if so what is it?
Thanks

Posted by PulcherPuella on December 27, 2005 at 8:33 AM (PDT)

58

"To use in Apple’s Universal dock, simply fold back the flap to expose the dock connector."

Not true. I now have this contraption for my 5G 60GB iPod and it DOES NOT work with the Universal Dock. Folding back the flap does exactly what I though it would: make the iPod unstable atop the dock...eventually falling over and losing the connection. It might work if the flap is cut off, but there is still an issue with the dock connector not fully supporting the encased iPod, so it still may fall over.

How hard would it have been to actually try docking it before spitting out what iSkin told you iLounge? You obviously didn't, since it was obvious to me it wouldn't work before I even seated the iPod.

Now I have a case that I'll probably never use. This isn't a review, it's a press release.

Posted by Gordy. in Atlanta, GA on December 27, 2005 at 11:15 AM (PDT)

59

Im about ready to order my evo3- for the most part the reviews sound good -but I am debating over what color to get. I am worried that the color cases will not look good on a black ipod. Is there anyone who has bought a green or blue (for example b/c i am leaning towards those) case and put it on a black ipod? if so, does it still look good?

Posted by Nenya on December 27, 2005 at 6:13 PM (PDT)

60

To add to that- are the ipods in the pictures on this page black?

Posted by Nenya on December 27, 2005 at 8:21 PM (PDT)

61

Yes, iSkin customer service is horrific. They charged my credit
card for a cancelled order and have not responded to my 3 emails.
I just left a message at their corporate office in Canada,
(416) 924-9607 (calls to Canada can be expensive, international
calling plan or phone card recommended), but I’m not confident that I’ll hear back given their track record. I may just have to have my credit
card company deal with this rogue Canadian company.

Posted by Animo on December 27, 2005 at 10:01 PM (PDT)

62

Well, I guess I'm having a contrarian reaction here. I got my Evo3 in Blaze/Red and while I like the way this skin protects I have a few serious issues:

1. I hate the color. It's a very mushy red, unlike the web imagery, imo. Eeew. Everybody who's seen it hates it.

2. It won't work with mm50 (and probably many other) docking type mounts. So you'd have to take it off all the time to make it work. Is that practical? Not really.

3. Mine had a few scratches out of the box too.

4. I'm trying to return it, but haven't gotten a reply from iSkin yet.

On the plus side, the cover mechanism and wheel protection are very cool. You do feel the investment is protected.

But you get this very sexy device...and then put this thick skinned condom on it. Seems so...ironic.

Posted by NoelEiffe on December 27, 2005 at 11:11 PM (PDT)

63

Hi i was just wondering if any1 has a black iskin evo3, if so can you please email a picture of it in real life!! thanks, oh ye my email address is .(JavaScript must be enabled to view this email address)!!

Posted by Hutch1 on December 28, 2005 at 7:04 AM (PDT)

64

Same as Hutch...can someone please send me a picture of a colored case on a black ipod, or just a black case so i can see what it looks like?
thanks .(JavaScript must be enabled to view this email address)

Posted by Nenya on December 28, 2005 at 10:13 AM (PDT)

65

I'm planning on getting this case but have a question for other silicone case users...I have a 1G Ipod with a loose fitting silicone case that has left scuff type marks on the plastic face. My girlfriend has a 4G Ipod with a very tight fitting silicone case and the same thing has happened. Has anyone else experienced this and is there any way to prevent it?

Posted by rodalbaney on December 28, 2005 at 2:41 PM (PDT)

66

I'd like to know as well whether anyone has experienced any of this "scuffing" that appears when using silicon cases.

Posted by IsLNdbOi on December 28, 2005 at 3:49 PM (PDT)

67

This has been a horrible experience. When I ordered this case (on a Tuesday) the website said that it would ship the next business day (on a Wednesday). Well, that was one week ago. I've since found the case in a store and I want my money back. Not only did I already get charged for the ordered, but now they say they won't deal with returns for about a month.

When they say next business day, what I'd really like to know is when they ever work. I decided on the evo3 because someone recommended it to me. I, however, will not recommend them to anyone else. I've seen the case in action. It is a great product. But customer service is not key with this company.

So wait and find this thing in a store. I hear the apple store and urban outfitters are good places to be looking. Save on shipping because by the time these people ship you one online you will have already found it in a store. Save your $7 shipping.

Posted by duckingshire on December 28, 2005 at 4:05 PM (PDT)

68

Yeah! iSkin replied to my e-mail the same day I wrote it! What an improvement! They said my order should be shipped tomorrow, and that I should have it really soon. Hopefully I will have it when I come back from my New Years Trip. If not.... I'M THROUGH WITH ISKIN!!!!!!!

Posted by PulcherPuella on December 28, 2005 at 5:33 PM (PDT)

69

I've been also looking for pictures of black ipods in the cases, so email me: maritoy [at] gmail.com

I've been searching for other websites that sell iskin merchandise, because I'm dreading dealing with iskin themselves. So far I haven't had much luck, so if someone finds a store that's selling them, email me. Otherwise I'm looking forward to this case.

Posted by bubblemint on December 28, 2005 at 8:18 PM (PDT)

70

Hey Bubblemint:

The pods in the pics above are black. I have seen the black one on a 30gb and it was great. The black case was solid. I have another friend that bought a blue one for a black 60gb. I was very surprised because it looked like something out of the Jetsons. If you are looking for pictures any ipod with white letters on the click wheel are black. This case is a seriously a great product, but the customer service at this company sucks. Not to beat a dead horse, but see if you can get this in a store first. Urban outfitters, apple or even some fancy ipod shop. I can't wait to get mine because I'm getting jealous of the people I know who have them already.

Posted by duckingshire on December 29, 2005 at 8:03 AM (PDT)

Page 3 of 11 pages  <  1 2 3 4 5 >  Last »

Recent News

Recent Reviews

Recent Articles

Shop for Accessories: Cases, speakers, chargers, etc.