Griffin Technology iTrip Auto FM Transmitter and Charger for iPod | iLounge

Reviews

1

This is the first time I have come across your review. It is exceptionally well presented compared to any others I have found. All the details one needs to decide which unit to buy appear to be covered. I don't know anything about you, but this set of review (on FM transmitters for ipods) seem truely independent. GREAT JOB!!
ericbooker

Posted by ericbooker on December 31, 2005 at 4:53 AM (PDT)

2

Does this require the car adapter to be plugged in to use (or can it take power from the iPod too)?

Posted by cochese on January 3, 2006 at 11:49 AM (PDT)

3

Academic Superstore sells it for $44.95!!!

Posted by DevonS31 in Westfield, NJ on January 3, 2006 at 1:24 PM (PDT)

4

Thank you very much for your review! I am at MacWorld/SF now and the choices -- Belkin v. Griffin are somewhat mind boggling. Who's better, who's best?

You answered it. Will look out for Kensington's as well. Thanks again.

Posted by sfyeeapple on January 12, 2006 at 12:56 AM (PDT)

5

I bought this before I saw this review, and I will have to agree that it is a pretty good product.

Living near New York City, this was a better option than Monster's iCar solution, because it only has 6 channels, and iTune Auto can broadcast on any channel from 87.9 to 107.9. (I currently broadcast on 104.7, because there is a station that bleeds into 87.9)

Observances of oddities:

Windshield wipers cause interference - a slight staticy sound each time the wipers move between the transmitter and the car's antenna (probably would not be an issue on cars with antennas on the trunk end)

Cloudy days (or rainy, necessitating the need for the winshield wipers as above), and nights, have an effect radio station reception in this area (in essence, many stations get stronger signals that reach farther as a result), and it becomes difficult to find a frequency that is clear, but I'd assume this would happen with any FM transmitter in my area, whether I pad $1 or $100.

Cochese - yes, it requires the car adapter to be plugged in. It will charge up the iPod, too.

Posted by dragynphyre on January 13, 2006 at 8:41 AM (PDT)

6

Additionally, this product works well with the iSkin EVO3 case for the 5G.

I am thinking of adding a Velcro strip to the back to mount the transmitter/LCD screen to the dashboard, as well.

Posted by dragynphyre on January 13, 2006 at 9:06 AM (PDT)

7

Just received my iTrip Auto and love it! I get really good reception even though I live in the Twin Cities, MN. Very pleased.

Posted by buckwheeties on January 16, 2006 at 4:31 PM (PDT)

8

This is available at MacMall.com for $39.99!!!

http://www.macmall.com/macmall/shop/detail~dpno~726374.asp

Posted by nyromaniac on January 20, 2006 at 12:35 PM (PDT)

9

i would easily call this the best fm transmitter i have ever used/seen.

i had been reading the reviews on this site obsessively hoping to fine "the one" as far as fm transmitters for ipod go, and despite the lack of user reviews on this new item, i decided to trust in griffin's quality and picked one up on ebay for <$50 USD, after shipping. no offense to the author(s) of the review for ilounge, it really matters what actual users think, and it's always good to have that second/third/twentieth opinion on a device.

my first mistake was in purchasing the maxell charger of similar design from fry's a week before reading the reviews. i _thought_ i could trust maxell, but after actually hooking it up i realized i didn't know what i was talking about when it came to maxell's quality...that thing cannot go to 87.9, and it seemed to have the volume fixed way up. i had to turn sound check on and set the EQ to bass reducer. all of the sound was pushed out too hard and ended up distoring, certain frequencies in a song would get staticy, for example: louder rock songs. i only kept using it because i was waiting for my griffin itrip to come in the mail.

but enough about the maxell fm trans, i just came back from using the griffin itrip in my car, testing it out...PERFECT! now, you have to remember, this is an fm transmitter, it will not sound as good as a direct line in to the stereo, which i had on my last car. there will be background static when there is nothing playing, but that's it. the griffin itrip did NOT push out the volume like the maxell. i could return to Rock EQ and turn off sound check. great bass quality, great overall sound quality, and it can tune to 87.9! i love it. i played with the LX/DX features, and i could not notice the difference except for the fact that DX is mono, so all sound comes out of each speaker equally, no stereo effects.

as for details on what i drive, it's an 05 elantra, standard factory stereo, fixed antenna in the back. i am taking the maxell back to fry's now that i don't have to use it anymore. =)

a little extra info on these dock connected transmitters, you cannot change the volume from your ipod. if you have one that seems to be distorting the sound, try turning on sound check and changing the EQ.

Posted by sk8dork on January 28, 2006 at 12:09 PM (PDT)

10

oh, and i live in austin, tx. the only other free station besides 87.9 i have found is 91.1

Posted by sk8dork on January 28, 2006 at 12:10 PM (PDT)

11

I am currently on day 2 of using my iTrip auto and so far I'm fairly pleased. Yesterday it rained and I had many of the same observations as other users. This morning was much better as it was clear outside. My only complaint is that I have Sound Check 'on', and the volume on my stereo is at its max, but the volume changes with each song. Some are louder than others. Can anyone recommend the ideal EQ setting?

Posted by DevonS31 in Westfield, NJ on February 1, 2006 at 7:05 AM (PDT)

12

I am so happy I bought this. I have had some troubles when driving underneath large power lines, but other than that this product lives up to the hype. I live in Minneapolis and I have no trouble muscling in using the DX settings. LX is weak but very good on the clear stations. Buy this thing. It worked great with my iskin evo2. I'm rockin' all black now!

Posted by duckingshire on February 14, 2006 at 1:03 PM (PDT)

13

sorry, evo3. also, I wanted to say that the velcro is a great idea. That is what I'm doing. I miss my shuffle and being able to hand the lanyard from the rearview. You can pick up a roll of velcro tape cheap at most office supply stores.

Posted by duckingshire on February 14, 2006 at 1:05 PM (PDT)

14

My power outlet in my car always has power even when the key is removed. Does the iTrip Auto have auto shut off feature?

Posted by ecarrot on February 24, 2006 at 7:54 AM (PDT)

15

I just got this and it works great in my 05 Altima. I plug the unit into a 12v plug inside my center console armrest and leave my 5G in the armrest upper tray. Since i travel 50 miles to work each way, i find myself not being able to stick with one station the whole trip. Having the tuning box in the middle of the cable is a great benifit in my case, i dont have to be blindly reaching in to change stations. This unit did not sound so good in my friend's Ford Taurus, we had to play around with it and hang the cable over the rearview to get decent sound. Overall, pretty good product, especially since i found it on the web for $42.00 Shipped.

Posted by miami305 on March 2, 2006 at 7:46 PM (PDT)

16

I am from Toronto, Canada. Got this about a month now. I drive a Canadian 2003 Acura EL. My Radio Antenna is at the back windows. This product didn't do as well as I hope it to be. I can hear statics and the sound is poor, sometimes it faded in and out! This product pretty useless to me! Yesterday, I ordered the Kensington Digital FM Transmitter... hope it will perform better then this one!

Posted by clementl on March 4, 2006 at 11:05 AM (PDT)

17

Has anyone compared the Griffin iTrip AUTO to the Kensington Digital? While the Kinsington got a slightly higher rating, the lack of a BLACK model and the hoops you ahve to jump through to get 87.9 have me leaning towards the Griffin.

Posted by Wolvereen on March 20, 2006 at 3:14 PM (PDT)

18

Also, is the iTrip Auto backlit? How difficult is it to see at night?

Posted by Wolvereen on March 20, 2006 at 3:14 PM (PDT)

19

I recived this product two weeks ago and I am very displeased with the Volume ability of this product. I have my radio cranked and it is not very loud at all. I feel that if the windows are down that you will not even be able to hear the music.

Posted by holeybody on February 13, 2007 at 8:48 PM (PDT)

Recent News

Recent Reviews

Recent Articles

Shop for Accessories: Cases, speakers, chargers, etc.